Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for HSK 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for HSK 1 by Peking University

4.9
stars
1,967 ratings
613 reviews

About the Course

Nǐ hǎo! 你好!Welcome to Chinese for HSK Level 1 - a Chinese course for beginners. My name is YU Bin. I am very happy to meet you here! HSK stands for Hànyǔ (Chinese) Shuǐpíng (level) Kǎoshì (test), which is the most important Chinese proficiency test in use today. It assesses non-native Chinese speakers’ abilities in using Chinese in their daily, academic and professional lives. Chinese for HSK Level 1 is the first part of the 6 levels and assesses test takers’ abilities in the application of everyday Chinese. It is the counterpart of Level 1 of the Chinese Language Proficiency Scales for Speakers of Other Languages and the A1 Level of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. You will learn:  30 video lectures with dialogue role plays by PKU students;  More than 150 commonly used words;  Around 50 key grammar points;  New words and texts via audio;  Quizzes for each lesson and HSK test papers;  Videos for 70 basic Chinese characters (optional);  Supplementary materials about China (optional). In short, the course covers the four skills although only listening and reading are tested in HSK. At the end of the course, you will be able to understand and use simple Chinese phrases, meet basic needs for communication and possess the ability to further your Chinese language studies. Have a fantastic journey of Chinese learning. For more information about HSK please visit: http://english.hanban.org/node_7581.htm....

Top reviews

AG
Jan 4, 2019

finally an online course that delivers, great way to kickstart or reboot your chinese. the formula of the lesson is simple and easy to follow, a fantastic way to start, definitely moving on to HSK2

TR
May 22, 2019

Excellent course, Yu Bin explains the material very well and the content is well organised. I would have liked further explanations on the grammar and additional practice exercises beyond the quiz

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 611 Reviews for Chinese for HSK 1

By Jonathan D

Sep 1, 2019

This course does everything it sets out to do, in a very structure and professional manner. I feel quite ready to sit the HSK 1 exam. I already had a bit of beginning Chinese under my belt, and I think my understanding of Mandarin phonology was an advantage.

By Akhmetova M

Nov 12, 2020

Курс очень понравился, все легко и доступно объясняется.

I like this course very much! There are lots of useful information that you can easily learn. The lessons explained by the teacher in very simple form so you can understand it easily! Great lessons!

By Thin T M

Oct 26, 2020

It's a wonderful course. The design of presentation and teacher's explanation make us easy ,comfortable and interested. After this course , I feel happy and wanna keep on learning Chinese . This course will make your leisure time effective and precious.

By Jan J B C

Aug 31, 2020

The course is a bit challenging if one does not have an initial background on Chinese. However, how it is structured is very helpful especially for those who would like to pursue HSK certification or would just like to learn practical/everyday Chinese.

By James B

Jan 14, 2019

Overall, this course is fantastic! The final test is a bit cumbersome because of the layout, and some of the recordings are excessively loud compared to the others, requiring one to adjust the sound, but the content and delivery are very professional.

By Beyers S

Aug 13, 2018

The impossible happened – a massive transformation in my "Western" (Germanic) mindset in learning the basics of Chinese in HSK1. Many thanks to Peking University (YU Bin & team) and Coursera for their excellent platform! Now for the next course!

By Monica G

Aug 12, 2018

Very well structured: new words and grammar points are read and explained by the teacher, who reads also all the dialogues. The teacher is very motivating and nice, she explains the items clearly and the exercises she suggests are very useful.

By POORVI T

Feb 17, 2019

I think it is one of the best resources available online to start off with your Chinese language learning. It allows you to learn the language in a very structured manner, which is much needed in the beginning stages of learning any new skill.

By Glorisel A G C

Aug 24, 2020

It's been such an amazing and gratificating experience to learn the Chinese language through this course, I do recommend it, It really worth to try it, you'll enjoy the growth and new knowledge acquisition and will want to keep learning more.

By Alba d J K A

Jun 16, 2019

I am refreshing my Chinese and this is a great course that I wish was available a few years ago when I was starting, HSK1 and beyond I would say, it has important grammar points and many exercises very helpful to anyone new to this language.

By Craig R

Mar 2, 2020

I loved this course! The video practices and quizzes were very helpful and the explanations were easy to understand and enjoyable. After studying Chinese for a year, I found this course to be the most helpful boost in my language learning.

By Febri W T

May 11, 2021

Thank you very much, studying the course at Courcera really helped me improve my skills in learning Chinese. and thanks also to the university for accepting me. I hope that in the future I will be even more active in learning Chinese.

By Arthur

Dec 2, 2017

This is a good course.I'm a Chinese postgraduate student in Xi'an .Everyone who want to learn Chinese face to face by Internet connect me.I will try my best to help you.I can speak a little English.My email is arthurlijunyi@gmail.com.

By Joseph C

Aug 7, 2017

This is a great course with clear examples and explanations, the teacher works at just the right pace to let a beginner build their confidence and knowledge base; furthermore, all of the content is essential to daily life in China.

By Héctor P T

Dec 27, 2019

I've studied Mandarin for a couple years and still found many new and clearer concepts in this course. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who hasn't taken a more traditional approach following a University kind of course.

By Britney C

Dec 7, 2019

Me ha encantado este curso porque he aprendido mucho en poco tiempo, es muy flexible y se adapta a mi horario. Además que ofrece ayuda económica, es muy bueno para las personas que como en mi caso no podemos costearnos un curso.

By Sean F

Jun 22, 2020

Fast-paced and filled with useful information. HSK1 requires you to know 150 words. This course will teach you 250 words and related grammar structures to make sure you pass with flying colours! Im very happy with my purchase!

By Nicolás M

Jan 30, 2017

Helps you a lot to understand the HSK structure and gives you the necessary words to pass it by far, five stars because it achieves the goal to prepare you for de HSK with many pluses inside the course, totally worth it.

By Álvaro G R

Dec 30, 2020

Well structured course with a clear focus to learn the content required to pass HSK 1. High quality readings, videos and quizzes along with an excellent teacher make up the perfect combination to get prepared for HSK1.

By Parv S

May 19, 2018

I've known a little bit of chinese before but this course elevated on what I've known before. Really helpful, and by the end you will know more than just basic communication, considering if you do this very seriously.

By Michael E J

Feb 22, 2020

This course makes learning Chinese a bit easier. Although there are only several videos to watch, the videos are very similar to being in a classroom environment. I highly recommend this course for future learners.

By Dale L

Nov 9, 2017

Fantastic! Not an easy course if learner does not have some basic Mandarin background but very good. Ms. Yu Bin is very professional and easy to follow. Class is organized and flows well. Thank you for having me!

By Anna B

Dec 12, 2016

Very exciting! I really enjoy lectures. Thank you for this opportunity to watch and attend lectures of one of the best university in the world! The lessons are short, creative and they give only useful information!

By Gianluca P

Aug 27, 2017

Excellent course!

Very intuitive and helpful to pass HSK1.

Lessons are very clear and are not only limited to words in HSK1, but teach you some other words and how to use basic chinese words in all days situation.

By Chris A

Apr 9, 2021

A very decent and understandable preparation course for HSK 1 testing. Would recommend this course to others if they are interested in learning Mandarin Chinese, or if they want to upskill further.

Thank you! :)