Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Principles and Processes

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Principles and Processes by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
1,498 ratings

About the Course

This UX course provides an introduction to the fields of UX research and design. Learners will gain an understanding of what is involved in UX research, including conducting interviews, evaluating systems, and analyzing systems using principles of good design. Learners will also learn about the work involved in UX Design, including the generation of promising design solutions and the creation of prototypes at multiple levels of fidelity. By interleaving successive phases of UX Research and Design, learners will see how to learn from inevitable mistakes and improve towards a product with a great UX. What you'll learn: - The skills needed for UX research and design
 - How UX researchers discover and assess user needs and assess possible designs
 - How to conduct a micro-usability test
 - How UX designers use sketching and prototyping to develop design concepts - How to incorporate a user-centered focus into the design process
 - Key features of human behavior and describe their impact on the design of interactive systems
 - Techniques for critiquing and designing interactive systems based on human capabilities and behavior
...

Top reviews

GB

Invalid date

Takes overly long to get assignments graded. Had to pay an additional pay period while waiting for peer-evaluations. But the content is good as an introductory course on UX.

AK

Invalid date

Very well structured course. I've learned a lot of new things; the first assignment was a tough one though, however, reading the Discussion board kinda helps, always.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 356 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Principles and Processes

By cindy s

May 6, 2023

good

By ABDULQOYUM

Nov 7, 2022

GOOD

By faeze a

Jul 18, 2020

nice

By Biswajeet S

Jun 9, 2020

Good

By yutougou

Sep 30, 2019

Th

By Tanuj A

Sep 12, 2020

The course was amazing. Brilliant insights and challenging assignments. I really needed to put a lot of thought in solving them. I have just one concern. Although the peer graded system is best for this kind of a course, the problem comes when your assignment does not get graded for a long time. Many of us actually had to post our links requesting people to review our assignment. I hope there is a better way to handle that. :)

By Kagan P

Feb 25, 2022

A solid introduction to User Experience Principles and Processes. However, I would have liked to understand more about the careers of UX Designers and Researchers earlier in the program in the program content, rather than at the end in bonus material. I would have found it valuable to contextualize the information with an understanding of the career.

By Pooja S A

May 24, 2019

Course content is excellent! I'm glad that I did it. However, if a person finishes the course before the deadline, he/she feels stuck if someone else has not finished their assignment before time, as he/she needs to review 3/3 assignments to complete the course. Certification completion seems to be review dependent, in this scenario.

By Sunny C

Jan 4, 2020

The exercises are interesting and the course materials are easy to follow. However, I wish there's a way to get direct feedback from the professor and not just the peers. Also, not everyone reviewed the last assignment and I had to wait another two weeks before my final score came out.

By Sangeeta J

Apr 17, 2020

This course taught me the various methods and processes about User Experience and User Research., how to conduct Heuristic Evaluation and how to write a professional Heuristic Report. The trainer was very professional and I liked the grading methods, peer reviews. Thank you.

By Benjamin R

Jan 24, 2019

This is a great course for both developers and non-developers to start to understand the ideas behind what makes for a good user experience.

You'll discover the guiding principles to UX (as the course name suggests) and how to implement them in the real world.

By Samantha M

Mar 8, 2022

Wish I had a bit more interaction with students and professor. However, learning from others via the peer-editing provided ideas, interest, and assessment. I look forward to moving forward towards a career path most anthropoligst havent pursued. Thank you.

By Gianella C

May 19, 2020

Information is great, understandable and complete!

It would be better if the examples or assignment requirements were already embedded inside the course instead of taking extra time to go find visual examples to work on for each assignment.

By Sepideh L

May 26, 2021

The instructor was excellent, taking part in this class was enjoyable and I loved it. It would be better If the assignments could be fragmented to multi parts during more weeks.

Thanks for providing this lesson.

By Saeideh G P

Dec 29, 2022

Amazing course!

I really liked the last projects for practicing heuristic evaluation principals, I believe I can use what I've learnt in my job.

Some assignments are so though and time-consuming!

By Sukanya S

Jun 24, 2021

It gave a well explained introduction to user introduction with the videos and extra material explaining everything, the assignments were fun to do as they presented a small challenge as well!

By Robert S A

Nov 10, 2020

Great course to the vision of this interesting user experience topic would dare to give feedback to include in the improvements to the course to include or mention UX computer tools.

By Garrett B

Sep 1, 2020

Takes overly long to get assignments graded. Had to pay an additional pay period while waiting for peer-evaluations. But the content is good as an introductory course on UX.

By Maggie T

Oct 25, 2022

Very informative course but since then I have learned more about the design process and I wish this class would address that more direclty.

By M. A

Jan 10, 2024

I enjoyed the course, except... I only received feedback from fellow learners. I would like to hear back from an experienced UX designer.

By Prosenjit B

Jul 25, 2020

This was an awesome introduction to UX research methods and the elements that make up UI design-very well structured and easy to grasp

By Stephanie S

Jan 3, 2021

A decent overview of UX design and research principles and methods. Looking forward to taking subsequent courses in this series.

By imelia d

Aug 29, 2022

This course is good and allow us to evaluate our self about the topic each week. Just a little bit evaluation about discussion.

By Oyemade O

Apr 13, 2022

This course was really an insightful and explicite one. thanks to Mark Newman. Thanks to the University of Michigan

By Emily S

Jan 16, 2021

it taught the basics and got me thinking on how to evaluate my experiences on websites based on Jakob's Heuristics.