Chevron Left
Back to Principles of Computing (Part 2)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Principles of Computing (Part 2) by Rice University

4.8
265 ratings
41 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course introduces the basic mathematical and programming principles that underlie much of Computer Science. Understanding these principles is crucial to the process of creating efficient and well-structured solutions for computational problems. To get hands-on experience working with these concepts, we will use the Python programming language. The main focus of the class will be weekly mini-projects that build upon the mathematical and programming principles that are taught in the class. To keep the class fun and engaging, many of the projects will involve working with strategy-based games. In part 2 of this course, the programming portion of the class will focus on concepts such as recursion, assertions, and invariants. The mathematical portion of the class will focus on searching, sorting, and recursive data structures. Upon completing this course, you will have a solid foundation in the principles of computation and programming. This will prepare you for the next course in the specialization, which will begin to introduce a structured approach to developing and analyzing algorithms. Developing such algorithmic thinking skills will be critical to writing large scale software and solving real world computational problems....

Top reviews

IB

Jun 12, 2017

Phew, this course was much harder than the preceding courses. Some assignments took many hours of work over several days. But it's doable, and well worth it.

RH

Feb 25, 2019

Great course, I hope for more of this kind of courses. Invaluable skills gained from this course. High praise to all the professors. Thank You Very Much.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 40 Reviews for Principles of Computing (Part 2)

By Alex M

Jan 13, 2017

If I wanted to learn programming from scratch, I'd take this specialization. They are great teachers and the recursion section was extremely helpful.

By Omais R K

May 13, 2019

Mini-projects hard and makes you wanna think all aspects which is a good programming practice. However, I believe theoretical depth is missing.

By Roberto M P F M

Mar 29, 2019

Great course! Each course is getting more challenging, and the way it is taught is simply great. It is easy to follow and still makes you think a lot. It is really rewarding finishing the mini-projects.

By Max B

Mar 04, 2019

Great continuation of part 1, with a bit more "true" computer science techniques taught. Challenging (but fun) projects each week. Make sure you put some effort into the practice activities each week. These will help you understand the weekly material better and prepare you for both the homework and projects. two thumbs up!

By Rudy H

Feb 25, 2019

Great course, I hope for more of this kind of courses. Invaluable skills gained from this course. High praise to all the professors. Thank You Very Much.

By Dinghan X

Feb 08, 2019

the last week is really challenging but l like it

By Kelly G

Dec 22, 2018

Overall a great course, with a few glitches: 1. The tests for the homework are not working properly. 2. The amount of homework is a bit overwhelming for an introductory course.

By Wang R

Oct 03, 2018

17/5000

This course is of high quality but not friendly to Chinese students.

By Amit m

Jul 02, 2018

Great course.

By Sangil Y

Jun 10, 2018

projects are tough at least for me it was but once you finish all the project, that rewarding feeling is just awesome

By Jayadev H

Jun 05, 2018

wonderfully fun assignments!:)

Last one is killer... hardest one I faced on Coursera!:)

By Yoon-guu

May 09, 2018

little bit hard to solve the assignment.

Even though it took much more time to solve the assignments and practice activity, this class was awesome.

By Julian O

Mar 08, 2018

Another entertaining and great course in the series with really well-designed and engaging projects.

I am getting sad I'm running out of courses to take from Rixner, Warren, et al. They are superb.

CodeSkuptor and OwlTest are really easy to use and handy tools (although I've had some issues with OwlTest not working all of the time).

By Jeremy L

Feb 23, 2018

I came to PoC Part 2 via Rice's IIPP courses and PoC Part 1. The PoC series is a step up in difficulty from IIPP. The homework assignments usually took me several hours to complete and the mini-projects all took around 10 hours (maybe more) to complete. If you have lots of programming experience, I expect the mini-project would take you less time, at least once you've conceptualized how to solve the problem/project. And it is this thinking - rather than programming - that is the main thing the instructors want students to take away from this course. In other words, this is not an intermediate Python course. But it is a great class. You'll get an introduction to searches, data structures, recursion, trees, and how to test your software. And like IIPP, the mini-projects are based a fun games.

By Tom S

Jan 16, 2018

Very enlightening. Excellent assistance from staff.

By Aynur Z

Dec 28, 2017

Excellent course. I tried several similar courses on Edx and Coursera platforms and found this as the most efficient. The lectures are clearly stated and always accompanied by reading material, which makes it easy to repeat the material.

Practical tasks are very interesting and help to develop practical skills.

It is a wonderful opportunity to learn Python and fundamentals of computing. I highly recommend this course to everyone interested in this subject.

By Ken M

Dec 13, 2017

great course - really gets you thinking about coding efficiently

By Siwei L

Dec 09, 2017

very helpful course, the projects are challenging but interesting to work on!

By Andrew F

Dec 08, 2017

Another fantastic course from the team at Rice University. The coursework is interesting and challenging, and I really feel I have learned a lot.

By Ganapathi N K

Nov 11, 2017

Mind blowing

By Jaehwi C

Nov 04, 2017

The best course to study computer science for beginner!

By Adel F

Oct 17, 2017

Learned lots! One year down the line I was asked at a job interview about my past experience in python and gave this!

By Albert C G

Oct 17, 2017

Great Course - learned a lot - Great Projects

By Michael B R

Oct 14, 2017

Great course, but the final project in W4 is very long compared the rest of the projects in this series of courses. Content is still top notch though.

By Daniel C K

Sep 16, 2017

A rigorous, but short, computer science course. The projects for this class took widely differing amounts of time to complete. Some, I could do in a few hours. The more difficult ones, like the final project, took me days of thinking and coding to do. I highly recommend it, though. By the end, you'll be a much better programmer.