Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
19,919 ratings
4,264 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

JM
Aug 11, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

WH
Feb 2, 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.\n\nThese skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.\n\nMaterial is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 4,153 Reviews for R Programming

By Felix B

Feb 6, 2016

Excellent Program. Lots of applications. Caution: "What you put is what you get"

You put lots of effort, then you learn a lot. Don't expect yourself to be fed with all the information, you also have to do your additional research.

This is course is not for the "bottlefed" students.

By Ilian A

Mar 12, 2016

This is simply a great course.

Well pased and full of information.

The instructor is easy to understand and makes a good job introducing the language.

Prepare yourself though - it is quite a lot of material. Allow yourself to "fail" at some point as you can take the course again.

By Sundara R V S

Feb 14, 2016

Very Interesting. I am a Management student. I want to know the Basics of R programming, This helped me in the better way. This is not for an Advance level, Simply basics and easy to learn. I would say , Before start advance R programming everyone should enroll this course.

By Pierre M

Jan 21, 2016

Super satisfied with this course! Lecture videos are top quality, the PDF is available which makes studying and going back to the material more easy. The swirl programming lectures are very well done. I learnt more than I expected, quicker than I thought I would! Thumbs up!

By Yuan L

Jul 24, 2020

The materials are very comprehensive which provide a good start point to dive into a more detailed level. The lecture videos are a bit abstract. Some walkthroughs with real-world projects would make this course more interesting and engaging. Overall, I highly recommend it.

By Manikanda P M

Dec 1, 2020

Excellent course for beginners to learn R basics(As I already know some R programming it was easy and gave many informations inaddition to it) and can find more insights in the fields of statistics and usage of R programming for data analysis and much more...Thank you all

By Eric A J C

Sep 24, 2020

Although video lectures may be short and not too profound, the Swift practices are very helpful. Also, assignments are challenging which is great for actually learning and developing your own code. I feel comfortable exploring data frames and manipulating them with R now.

By Zimu G

Sep 25, 2016

The material is excellent for some one who want to study coding in R. However, the course could be very difficult if you have no experience in programming in other language. I suggest that the team should clarify that programming experience are needed to take this course.

By Tim S

Mar 23, 2016

For someone with no programming background and limited experience working with data, this was a challenging, sometimes (supremely) frustrating, course. But perseverance through the struggle can end in tremendous gratification. Happily, this is how it was - very rewarding.

By Andrés M

Jun 26, 2020

I highly recommend this course. However, I've got to admit that I struggled with some assignments because the level is above the average. The lectures are clear and well explained, but It would be nice to have more examples in each lecture. Overall it is a great course!

By Su M M

Dec 4, 2018

The assignments are harder than what's taught in the course. Perhaps the gap can be decreased which would make for a less frustrating experience. But all in all, it is very rewarding and a basic step towards learning more about R. Thanks so much to Professor Roger Peng!

By Zbigniew B

Oct 28, 2017

The lectures give a good foundation while the programming assignments challenge your problem solving. It is necessary to do extra research to finish the programming assignments correctly but in the end the assignments are the most rewarding and best driver for learning.

By Vanessa M M

Nov 30, 2019

The course has really made me push myself to get better at learn how to code in R but also understand the theory behind R and how the code works. It has been quite intense but I know that I needed this in order to boost my confidence and learn what I needed to about R.

By Dale O J

Apr 29, 2018

The read.csv needs better explanation and an example. Although Dr. Peng's book provided a great deal of clarity that did not appear in the lectures and related material. nevertheless, with a great deal of effort I have acquired a greater conceptual understanding of R.

By Rahul G

Jul 3, 2017

This was a really comprehensive R Programming Course but i would definitely recommend the pace of the course to be slow for the beginners as they are takers from non programming background. Also there should be more practice even though less content is covered.

Thanks

By Sam M

Apr 26, 2018

Excellent course. Learned basics of R programming. Enough to carry forward on my own to do more advanced level of R programming! Very informative tutorials. Quizzes and Assignments are tricky and make you learn a lot. The hints provided by the mentors were valuable!

By Manikanta L

Dec 4, 2017

The course has detailed information about R programming. Not only theory but the examples that are shown after every slide followed by assignments provides very good hands on experience. Really loved it. Thank you coursera and its associates for wonderful guidance.

By Anastasia T

Feb 1, 2017

Clear video lectures, all presentation files are provided and kept up to date. Swirl is particularly useful. What is missing to my taste is more reading recommendation, not only the books from the instructors. Otherwise, I think it is a good course to start with R.

By Bogdan P

Apr 6, 2016

I guess this course is part of one of the best Data Science specializations. The lecturers are very knowledgable and they explain extremely good. If you want to learn R in combination with the data science, this specialization is certainly very recommended for you.

By Benjamin K

May 2, 2016

This course is an excellent introduction to the R programming language. I enjoyed taking the course and look forward to applying what I have learned. The lectures are very well done and the assignments, especially those in swirl are excellent for applied learning.

By Eric P

Aug 26, 2019

The design of this class is the "Hacker Way" as in you will be spending a lot of your time looking up solutions to the problems rather than being given the answers for each assignment. So basically you'll be forced to learn more on your own than any other way :P

By Marco A I E

Jun 29, 2017

It is fast paced, and exercises have always several "possible solutions" but is a quite good introduction to R which even for people with good programing notions require a bit of a mindset change.

Be prepare, R has a lot of potencial and "Libraries" to play with!

By Jim B

Dec 22, 2016

Good exercises. While the concepts are presented in lecture, without some discussion my grasp of the material is weak. swirl() helps immensely - the programming exercises are really key for learning the concepts. The discussion groups [TIPS] kept me in the game.

By Ahmad K O

Aug 27, 2019

It there are videos explaining the assignment in a more fundamental way, it will be better. Sometimes I feel that the assignment is too hard, without proper tutorial.

Regardless, it is an excellent course that properly explain the fundamental of R programming

By Giulio P

Dec 26, 2018

This course was excellent. I have programmed in other languages and never got such a headstart. The instructors provide an R package to help you through the topics that is just optional, but is actually the real asset to learn the practice of R programming.