Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,263 ratings
4,589 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

EJ
Jul 11, 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

JM
Aug 11, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 4,493 Reviews for R Programming

By Heath W

Feb 28, 2016

Last assignment was pretty rough because there appears to be a lot of functions required that weren't covered in class but maybe it got lost in the amount of information thrown at you in the short time. Or perhaps researching how to use new functions is part of the point. Great class and learned a ton!!

By Quan T T J

Nov 12, 2016

This courses is a great course to start learning and mastering R. One drawbacks, there are so many open source that contain the solutions to the assignments and people who want a certificate can easily get it without understand everything. But if you think a while, what can they do with that certificate?

By Gabriel R

Feb 14, 2021

The explanations were great, the projects were fun and interesting, and I loved that the forums were full of suggestions and helpful people. In particular, I love that we had extra problems with hints and solutions (as in, we had immediate feedback on whether our extra problems were correct or not!)

By Ritu G

Jan 4, 2021

The course was very comprehensive. I learned a lot. But, being a beginner, I found it really hard to solve the quizes . It would have been more wonderful if -

1. some of the similar examples were discussed before taking quiz.

2. functions were explained on RStudio insted of having it on slides.

Thanks,

By Danilo F S

Dec 26, 2020

Thanks to Coursera for gave me this opportunity, sine I've learned lots of R code and data processing. I'm using R studio for 2 years, even if thanks this course I've had the opportunity to learn new R code, and enhance my knowloges in R studio packages. I'm highly reccomend to everyone this course!

By Shuwen Y

May 23, 2016

Very good intro to R programming. Like the assignment project and swirl package to help on hands-on R programming exercise. Even I didn't pay for the specialization, I love the way assignment is organized and gives expected output/results to your code, so I get to know if my code is correct or not.

By Natasha

Aug 21, 2017

Great course for someone who hasn't worked with R before. However, a previous programming knowledge in any language is helpful when you seal with the assignments. The course gives you a solid ground for basic R tasks but I wish there is one additional more advanced R course in the specialization.

By Javier N B

Apr 26, 2017

Great course. I've now a better understanding of R language as the practices and assignments challenged me to think beyond the code. Of course, a lot of good information exists in Google, but the basics given in the course were the basics to understand all that information that is surrounding.

By Jenny L

Mar 22, 2017

This was a pretty demanding course but in the end, it was so rewarding. I wish it was a little easier though. Also, it took me months to finish due to work and other engagements. I wish I could have stuck with it week over week. I believe that it would've taken less time if I had done that.

By Sri G A D R S M & C S

Jul 6, 2020

A very good course on R programming. I would say if you are new to R and programing this is going to be very difficult and you need to spend a lot a time support material. The assignments are not jus the lecture session and need additional effort and reading. But I loved and enjoyed the course

By Allyson D d L

Oct 5, 2021

This course was great but it could be better. Don't worry about the 57 hours of this course. It's because they think all Swirl activities would spend 3 hours to each one. There are 13. Most of them you can finish in 20 or 30 minutes and all of them are optional, but they are nice to practice.

By Debdutta R

Oct 1, 2016

I liked the course very much because Mr Peng has given me very good grounding of the basics of R. I wish to keep learning more about R because this course has certainly motivated me enough to pursue the next course on R. Thanks team for having me as a participant. All the best to Mr Peng :-)

By Aaditya D

Jun 23, 2020

The course is good!! The interactive swirl tutorials were helpful. Being a fresher in R programming the programming assignments in this course were considerably tough and I think you should provide some sort of hints or programming insights for the freshers to get help when they are stuck.

By Syed M Z H K

Jul 29, 2017

It was an amazing course as it helped me in improving my concepts, especially through swirl exercises. they were just amazing. Thanks a lot Coursera for granting me this scholarship (fee waiver), as because of you guys I am able to learn such awesome skills which I cant afford to pay for.

By Marc T

Dec 17, 2018

Although I did not take the course as part of a certificate program, I was able to learn a lot about R and to apply it to a project for my work. I see R as both a useful tool to automate routine data analysis as well as a terrific "what if" environment for doing on-the-fly data analysis.

By Anshu U

Dec 7, 2020

Very challenging - you learn plenty from the lectures, but you may also need to do a whole lot of googling to solve the programming assignments. (This may be intentional? Learning how to use google, stackoverflow, etc. to search for help does seem to be a key component of programming...)

By David S

Jul 5, 2019

I'd like to see more interactive in course videos, such as showing debug, functions demo in R studio. That will give better understandings. And for explaining functions such as Apply, tapply, better to use a small set of data, 3x3, 9x9 matrix would be easier to understand the concept.

By Bruno R S

Jan 7, 2019

This course is quite difficult for someone starting on programming, however, the instructors provided a great deal of resources to help the students. So it is worth the challenge. Even the experienced in other programming languages may benefit. It is a true "From novice to professional".

By Margaret

Oct 22, 2016

I learned so much in this course (especially considering the amount of time I put into it). I was really impressed with the quality and content of the course (SWIRL exercises, videos, and the week 4 programming assignment all went a long way toward growing my skills as a data scientist).

By Victor G F

Jun 29, 2018

Wonderful experience! This is the first time that I enrolled in an online course. I'm very surprise with the quality of videos and the structure of the course. Congratulations to all members of the Johns Hopkins's team, I hope to complete the full program of Data Science specialization.

By Achuthan R V

May 14, 2020

Fantastic course! I thoroughly enjoyed the assignments (which were of reasonable difficulty), but my most favourite takeaways were the fundamentals - variable scoping, subsetting and data types. I would have liked some modules on ggplot as well alongside the base graphics introduction.

By Jinyuan L

Sep 3, 2019

R Programming is a really fascinating course where you can see award-winning lecturers from Johns Hopkins university teaching useful analytical tools and sophisticated models. I cannot imagine how much I've learned after the enrollment. Great School! Great Class! Recommend to everyone!

By Diogenes C

Jan 6, 2020

Very good and structured introduction to R. The use of the swirl package is great for learnint. The assignments are more difficult than expected, but still in a tolerable level. You stomp into many things you didn't learn, but can easily look up for in Stack Overflow or another forum.

By Seda R

May 31, 2020

A challenging but fulfilling course. The course materials are helpful, well structured, clear, and concise. Still, they do not cover the entire scope of the excercises/assessment - Google is your friend. Found having an introductory background to R before taking this course helpful.

By Roopa M

Apr 10, 2020

R programming is thought really well, also they have some of the best programming assignments when it comes to ensuring that the students really understand the data. Best topics include debugging code, best practices and also profiling code to understand how optimized ones code is.