Chevron Left
Back to Renewable Energy Technology Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Renewable Energy Technology Fundamentals by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
271 ratings

About the Course

Renewable energy is one of the fastest growing industries on the planet, with billions of dollars invested each year to meet international energy sustainability goals. This course will provide you with a solid foundation for understanding and deploying important renewable energy technologies such as wind and solar. In addition, you will come away with a good understanding of important energy storage technologies such as pumped hydro, batteries, and hydrogen. Upon completing the course, you will be conversant with the opportunities and challenges of renewable energy technologies. You will be comfortable participating in debates and making decisions regarding these technologies. And the knowledge you gain will be foundational for further study of renewable power systems, renewable energy projects, and forecasts for the future of renewable energy. We hope you will join us on our journey! This course is the first in a four-course Coursera specialization in Renewable Energy. • Renewable Energy Technology Fundamentals • Renewable Power & Electricity Systems • Renewable Energy Projects • Renewable Energy Futures Course logo image credit: "Wind Turbine" icon courtesy of Vectors Point from the Noun Project....

Top reviews

HS

Nov 7, 2021

This course have genuinely changed my perspectives about renewable technologies and its importance . what i have learnt will definitely help to work practically .I am thankful for this opportunity .

PA

Mar 10, 2023

Excelente curso, te permite profundizar en buen detalle sobre conceptos de generación y almacenamiento electrico. Gran curso para ingenieros de otras disciplinas que quieran aprender.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 79 Reviews for Renewable Energy Technology Fundamentals

By Ted Z

Dec 25, 2021

The contents of the course are good; provides a high level overview of the current trends and technologies.

My main gripe is with how the information is presented, namely slide format and the lecturer. The slides format look dated and seems to try to fit as much information onto each page as possible, rather than optimizing for ease of understanding or digestability. The lecturer delivers the presentation in a similar manner; he reads out the information as quickly as possible, fumbling over his words at least once in each video almost as if he needs to squeeze in as many words as possible under some time limit. Transitioning between slides of different topics or within the same slide will have little to no pauses for you to digest the information, so you'll need to actively pause, rewind, etc in order to soak in the material. Again, it's as if he's trying to dump as much information at once rather than aiming for presenting information in an interesting, understandable way.

I watched some supplemental youtube videos on the technologies presented in this course and have found those to be much more interesting, informative, and fun to watch. Makes me want to binge watch as opposed to this course, where I dread clicking the next video button.

Lastly, some of the quiz questions are wrong (majority are ok). Some of them say select TWO items, but only allows selection of one choice. Another one asks "Component X is arguably the most important component of technology Y", when what is the most important depends on who you ask? Sure the lecture may have his bias but it should be treated as such and not be tested as if it were fact.

By Irfan B

Mar 21, 2022

Excellent course covering the basics of renewable technology. Recommended for any engineer or scientist looking to work in the renewable industry. I especially enjoyed the wind and solar sections (weeks 2 & 3). Also serves as an excellent scientific knowledge re-fresher for those who haven't been in an academic environment for a while.

By Aida S

Aug 2, 2022

I did not get any feedback in the opinions given in certain parts of the courses.

Som,o of the links did not work, i reported them but did not get response

By Shreyan S J

Mar 12, 2022

Its really informative and well structured course. The course instructor explains each and every module of course in detail.

By Jo'De C

Jun 3, 2022

Great breadth and depth of knowledge covered. The modules were all informative and eye-opening. The extra readings and resources were extra helpful too! I was able to dive into my passion and learn exaclty what I needed. I would recommend to someone who is just entering this space as well as to someone who has experience and needs a refresher.

By SalvadiDivya S S

Mar 18, 2022

As the name suggests the course gives a brief understanding of various technologies and the requirement of energy storage technologies to compete with fossil fuels. It motivated me to learn more about the energy utilisation and understand the different obstacles that are being faced in the industry.

By pyramidal G

Sep 25, 2022

Wow! What a great exposure from the comfort of my home, learning and studying qualitatively online. I really had a great time and would want to continue getting enlightments on topics that can help me build the future I so much dream of. thansk so much Coursera. best regards, Genesis.

By Ranbir S R

Mar 14, 2022

The course is very meticulously designed with rich materials and with provision of deep diving if more interested to learn, explore and clear concepts. Horizontal reach is also very well interlinked with depth. Thanks to Team for designing such course.

By Ahmed E

Mar 19, 2023

It's an PERFECT course if you're enthusiastic to know about renewable energy technologies and its future.

Full of content

Supplementary videos, articles

questions that measure your knowledge from videos

By Huzaifa S

Nov 8, 2021

This course have genuinely changed my perspectives about renewable technologies and its importance . what i have learnt will definitely help to work practically .I am thankful for this opportunity .

By Shamistan A

Sep 22, 2021

An excellent course, gives excellent initial and even slightly advanced knowledge in the Renewable Energy sector. Errors in assignments were very rare, but overall everything was perfect.

By Pedro A

Mar 11, 2023

Excelente curso, te permite profundizar en buen detalle sobre conceptos de generación y almacenamiento electrico. Gran curso para ingenieros de otras disciplinas que quieran aprender.

By MUKESH R P

Aug 10, 2021

This course provides fundamentals of renewable energy technology . The supplement reading material is also provide excellent insights in latest development

By Yoseph M

Aug 28, 2022

This course provide foundation knowledge for renewable energy technology, simple to follow by video, specific reading and there are many examples

By Salman K

Dec 10, 2022

Course should be updated as per latest data in 2022.

Though it was an amazing learning experience, thanks for giving the opportunity to learn.

By Premkumar N

Oct 2, 2022

The course is very well-structured. It gives the right fundamentals to understand the current and future scope of the energy technologies.

By Léa P

Dec 8, 2022

I found this course very interesting and well built. It was sufficiently "basic" for me to understand most of it and I have learned a lot!

By Andrea A

Sep 3, 2021

I really enjoyed this course! The mixed content formats of reading and videos really enhanced my ability to keep connected.

By GAURANG D

Sep 15, 2021

The course was a really informative and helped me understand the new trends as well as existing ones in Renewable Energy.

By David J B

Feb 25, 2023

Comprehensive introduction to Renewable Energy Technology - including storage and transmission. Excellent.

By Bryce E

Jan 9, 2023

Was really good overall, they only thing I didn't like was some of the links didn't work for the readings

By Fahad I

May 25, 2022

amazing course with very specific and targeted knowledge of Renewable Energy technologies. Recommended.

By Walter G

Jul 1, 2022

excelente curso, se aprende mucho acerca de las nuevas tegnologias que seran vanguardia en el futuro.

By franco v

Dec 3, 2021

Excellent material! very good presentation and great overview of the main technologies

By Osama E

Jun 25, 2022

It is an amazing journey , I learned a lot and I have the basics to learn more