Chevron Left
Back to Build Dynamic User Interfaces (UI) for Websites

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build Dynamic User Interfaces (UI) for Websites by Google

4.8
stars
3,085 ratings

About the Course

Build Dynamic User Interfaces (UI) for Websites is the sixth course in a program that will equip you with the skills you need to apply to entry-level jobs in user experience (UX) design. In this course, you will plan a design for a website, create wireframes and prototypes, and test your designs to get feedback. Additionally, you will learn about engaging in design critique sessions and how to give and receive feedback. By the end of this course, you will have a new design project to include in your professional UX portfolio. In addition, you’ll learn how to search for entry-level UX design jobs, create a resume that highlights your skills and accomplishments, and build your professional portfolio website. Current UX designers and researchers at Google will serve as your instructors, and you will complete hands-on activities that simulate real-world UX design scenarios. Learners who complete the seven courses in this certificate program should be equipped to apply for entry-level jobs as UX designers. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Apply each step of the UX design thinking framework (empathize, define, ideate, prototype, test) to create a responsive website. - Plan information architecture and create sitemaps for website designs. - Apply common layouts for web pages. - Plan and conduct a usability study to gather feedback about designs. - Iterate on designs based on research insights. - Work with design systems. - Add a new design project to your professional UX portfolio. - [Optional] Create or update a UX-focused resume. - [Optional] Learn how to search for and apply to introductory-level jobs in the field of UX. This course is suitable for beginner-level UX designers who have completed the previous five courses of the Google UX Design Certificate. Alternatively, learners need to have a strong foundational understanding of the design process; experience creating wireframes, mockups, and prototypes; and the ability to conduct usability studies. No previous experience with Figma is required....

Top reviews

PS

May 10, 2023

Thank you for providing helpful tips on building a resume and preparing for real-life situations. The Dave course was a fantastic experience, and I am grateful for the valuable insights it provided

AW

Oct 7, 2022

While this course contains much redundant information when viewed alongside the other courses in this certificate, the standalone information and practical assignments are valuable and holistic.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 695 Reviews for Build Dynamic User Interfaces (UI) for Websites

By Alan E

Jun 11, 2021

We had already covered most of this in a previous course in the Google UX Design Cert.

By Winetta D

Jun 29, 2021

A bit repetitive as most of the topics were covered in the previous courses.

By Judy A

Nov 14, 2021

Hugely repetitive. I was hoping this course would focus more on the different functions of XD, rather than just a recap of the design process again. The workload is also not realistic for students who really wish to follow through with all the activities. Conducting a usability study AND improving wireframes in a week? That's a lot of work.

By Steven P

Dec 15, 2021

So much was repetitive of a prior course. Additionally, Adobe XD only provides a 7 day free trial with limited features. This requires you to finish a 6-week 47hr course in 7 days unless you want to pay. I also ran out of link shares of my work which was required for the course. It also requires a credit card and automatically charges you (which this course outlines as a negative UX experience).

By Branden O

Nov 2, 2022

I have never hated anything in my life the way that I have learned to hate Adobe XD and being forced to learn to use it. Every single session with this nightmare of a program has left me frustrated and hating my decision to go this far with the program. I became so burnt out and infuriated by the process and being forced to use it that at one point I took a full month break from doing anything related to this course because of how much frustration it was causing. Every single aspect of this program is seemingly capable of breaking at the drop of a hat, and every single process is unnecessarily complicated. You'd think adding separate visual states to a component would be as simple as grouping your items into a component, then hovering over or accessing the sidebar and clicking to add a state, then creating that alternate state? Nope! Gotta group it THEN make sure it knows it's the default state even though you already grouped it and that original creation should be the default, then you need to swap to design mode, then you need to click to add a NEW state, don't accidentally click the toggle state right out of the gate even though that's an option because that won't do anything, THEN make the new state into a toggle state, and THEN you create the alternate visuals for it, and then set up the connections. Or how about even TRYING to make a component? Half the time it misses a random object and decides it isn't going to be part of the component even though you selected it. Never take up a career in UX, never try to learn UX because you are probably going to have to use Adobe, and as someone who has been watching the quality of their products decline since they first swapped to their subscription only business model, there is no bottom to the pit of frustration they have created.

By Andy G

Dec 31, 2021

I found the title of this course misleading. We didn't actually design a responsive website, we only designed for various screen sizes. We didn't learn about how these screen sizes adjust in real-time, which is what makes them responsive. I'm sure Adobe XD has those tools, but we didn't touch on them.

By Scott P

Jul 8, 2022

I really liked the course material; I especially enjoyed learning to use Adobe XD. However, being rated by my peers took away from the overall experience. I made sure my project subissions met all the grading criteria, however, on a few projects, I was given a lower score, even though I knew my submission met the requirements. Unfortunately, there's no one to talk to when this happens.

By Tatiana Z

Jul 21, 2023

Grate presenter (5 stars), but the course itself is useless as I didn't get Adobe XD link to redeem. I contacted Customer support 5 times. Got the same response "We are working on it", one month passed. And now how can I finish this course and get a certificate? I was truing to purchase myself, but looks like the product discontinued or something like that. I can't finish the course and I can't get the certificate. And this is in the of my journey! Waste of time and money. And Coursera doesn't provide any solution, no partial refund.

By Mohammad H

Apr 8, 2021

It was a complete hands-on course, I'm really satisfied

By mrs v

Nov 14, 2021

The 9 month subscription to Adobe XD that comes with the course is great, definitely the best feature of this module. The instruction on how to work in XD was poor. The lessons on actual design work were rushed through and superficial. I had to take an outside course in Adobe XD in order to complete my assignments. Tom Green's course on LinkedIn offered much better instruction. The course was also redundant, but that seems to be baked into the UX framework.

By Ronnel P

Sep 1, 2021

A very EXTENSIVE course to say the least! However, I did learn a lot especially crafted responsive websites using Adobe XD - which in my opinion is a polished version of Figma. Overall, this course is a conglomeration of Courses 1 through 5 put together - a course in which the turnaround time is consolidated. But with Coursera's very forgiving curriculum, you can easily reset the deadline date, which is very favorable. It gives you the opportunity to put your whole creativity, thoughts, and heart and soul into a fantastic project. I would strongly recommend this course to other students who have finished Course 5!

By Vox W L

Nov 13, 2022

I am truly disappointed with this course. I expected to learn something new about Adobe XD, instead, it just recapped the design process again.

During the course, we didn't actually design a responsive website. It all boiled down to creating wireframes for mobile and desktop.

Well, I'm an experienced web designer. I've been working with responsive designs for many years, and the course is ok for me, but folks starting a new career would have to struggle to understand how it all works.

This course is very fast-paced. Things we were doing during previous courses were expected to be completed in days. Then again, it is ok to take such a pace when working on a commercial project, but it was very challenging to squeeze it between my current job and family.

By Kathy K

Jul 12, 2021

Great Course! Great Instructors! I like how Mr. Dave uses his hands to explain more and how Ms. Shabi speaks slowly to clearly explain everything. Thanks to all wonderful instructors!

By frnz W

Dec 9, 2021

A lot of repetition from the courses before. The process for a responsive website is very much the same as for other products. At least from what we've learned here. My last favourite course so far.

By Md M U

Jul 2, 2021

I learn e lot from this but i faced an issue in week 3. My peer assignment was pending for a long time . Submit button not working in peer assignment option.. Ovarall was good.

By Matt M

Aug 29, 2021

For those who have completed the previous 5 courses, this course is very much a refresher of the design process and everything involved from beginning to end. I found the refresher to be beneficial and helpful as a way to ensure that I understood each step in the design process. An introduction to Adobe XD and walkthrough on how to use the design tool is provided in this course, as well as a guide on creating an additional portfolio project to add to your resume. I found this course to be fairly time intensive, but valuable in that I have another completed portfolio project and a more cemented understanding of the design process! Lastly, and much like each of the preceding courses, the instructor was great!

By Ashish S

Apr 4, 2023

Awesome course, especially the instructor he's too cool with this really enjoyed this one a lot. Gain some new skills, learn a new design tool, understood the important of responsiveness.

By Shiven S

Sep 23, 2022

It was a really amazing experience. All the topics are really well described and the practical part is also the best thing you can experience while pursuing this course. Thank you.

By Keith R

Dec 28, 2021

Redundant.

By Natalia L S

Apr 26, 2023

I can't access to ADOBE XD from the link that google gives you. So won't learn how to use adobe XD

By Ayaz A

Jan 25, 2022

The course is very thoughtfully designed. I just have a number of issues with this platform including: 1. I have completed all 7 courses in the Google UX Design certification but under accomplishments, I can only find one certificate for the first course. 2. For the rest of the courses, a button says 'Buy Certificate' but when I tap on it, it opens the course without any sign of the certificate. 3. I can see a verify ID option but it only gives me Passport verification option for my country (Pakistan). I do not have an active passport at the moment. Majority of the people in Pakistan do not have a passport. I should be able to upload picture of my driving license of the National Identity Card issued by the government. 4. The messages tab shows 2 unread messages but when I tap on it, there are no new messages. It has been very confusing and frustrating at times completing this course on this platform the past few months. I still cannot access for 6 of the courses.

By R C

Oct 13, 2022

This course will teach you the fundamentals of Adobe XD. The course is well written, well paced, and provides a comprehensive review for those continuing on from previous courses.

However, I've noticed an increase in plagiarism and blank submissions from other users enrolled in the certificate pathway. While I recognize that UX design can be a lucrative profession, these students detract from the course's overall quality. There is no easy solution to this problem given the sheer volume of enrollment in Google's certificate programs. Just something to keep in mind before enrolling in the course.

By Alex N

Oct 20, 2021

This is an excellent refresher of the concepts learned from Course 1-5. At the same time, it is new in the sense that you are applying your knowldge using Adobe XD. I like how the course gives you the option to revisit content from older courses using hyperlinks, however, it does provide enough information in its videos and readings, that this isn't needed. The optional sections are great for preparing you in updating your resume in preparation for entering the UX designer world.

By Vincenzo C

Aug 16, 2021

I was fantastic for me because this is the first time that i created a UX Low-Fidelity, Mockups and High-Fidelity Prototype for a Responsive Website and thanks to the great Google Course i’am able to learn and create this project in 20 days. For me was very interesting the Adobe XD features Responsive Resize and Repeat Grid mainly

By Tshepo M

May 30, 2021

Great hands-on course with great concepts from the design thinking process into UX Design. The tutor is quite demotivating when it comes to those just joining the course without taking all those many previous courses. Other than that, it's a great hands-on experience.