Chevron Left
Back to Software Architecture

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Software Architecture by University of Alberta

4.5
stars
713 ratings
161 reviews

About the Course

The way that software components — subroutines, classes, functions, etc. — are arranged, and the interactions between them, is called architecture. In this course you will study the ways these architectures are represented, both in UML and other visual tools. We will introduce the most common architectures, their qualities, and tradeoffs. We will talk about how architectures are evaluated, what makes a good architecture, and an architecture can be improved. We'll also talk about how the architecture touches on the process of software development. In the Capstone Project you will document a Java-based Android application with UML diagrams and analyze evaluate the application’s architecture using the Architecture Tradeoff Analysis Method (ATAM). After completing this course, you will be able to: • Compare and contrast the components, connections, protocols, topologies, constraints, tradeoffs, and variations of different types of architectural styles used in the design of applications and systems (e.g., main program and subroutine, object-oriented, interpreters, pipes and filters, database centric, event-based). • Describe the properties of layered and n-tier architectures. • Create UML ipackage, component, and deployment diagrams to express the architectural structure of a system. • Explain the behaviour of a system using UML activity diagrams. • Document a multi-application system with a layered architecture....

Top reviews

CS

Dec 23, 2019

This is a excellent course for Software architects, addressing all key areas needed in the field. Good content, definitely recommend this course for anyone aspiring to be a Software architect.

MA

Jul 21, 2021

This course integrates the previous courses (Object oriented design and Design patterns) and applies the knowledge taught in those courses to real life problems. Highly recommended.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 160 Reviews for Software Architecture

By Austin p

May 14, 2020

There could be more session on architecturing and analysis

By Adrian A

Jul 22, 2019

Good course I would definitely recommend it to my peers.

By Lorenzo C

Nov 6, 2019

Useful introduction to software architecture.

By Evgeny P

Dec 26, 2017

Good in general as an introductory course.

By Linwei Z

Oct 18, 2018

a little bit abstract

By Elix F

Apr 22, 2021

It had good things but honestly it's lacking a lot, it barely explains the material and expects you to take on tasks with barely any examples so you need to go and research in other places.

By JOSKO R

Mar 27, 2020

.

By Gregory P

Jun 3, 2021

Course content was OK but not explained thoroughly, especially the ATAM process. Assignment evaluations expect details that are not actually covered in the course. The capstone assignment grading is particularly superficial, asking only if an architecture evaluation was done, not whether it was any good. There is zero expert feedback. Since it is impossible to see the solution until after grading peers, I am forced to guess at whether responses "make sense". Most of the capstone assignments I reviewed were plagiarized, but there is no incentive to report it because you can't complete the course until you have 3 completed reviews, and reporting plagiarism does not count as a review.

By Tulay M

Mar 3, 2020

Someone reading a text in a fast, monotone way for the entire course does not fit my learning style. The only thing I liked was the peer review assignments. That's what I learned the most: from other's mistakes and grading questions.

By Ali H A

Apr 19, 2020

The course wasn't providing practical knowledge or the know-how. It seemed to be just bullet-points and someone is talking about them in general.

By Norbert M

Feb 12, 2020

T

By Muneer S

Dec 7, 2020

Expectation was not fulfilled. Just overview on so many theories and unrelated assignment at the end of the course. That too rated by another peer who can rate it like a robot using the pre-defined answer patterns. It would be good if the assignment are corrected by the instructor or at-least there is a way to directly get feedback from instructor.

By Manuel H

Feb 3, 2021

The peer review concept and sharing app makes every course useless

By Deleted A

Jul 8, 2020

The peer-review system makes this course unbearably slow

By Nilanshu V R

Apr 8, 2022

T​his course provides important info in a brief manner about major architectures used in the current software industry. The course is easy to follow and the assignments also provide good exercise. Overall I recommend this course to beginners of Software Architecture.

By Emin M

Mar 16, 2022

This course teaches all the intricacies of service architecture.

By Alvaro A Z G

Sep 24, 2021

Excelent course, has all the topics I needed

By Medet T

Oct 23, 2021

Курс был очень полезно !!!!

By José L C H

Jan 24, 2022

G​reat course!

By Julia M

Dec 21, 2021

Great content!

By Жеңіс К

Sep 26, 2021

good course

By TANVIRUL I 1

Aug 23, 2021

Excellent

By Israt J S 1

Aug 20, 2021

love this

By SR S

Aug 21, 2021

good

By Md. F R 1

Aug 20, 2021

good