Chevron Left
Back to Usable Security

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Usable Security by University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
stars
2,833 ratings
695 reviews

About the Course

This course focuses on how to design and build secure systems with a human-centric focus. We will look at basic principles of human-computer interaction, and apply these insights to the design of secure systems with the goal of developing security measures that respect human performance and their goals within a system....

Top reviews

IR
Jun 20, 2016

I like how in depth this gets. it explains it very well an in ways for people who are starting off in this field to get a basic understanding in exactly what we are learning. very well put together!

DG
Jun 28, 2016

Despite not being very fond of areas such as human-computer interaction, I found this course to be well-presented and useful. Definitely a necessity for anyone planning on building secure software.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 681 Reviews for Usable Security

By Varughese K R

Oct 1, 2020

Very good structure of the Material. The course helps to increase the basic understanding and definitely comprehend the concepts.

By János F P

Aug 29, 2020

Teaches some basic knowledge well but some of the content is out of date and the audio quality is poor in some of the videos.

By Zach G

Dec 10, 2019

Content of the course is good but felt extremely elementary and unrelated to what I thought this track was going to focus on.

By Ali A B

Aug 1, 2019

the information provided in this course i believe is well balanced for an intro the world of data in information security

By Christopher L P

Nov 27, 2016

Instructor was easy to follow, made clear points with today's technology examples and kept me engaged during my time.

By Émile G

May 28, 2016

Very clear and organized, I will certainly make use of what I learned when writing programs or designing software.

By Amrita B

Apr 8, 2016

Very informative, easy to understand and gives a clear understanding about the overall concept on usable security.

By Pam

Apr 25, 2019

The audio could be better. In some of the lectures the sound would fluctuate from very low to moderately higher.

By Evi V

Sep 18, 2017

Good introduction, some of the concepts, especially in quizzes are debatable or outdated within the industry.

By Fabio D

Jun 12, 2016

Very interesting and a different approach to make security acceptable to users. Currnet technology allow that

By Kabeya M M l G

Jul 2, 2020

Je suis ravis par cette spécialité qui m'a faite franchir un barrière dans la recherche en Cybersecurity!

By Mohammad M

Jul 17, 2016

this course is cool but not hard enough i think, it should cover more materials and it should be harder.

By Manuel R A L

Nov 30, 2020

Excelente curso para iniciar, felicitaciones, muy contento con la información y conocimiento obtenido.

By artscot

Oct 26, 2020

Very informative course. It was very interesting learning the intricacies of IT security and privacy.

By Gokul K

Nov 7, 2016

If there were some Powerpoint slides in the course memorising would have been easier. Thanks a lot.

By Thịnh N Đ

Sep 25, 2020

The quality of videos is rather low. Also, in some videos, the backgrounds are quite distractive.

By Nimit

Jun 9, 2016

A really good course in usable security. A little more of assignments would have been better

By Roderick R

Oct 5, 2017

Good course that covered very useful material. Dr. Goldbeck is an outstanding instructor!!

By Dmitriy M

Apr 10, 2016

Doesnt meet my expectations - it is all about "Usable", but not about "Security" at all.

By joel S

Jan 10, 2021

After completing this course it give me the encouragement to continue my studies in ITC

By Abhishek Y

May 17, 2020

The course was helpful. There should have been some practical stuff for the students.

By Charlie G

Feb 8, 2020

Good course and a good instructor. I learned some things that I will be able to use.

By Neeraj R S

Jun 14, 2020

The course content was perfect but the course slides, and videos need to be updated.

By Mohammed D

Apr 21, 2020

thank for everything you give lot of konwlege about security its very helpful for me

By 18BEL535 P B

Jul 26, 2020

This course is really help me out..I gained many information from this course