Chevron Left
Back to Effective Altruism

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Altruism by Princeton University

4.7
278 ratings
65 reviews

About the Course

Effective altruism is built on the simple but unsettling idea that living a fully ethical life involves doing the most good one can. In this course you will examine this idea's philosophical underpinnings; meet remarkable people who have restructured their lives in accordance with it; and think about how effective altruism can be put into practice in your own life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

JB

Jan 23, 2018

Excellent material on a much needed topic. The course brought together a good number of strong and important ideas, well backed by research and with very interesting and relevant guest speakers.

LC

Apr 19, 2017

What a wonderful course. It gives each of us a way to help in the best possible manner. One would think that only serious philanthropists can help when in fact every single person can.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 64 Reviews for Effective Altruism

By John G T

Mar 29, 2017

Thought provoking and persuasive, this course is both an excellent introduction to the study of ethics and to the growing movement striving for a better world - effective altruism.

By Jaime L

Oct 26, 2018

The course a very good start, with interesting information on how to make ethical decisions.. however it never provides a clear conclusion to the topic and it moves to the charity topic, focusing entirely on the efficiency and reasons to give money to charities, without discussing further the principle of charities to begin with.

Effective Altruism is much bigger than just charity works, therefore i am not pleased with the program's agenda and emphasis on charities.

By Hyunsook K

Sep 01, 2015

No passion is on his lecture. There is only dryness and ethical superior pride through his theory.. Altruism without love is an empty vanity and well-designed commercial intention for selling his theory.

By Karen P

Jan 12, 2019

This course is excellent, especially for those wanting to understand the basics to ethics and Peter Singer’s (and others) thinking. Good amount of detail and well-structured.

By Alice Z

Jan 15, 2019

Good but I was looking for, well, more.

By Elianne

Jan 02, 2019

A course that truely makes you think!

By Samuel G B

Jun 20, 2018

Great course. Lots of interesting speakers and resources

By Aneliq

Aug 09, 2015

Really influential course.

By Agata H P

Dec 06, 2015

Thought provoking, were well orchestrated, I am learning, and I am moved, and I think we are all moved towards making the world a better place.

By carlos a

Aug 11, 2015

Excellent lectures. In Colombia should be issued this style of lectures to sensitize the professionals of tomorrow.

By Stacey C

May 17, 2016

A super detailed and informative course on EA!

By Esteban R

Jul 09, 2017

This course is important on many levels, and take the lessons seriously as your way of life could develop in new and more enriching ways if you fully engage. The final essay can be complex depending on which question you choose, so try your best to answer as carefully as you can.

By Maria C G

Aug 21, 2015

Excellent course, highly recommended if you are interested in supporting or giving to charities, getting to know how you can effectively donate and where your money is being invested properly and it's effectiveness. Gives great insight on what types of advocative work is being done, evaluation methods, criteria and what people should support. Very clear information on how to lead a better life and a more meaningful, helpful, altruistic life.

By Learner I

Aug 19, 2015

This is a fabulous course. I think anyone interested in giving and philanthropy should take this course, to better understand the concept of effectiveness. I took this course to identify my own role for giving, and the content and interviews helped me to shape my vision within my modest income. Hurrah for Peter Singer and Princeton offering this course to the world!

By Gary A

Dec 09, 2015

I love it!

By Mantas M

May 18, 2016

A nice introduction, but having already been acquainted with the material somewhat, it came of as a bit stale. Some of the bits on moral theories at the beginning were new and informative, and the interviews were interesting regardless.

By Santiago M

Feb 11, 2016

Very interesting course, very interesting discussions. There's a lot to think about what is the best way to help others. Singer is very clear and I share most of his ideas.

By Julio L B

Jan 23, 2018

Excellent material on a much needed topic. The course brought together a good number of strong and important ideas, well backed by research and with very interesting and relevant guest speakers.

By Andre W

Sep 14, 2017

An excellent course on philosophical topics related to altruism. Also, a practical guide that can help steer charity from less to more worthy causes.

By Bart S

Aug 17, 2017

outstanding survey class, recommend it for any and all

By Maria T O

Apr 07, 2017

The course is very good.

By Luz-Elena C

Apr 19, 2017

What a wonderful course. It gives each of us a way to help in the best possible manner. One would think that only serious philanthropists can help when in fact every single person can.

By Luis G P

Oct 16, 2015

Es un excelente curso, con muy buen material y muy completo.

By Ronald F

Aug 17, 2016

very complex, super challenging and helpful

By Dominika

Sep 14, 2015

Thank you for this inspiring course that gives a great introduction into ethics and altruism !!!