Chevron Left
Back to Graph Analytics for Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Graph Analytics for Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.2
845 ratings
161 reviews

About the Course

Want to understand your data network structure and how it changes under different conditions? Curious to know how to identify closely interacting clusters within a graph? Have you heard of the fast-growing area of graph analytics and want to learn more? This course gives you a broad overview of the field of graph analytics so you can learn new ways to model, store, retrieve and analyze graph-structured data. After completing this course, you will be able to model a problem into a graph database and perform analytical tasks over the graph in a scalable manner. Better yet, you will be able to apply these techniques to understand the significance of your data sets for your own projects....

Top reviews

KM

Dec 17, 2017

Got an amazing introduction to Graph Analytics in Big Data. Technical issues with Neo4J made this course a little more challenging than necessary. But the introduction to Spark GraphX was invaluable.

JT

Oct 26, 2016

This course was excellent as an introduction to Graph Analytics and using Neo4j. Not only did I learn a lot, I've been given tasks related to what I've learned in this course after finishing it.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 160 Reviews for Graph Analytics for Big Data

By Stephane T

Mar 07, 2017

I would have liked to put 5 stars. This topic is so important and relevant to big data. After week 4 hands on part, it became obvious we will not see how to implement or interpret the more abstract graph concepts presented in week 3. That was very disappointing.

Moreover, the structure of the course is not as good as the other module. I don't understand the lack of balance between theory and hands on (Not enough hands on to reflect the theory) part.

On a constructive note, I would replace some of the theoretical concepts of week 3 with additional information on how to link a graph database to machine learning OR I would add more hands on exercise to help using those more complex concepts and learn how to interpret them.

By Jyothi-Raghav J

Nov 21, 2017

Except for the Neo4j week 4 and week 2, the other weeks were really confusing as it was hard to follow where the instructor is on a slide. Week 5 hands-on videos really were too fast and the instructor in video hands-on seems to be in a hurry. I also had hard time copy pasting the code snippets from the hands-on material.

By Cédric L

Jan 09, 2017

Concepts are explained in a rather structured way and hands-on with Neo4j are interesting.

The last part with GraphX is pure copy-paste of orders, it is disappointing and not a good way to practive.

By David T

Oct 25, 2016

Another good and interesting course but the total lack of engagement by the course team and community mentors makes it hard going.

By Vineeth V

Aug 18, 2017

This was ok till week 3. Week 4 was too much information and too many bugs in the code. Weeks 4 and 5 could be better presened

By Dag S

Oct 12, 2016

The professor is well spoken and the class started out very well. But by the final section the hands on example were simply cut-paste with no explanation of what we were doing or how it worked. It's not the fault of the professor but this course and the Big Data specialization attempts to cover too much information. Graph Analytics should be its own 6 course specialization. But really, to understand graph analytics one should be spending a great deal of time with the subject. Perhaps online courses are not the way to understand such a complex subject.

By Juraj P

Apr 19, 2017

Lower quality when compared to the previous courses in this specialization. Neo4j is very interesting but it is poorly explained.

By Jesus C

Jul 30, 2018

The course is good, but I would prefer the examples to be coded in Python.

By Rahul P

Aug 06, 2019

The last week was absolutely not fruitful at all, with no such introduction given to Scala. That took away all the sheen from the course.

By Daniel K

Aug 10, 2019

Week 5 seemed irrelevant

By Carlos C

Jul 03, 2019

It's necessary to update the documentations of the course

By Carlos M

Oct 08, 2019

Unfortunately the videos and lectures about Neo4j installation is not up to date making it difficult to install by the learner. Mostly if you take into account that not all the students have the technical background to do it. On the other hand, after installation Neo4j was returning an error that don't let complete the labs. Regardless these issues, all the other course content is really helpful to get a high level understanding of how Graph Analytics can be used in a Big Data ecosystem.

By Keith B

Jun 24, 2017

There were a number of software configuration settings for which we were not forewarned, some settings that I saw now way of changing in the community edition of Neo4j, and the queries in week 5 were not adequately explained. Furthermore, some of the earlier lectures appeared to be "modified from the original lecture, cut down to create required material and optional material. The lectures were cut in crude fashion, and the instructor would go from one slide to the next, sometimes starting in mid sentence. This subject can be interesting and useful information, but the content needs to be reworked so that we better understand the software use, and what we are trying to achieve.

By Kjell L

Sep 24, 2016

First week of 3 min video. Seriously we want to dive into the subject. And the last two weeks should have more content. Felt like much more copy and paste without understanding why you did that. Understand this should be introduction to Big Data... But the price you pay for the introduction is too expensive.

By manav j

Jun 08, 2018

Not so great content and more theoritical then practical

By min m z

Jan 17, 2018

software not working based on the instruction. Can't connect to server and there is no help in the forum

By Konstantin K

Apr 03, 2018

Most part of materials about Graphs analysis and parallel programming models left unclear despite I have tried to rewatch the lectures some number of times. Previous courses of the spec were clearer

By Julien D

May 19, 2018

Many tools... very high level approach.

Complex theory is also explained very quickly and disconnected from the hands-on exercises.

By Michel R

Nov 15, 2017

Some items are interesting, but the lectures seem goal-less: not enough structure to help understand graph analytics. There's something there but I didn't have much of a takeaway. Introductory material should have more structure.

By William B

May 28, 2018

My personal opinion but we seem to be just breezing through at a very fast pace the details associated with the applications. We are presenting but not really conveying anything meaningful given the pace that they are covered. Seems more of a distraction than value to the overall objective of the course. It would make more sense just to provide a slower placed recorded session on the tools .. and I do mean slower with explanation. Perhaps and optional course where there could be a deeper drill down into to the apps. It also seems that some of the course material is not up to date with the current versions of the apps as well.

By Victor C B

Oct 03, 2017

by far the most difficult and poor explained.

By Csaba P O

Oct 31, 2017

My problem with this course is the same that with the Machine learning course: it is too basic, and the big data aspects were more a demo than a real course. I know about graph theory and networks in general much more than it was covered in this course, and I was disappointed that all the big-data context was limited to the handson sessions of week 5. I have to mention that the theoretical parts (first 3 weeks) were high quality and nice, just did not cover anything new for me.

On the contrary, the graphx handsons were drafty and really lacked explanations of the steps. I suggest to rename this course to something like "Introduction to graph and network analysis with a big-data demo" not to mislead users.

By Fernando B M

Oct 09, 2017

Full of errors, short of explanations and support, just trying to figure out what to introduce in the command line, not knowing what I am actually doing and why. There are issues reported in the forums eight months ago that have not been fixed. At least one can get a fair idea of what can be done.

By LIU, S T

Jul 06, 2019

The things taught is easy and boring

By Ruijia W

Dec 07, 2017

The worst couse I ever take!!

1) week 1-2 is completely useless

2) The whole Neoj4 part is a disaster. You really need to check whether your protocol can still work under the lastest version in windows

3) The GraphX is basically crap. The pipline get stuck from the filtering step as :

[Stage 4:=============================> (1 + 0) / 2]

No FAQ and No debug,

It is irresponsible!!!