Chevron Left
Back to Cloud Computing Concepts: Part 2

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cloud Computing Concepts: Part 2 by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.6
236 ratings
51 reviews

About the Course

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia. This course builds on the material covered in the Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 course....

Top reviews

MR

Jul 16, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

HG

Apr 15, 2017

Just the same as the first course. Medium-hard quizzes and a hard programming assigment that is actually harder to understand than to develop.\n\nOverall a five star course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 49 Reviews for Cloud Computing Concepts: Part 2

By Stefan J

Feb 17, 2019

Would really help to get the correct answers for the questions one failed once the test is passed. The programming assignment could use additional tips and help

By Kuda

Mar 31, 2019

Very theoretical course but very helpful to understand the cloud

By An G

Apr 11, 2017

Learned a lot

By Hugo G

Apr 15, 2017

Just the same as the first course. Medium-hard quizzes and a hard programming assigment that is actually harder to understand than to develop.

Overall a five star course.

By Abdul Q

Jul 01, 2018

It was an awesome experience to learn and explore key areas of distributed systems in clud computing concepts

By Ramón G F

Nov 10, 2017

I think it is perfect. Excellent theory, excelent teachers, interesting topics well understood and well explained

By Timur O

Aug 30, 2017

very informative

By Syed A N R

Jun 27, 2017

In continuation with Pt. I, this course delves into many more interesting topics. There's a significant scope of self-discovery and learning.

By Jason Z

Jan 22, 2017

Great Course!!!! I have learned a lot for P2P system, and replica etc. Thank You!

By Anil K P

Jul 13, 2017

Superb!

By Michael M

Apr 01, 2018

Awesome class for software engineers. If you haven't take it in college, or need a refresher, this is a great way to do so.

By jingjing L

Jul 13, 2016

It's a good course for cloud studing

By Ahmad H

Jan 01, 2018

Very nice and informative course, and the programming assignment in the end of the course is so helpful to understand and apply the theoretical concepts that was introduced during the course

By Zhikun L

Jul 22, 2017

This part is, in my opinion, easier than the first part

By Miklós A R

Jul 16, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

By Yuxiang L

Jul 23, 2017

A decent overview of cloud computing concepts. Learnt a lot from the programming assignment.

By Zhong Z

Jan 03, 2017

v

By babuji

Mar 27, 2018

Excellently taught by prof

By SUBHASHIS C

May 16, 2018

Good course. Gives you a good overview of cloud computing paradigms. Cloud Computing I and II both are quite informative courses.

By Shawn W

Jan 09, 2017

very good course!

By Rahul G

Sep 06, 2016

Good at explaining concepts

Good Quizzes& assignments

By Sajjan B

Oct 17, 2016

Excellent Course! I found both the Cloud Computing Concepts highly informative and relevant for the course objective.

By Xuyan X

Dec 17, 2017

The professor Indranil Gupta is the guy who can talk very fast but clearly:) Five stars.

By Albert C G

Apr 24, 2017

Thank You Indy for a most challenging Course. I have taken >25 coursera courses and I would have this one is the most challenging. The C++ development project really strengthens your Computer-to-Computer Protocol Communication ability. Five stars all the way.

By Can C

Jun 22, 2017

very helpful for my exam