Chevron Left
Back to Managing the Company of the Future

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing the Company of the Future by University of London

4.8
stars
2,544 ratings
885 reviews

About the Course

The aim of the course is to provide you with a comprehensive framework for understanding both the traditional principles of management inside companies today as well as the alternative principles that are becoming increasingly important. It provides both theoretical and practical perspectives on the nature of management in today’s organisations....

Top reviews

KK
May 28, 2016

I really enjoyed the course. Lots of information. The professor knows what he is talking about and he is very interesting to listen. Most of all, I enjoyed the case studies in the end of every module.

SS
Aug 13, 2020

It was a great course which help you to gain knowledge about how to run the company in a good manner and the readings are in a good quality as well as sir. julian birkinshaw was explaining so clearly

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 879 Reviews for Managing the Company of the Future

By Paul V

Jun 13, 2017

Very interesting, it's highlight a lot of situations from our professional lives.

However, I had some reserves/doubts here and there. For instance I'm wondering how many companies mentioned as using a modern management (and used to be a startup) have actually thought to that kind of management. I'm not sure that they have really intellectualized that, they probably did it in a more natural way. I was working in a (used to be) startup and managers were researchers basically without any great competencies in management, so it was a no-management by default, with a lot of good things, but bad too.

By Robert H

Jun 6, 2020

This course was well-pitched, interesting and varied. Julian brings it nicely to life and has a passion for the subject matter. It would be good if it could be given a small makeover for a post-Covid19 world, as the original MOOC was created a few years ago now. Some of the examples of management practice have developed further since the course was written and that extra perspective would be valuable. However, I would thoroughly recommend this course as a stimulant to thinking about how to approach management. It is broken up into easily digestible chunks but covers much ground in doing so.

By Olivia D

May 18, 2020

While the concepts are not completely unknown (eg motivation etc), this course was holistically combined alot of various management concepts and provoked alot of thought regarding management in the future. Although, this course may not have been developed in 2019/2020, it is very relevant (even more so) today's world as many organizations are looking at alternative ways to manage teams and alternative management styles needed.

The lecturer is engaging, the material is easy to understand and he provides many examples to illustrate the concepts discussed.

Highly recommend!

By Henry T

Apr 29, 2020

Prof Julian is knowledgeable, I gained a lot of insights on the drivers, the management models, as well as how we can adapt to be the company of the future. I like how Prof Julian provides all the example in case studies so that we can relate instead of just a bunch of theories. The only small improvement that can be done is on how the way the material is presented. Instead of the traditional "classroom style stand and talk" in the video, perhaps Prof Julian can get video editor to do post-editing to make it more interesting.

By Flavio L

Nov 18, 2018

It's a new point of view about company's management. All material is clear and linked to the subject and Julian has a very straight to the point didactic approach. The single point I would recommend to improve is about the forums of discussion: A separation of the student's interventions by classes by period could be helpful to improve the interaction among ourselves. It happens sometimes to see posts from 1, 2 years or even older and no exchanges could be possible.

By Varun B

May 7, 2020

As a future Management student or a Manager it is necessary to know difference between Management and Leadership, also examples, that provide a great idea about implementation of various Management tools. This course covered what Management was, what Management is, and what Management will be in the future with detailed case studies of various companies. Overall a very helpful course to those who wants to learn Basic and Innovative Management principles.

By Prompiriya P

May 30, 2020

Professor delivers with high quality performance. Lessons are well-thought and in depth with a lot of interesting examples. The worst aspect of this course is the peer-review final assignment. I had to wait for days for results to come up as "failed" (with scores getting so close to passing) when I put all my effort to answer correctly, following the question prompts. I have to resubmit so many times with this poor peer-review system.

By Mike Y W

Nov 9, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, and many of the topics discussed are still relevant today despite the course being a few years old now. The lectures are straight-forward as are the quizzes, and I especially enjoyed being able to tie things up with a final peer assignment. It was also a very nice touch for the professor to add a final video each week to comment about discussion board activity highlights.

By Lawrence P

Feb 24, 2017

This is a very interesting and enjoyable course that gives great reading materials supplementary to the main materials. Thank you to the course team. The key problem with the course design is the peer marked review system for the final assignment. In the language of the course, there is no 'intrinsic motivation' to peers to mark correctly or with any effort, leading to inappropriate marking practices.

By Sofia V T

May 17, 2020

I liked the course, it was my first course regarding management and I found it very clear, very useful to have a first general approach to managing principles. Thank you!

I didn´t really like the final assignment evaluation form, I like the assignment itself but when correcting others assignments I read all kind of weird answers even one which was a copy past of the sample answers.

By Aschwin S

May 13, 2020

Fantastic presentation by Julian Birkinshaw, well done!. An alert to stimulate the frequent review of the management model and innovate it over time. Julian is on top of the topic and explains it in simple and clear language. At the same time his view is substantiated by scientific insights and articles, expert views and relevant case studies. Great course!

By Chris H

May 17, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. Prof Julian Birkinshaw's presentation was excellent. However I was a little disappointed with the final assignment. I thought the model answers were short on detail. I may have missed the information somewhere, but as a new user I would have liked an initial tutorial on navigating around the programme.

By XIANG L

Jun 7, 2020

this course gives us a well-organized framework about traditional management and althernative management. However, some details are included in the modules, and even relevant reading materials. when it comes to benefits or weaknesses of a system or dimension, more details or explanation would be appreciated.

By Cassandra P

May 5, 2020

It was an interesting and informative course lead by a very knowledgeable Professor. I enjoyed the structure of the course, and how the content was delivered. My only criticism would be that some of the course work (readings, videos, case studies) were a little outdated.

By Andrew M

May 26, 2020

Overall, I really enjoyed the course and found it to leave me each week with new insights and a lens on management strategy for the future. The first half of the course proved to be very insightful while the second half seemed to become a bit more dull.

By J. B G

Jun 5, 2019

Exceptional good course, however, beware of peer reviewers who do not take their responsibilities seriously. Note that one is not graded for the quality of one's peer review, nor is weighting based on peer review competency factored in.

By E-J R

Apr 21, 2016

Excellent overview of Management Models to consider moving forward and how well they play out against the challenges managers faces today, its benefits and weaknesses and related points to be considered

By Carolina F M

May 26, 2020

Very good course, but I believe it could be updated considering that the "future companies" have already changed again and are different of 2014/2015. Very good teacher and speed of the classes.

By Alina S

May 8, 2020

The course is amazing! Dr Julian Birkinshaw is a wonderful lecturer, I enjoyed the course under his guidance. However, assignment reviewed by peers is not the best idea. It's not very efficient.

By Will M

May 6, 2020

A few of the case studies and examples are a little out of date now, but overall a great course. Gives a really interesting framework for developing innovative management practices.

By Tamara V

May 15, 2020

This course definitely got me thinking about the future of management models and the trajectory of the business world! I loved all of the real world examples as well.

By Shamsuzzaman S

Apr 15, 2020

very effective one course..if we utilise this learning to our professional life then i can must say that knowledge will help to increase organisation efficiency.

By Mayank G

May 25, 2020

Quite an impressive synthesis of research and information, that professionals at any position in their career can relate to and learn from. Great one, thank you.

By Dorothy L

May 18, 2020

The course enabled me to refresh my management skills/knowledge. I would recommend this course for those who have not done management courses before.

By PYDIPALLI S

May 5, 2020

Its basically a course which is useful for the upcomg managers and also knowing the changing trends of the industry and changes in managment process