Chevron Left
Back to Computer Vision Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computer Vision Basics by University at Buffalo

4.1
stars
784 ratings
240 reviews

About the Course

By the end of this course, learners will understand what computer vision is, as well as its mission of making computers see and interpret the world as humans do, by learning core concepts of the field and receiving an introduction to human vision capabilities. They are equipped to identify some key application areas of computer vision and understand the digital imaging process. The course covers crucial elements that enable computer vision: digital signal processing, neuroscience and artificial intelligence. Topics include color, light and image formation; early, mid- and high-level vision; and mathematics essential for computer vision. Learners will be able to apply mathematical techniques to complete computer vision tasks. This course is ideal for anyone curious about or interested in exploring the concepts of computer vision. It is also useful for those who desire a refresher course in mathematical concepts of computer vision. Learners should have basic programming skills and experience (understanding of for loops, if/else statements), specifically in MATLAB (Mathworks provides the basics here: https://www.mathworks.com/learn/tutorials/matlab-onramp.html). Learners should also be familiar with the following: basic linear algebra (matrix vector operations and notation), 3D co-ordinate systems and transformations, basic calculus (derivatives and integration) and basic probability (random variables). Material includes online lectures, videos, demos, hands-on exercises, project work, readings and discussions. Learners gain experience writing computer vision programs through online labs using MATLAB* and supporting toolboxes. * A free license to install MATLAB for the duration of the course is available from MathWorks....

Top reviews

AO

Apr 29, 2020

Lays a good foundation for Computer Vision. There should be more programming examples as some of the labs were beyond the scope of what was taught in the videos, especially the last one.

EH

May 22, 2020

This was an excellent introduction to computer vision. I especially appreciated the various extra resources and in-depth explanations of how computer vision works.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 245 Reviews for Computer Vision Basics

By Abhishek K

Apr 08, 2020

it is a good starter for those guys who want to start learning computer vision for Robotics, AI, Image Processing, etc.

By Kevin C

May 02, 2019

Great Course

By Lida M

Aug 11, 2019

It is a good introduction course but I think some more demo coding for matlab in the first assignments will be a good thing so we don´t have to spend a lot of time on google and on trial and error.

By Rahul K

May 10, 2020

Definitely recommended for beginners. This course insight from concepts to application.

By Alan T

Oct 29, 2019

Good information but a bit elementary.

By Syed S W

Aug 21, 2019

Not good enough, atleast for me. The assignments were totally, totally different from the stuff taught there. Plus everything taught here was a vague theory which was not even remotely related to the assignments. Expecting better quality in the next courses.

By rishab k

Dec 22, 2019

The course definitely doesn't carry significant content and what after it.

after basics there should be some more courses for advance training.

The programming assignment were more than irrelevant.

sorry for the bad feedback.

but teaching was good

By Simun K

May 18, 2020

Not enough resources to learn from. Videos are not explaining the curriculum that is tested in MatLab "graded external tool". Forum discussions are far more helpful than the videos itself.

By Josh E

Apr 14, 2020

The learning does not prepare you for the assignments and all assignments are either pre-solved or cannot be solved without a lot of trial and error, no logic.

By Kshitij B

May 12, 2020

Not in depth knowledge provided , just gave overview of various topics in short videos , reading material is better than the videos provided.

By Göktuğ Y

May 07, 2020

If you want to pass this course, you must really know how to use MATLAB!

By Saurav P

Apr 29, 2020

completely unrelated content and assignments

By Tanvi P

May 02, 2020

My first bad experience with Coursera content. It pains me to write this review, because it is always difficult to criticise other academics. The video lecture content throughout this course is very generic, like what one might hear about computer vision in a TED talk or on TV.

One speaker's body language was very distracting, another's pronunciation is hard to catch and many slides are tackily animated, so I ended up reading the video transcripts instead of watching them. Most videos are 2 or 3 minutes long, and there aren't that many videos. It's almost as if somebody forgot to upload the rest of the lecture videos!

The videos mostly contain introductions, applications and information surveys about various aspects of computer vision, with kitten and puppy pictures thrown in as "examples" to keep you interested.

The student grapples with fairly complex programming assignments with no idea about where to begin. Each quiz contains only one qualitative Yes or No question, which was not related to the video.

Though the course teaches you almost nothing about computer vision algorithms, it does squeeze in a few interesting minutes about human vision and basic optics, but that is not what a student who signs up for this course expects to learn here.

The math section (one week's worth, out of four) is made up of four or five 1-minute videos about the importance of linear algebra and calculus, but there's not a single equation in sight. The supplementary material for the entire course consists of either Wikipedia pages or research papers that the lecture content does not prepare you to read and absorb.

Even if you are a more senior industry professional interested only in a top level understanding of computer vision without getting into the math of it, you won't be able to complete the course because the programming assignments require some serious math skills that the course does not cover.

All in all, not a recommended course for your time and money. If you are looking for some good learning, Andrew Ng's Machine Learning course here on Coursera is more interesting and useful for computer vision than this one!

By Raunak B

Apr 26, 2020

I didn't like it very much.

The course contained just the history of computer vision,there was nothing related to programming in it.The programming assignments were just simple 2-3 lines of Matlab functions. The last week's assignment was the only good part which I found in the whole course.

Overall i didn't expect the course to be like this and to be honest apart from knowing about the history of Computer Vision i didn't get to learn anything else much.

By Svenja L N

May 13, 2020

If you don't know MATLAB do not try to complete this course. Lectures have very little detail and just mention many computer vision term and their relation to each other. No specific explanations. And the programming tasks have little to do with the video content. If you haven't worked with MATLAB before the tasks (especially the last one) are impossible to do.

I did not lear a lot.

By Ulrich R

Apr 24, 2020

The information provided is very shallow and the presentation is just ok. The assignments have nothing to do with the content of the course. You're supposed to calculate in MatLab while none of the lectures covers how to do so. Learning effect = zero.

By Marco V

Apr 15, 2020

The worst course I ever did. Good explanation of the basis of computer vision but no explanation on how to program and how to use the basics line in matlab. It's not studied for beginner, it's studied for people that are also in this field.

By Pooja T

May 17, 2020

Assignments are based on MATLAB Coding which is not being taught .

By Rahul G

May 15, 2020

too many problems with assignment and submissions

By cuguilke

Apr 03, 2020

lol

By Gujanatti R

Apr 19, 2020

The course has given me a basic overview of usage of computer vision in various aspects. Also the coding challenges presented in the course has enhanced my coding ability using Matlab.

I look forward for few more courses which will help us to understand and increase our ability to use Matlab for Computer vision applications.

I also wish to have some hands on courses to deal with Matlab for Computer Vision along with Simulink.

By Atul K

Jun 02, 2020

This course in Computer Basic gave me an important information about how computer deals with images. and how we are using various technique to capture image and with AI we are using for face detection, object recognition, self driving vehicle, advance camera. This course has further higher studies and research.

By Maaz U

May 13, 2020

This course is too helpful for the beginners and for those who wants to take step in computer vision subject i got much knowledge through this course

just one issue was coming the sound of 3rd week video lectures or i think 4th week videos. sound was too low please check that and fix it

Thank you

By Jain R

May 09, 2020

this course had content that generally is being ignored by other computer vision programs, CV isn't just about programming but it has more interdisciplinary factors too, this course really helped in broadening the perspective of what is Computer Vision.

By Mohammed E M M

May 03, 2020

I really loved the course and the monitoring by the great teachers. I learned a lot about computer vision and it's use in the real world and I am now, thanks to this course , able to develop algorithms of computer vision for artificial intelligence.