Chevron Left
Back to Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
5,097 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Course One of Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR! In these first 4 Modules you will gain the knowledge and the confidence that will help you make good choices as you consider qualities of the camera you own, and the qualities of the other types of digital cameras you might be considering. You will learn about the basic functions that most digital cameras have in common. You will also go beyond the "technical" matters and learn about how you can make exciting pictures by emphasizing the aspects of Frame and Vantage Point to interpret old subjects in new ways. Discovering accessories that photographers find useful, and the types of camera bags from mini to carry-on sized, is also in store for you. You will also make your first photographs and, if you are a subscriber to the specialization, upload pictures to the web gallery and start interacting with your fellow learners in our "Gallery." Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

LB

Invalid date

it definitely increases our enthusiasm and passion for photography, this course gives us the basics of photography and camera settings. thank you professors for your encouragement and efforts.

DA

Invalid date

One of the nice things about this course, is that it challenges one to DO something - take photos. My trusty old point-and-shoot doesn't know what has hit it - it has never worked so hard before.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 1,560 Reviews for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

By EMMANUEL U C

Jul 28, 2020

This course is such a great opportunity to discover the photography world since a professional and creative perspective. All the information sources were useful.

By Gihan I

Dec 4, 2022

Prof Peter does an excellent job in going through the essential fundamentals of pjotgraphy. Very useful for a beginner and also someone already into photography

By Taijrani R

Oct 7, 2020

This course is a great introduction to photography. Thank you. My only negative critique is that I feel the professors could have been better lit in the videos.

By Nainika G

Nov 24, 2017

To be very honest, it was amazing! The professors were great and everything was explained very nicely. Also, the projects made the course even more interesting!

By Phan T A

Apr 10, 2016

Dear sir,

can i get the hard copy certificate after finish this capstone project because the course is so interesting for me, i would like to get one as a memory

By Baiba T

Oct 22, 2021

I got deeper understanding of basic photography. Course can be usefull for beginners of photography , as well as for professionals to refresh their knowledge.

By Kevin S Q B

Jan 16, 2021

Fue uno de los mejores cursos que he tomado, me abrió la mente a muchas cosas y me encantó que abarcan lo que es la fotografía desde todos los puntos posibles.

By Pendurthi m

Apr 29, 2020

Thank you sir/mam .

You gave a big chance to prove myself as best as in photography. And thank you for good explanation and giving great advice feedback s.

By Moulya B

Apr 13, 2020

The course was really useful and interesting. I had basic knowledge on Photography. But this course made me learn the technicality and the art of photography.

By Mardohar B B S

May 19, 2020

This course is excellent. It surveys a broad range of basic photography knowledge and skills, and the instructors are warm and humble. I like the atmosphere.

By Jessica P L

May 16, 2020

Excellent course, professor Glinnding teaches really well and he even made me laugh, that helps a lot to keep going with the course. I absolutely enjoyed it.

By SAVANTH C

Feb 7, 2020

Learned so much about professional photography in this course , thanks to the professors who made me believe that this industry also has different dimensions

By Karl K

Apr 11, 2021

This course was just what I needed to start my journey of becoming a better photographer. I got to really look forward to Professor Glendinning's lectures.

By Sofía V d l T A L

Nov 28, 2020

This a great course! The Professors are really passionate about Photography and you can tell they love talking about their photographs. I really enjoyed it!

By Eulysses F

Oct 30, 2020

Great professor with great experiences! This coirse is full of knowledge about photography. The language used was also friendly to beginners in photography.

By Ramya R

May 23, 2020

This course is absolutely valuable one for the beginners. The professors Explained things in an interesting way. Completely enjoyed the learning experience.

By #Rikkyphotography

Jun 18, 2020

That's really good platform for beginners

And I want to give advice the course certificate must have written on that ,a credit which is obtained by student

By Jekaterina

Aug 12, 2017

Thank you for this course. Its make me wish to take my camera, go out and start take pictuses better way and with understanding how to take better pictures

By Lukas H P

Feb 6, 2023

This Course helped me evolved a new perspective in photography composition, by identifying camera setup and capabilities that can change the final result.

By soumia b

Nov 4, 2020

This is a good course for bigenners, it introduces you to principles and concepts that encourage you more to learn and develop your skills in photography.

By Concepción V S M U

Jul 6, 2020

Some lectures are slow and some others seem like a personal presentation, but in general, I did learn new things and feel more comfortable with my camera.

By Warda R

May 5, 2020

You'll be introduced to so many terminologies in this course, all the things you were taking for granted have some theoretical background! I recommend it.

By Walther L

Sep 13, 2022

Great course for a beginning photographer... It helps you really understand the basics of your camera (including smartphone) and photography techniques.

By Arthur B

Jun 25, 2020

It was a really nice experience doing the course. I enjoyed and also learned lots of things for my hopefully future carrer as a photographer ;) Thank you

By Ethel B

Sep 5, 2018

I enjoyed it very much this class. It was good to review many aspects about photography as well as to learn new ones in particular about digital cameras.