Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Healthcare Systems Engineering

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Healthcare Systems Engineering by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
29 ratings
13 reviews

About the Course

Through dynamic video lectures and practical application questions, you will learn about the Foundations of Healthcare Systems Engineering. In this course you will learn about the current lack of synchronized, efficient, and integrated healthcare systems, which are some of the drivers for improvements to healthcare delivery. Also in this course, you will learn about the different types of systems and how they are translated to the healthcare field for appropriate systems engineering process applications, with exemplars. Upon system type articulation and mapping, the systems engineering approach will be introduced to help begin the process of: 1) investigating healthcare challenges, needs, and requirements development; 2) developing system concepts, that are derived from requirements, and then realized in physical and process form; and finally, 3) the establishment of means to verify, validate, and deploy healthcare systems that address the need and meet requirements. Applications and exemplars will be provided....

Top reviews

MF
Nov 1, 2020

Awesome foundational course on healthcare systems engineering, well applied engineering concepts in a health systems perspective.

JJ
Sep 30, 2020

This is useful, especially in the Philippine context. We need a healthcare systems engineering program.

Filter by:

1 - 13 of 13 Reviews for Foundations of Healthcare Systems Engineering

By Qusai A K A A

Oct 2, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, Dr.Matthew went through it in a systematic approach that all clicked rather nicely in module 4, maybe one day this course will lay the foundations of a solid healthcare system in Jordan!

By Kerry W

Nov 14, 2020

Impressively thorough content and technical instruction about systems engineering principles applied to healthcare delivery. I can confidently say that I was provided with new, rich, conceptual knowledge that I can use to elevate my perspective and skillset as a Doctor of Public Health, where systems thinking and systems improvement is a necessity. Thank you, professor Montoya!

By Marvinson S F

Nov 2, 2020

Awesome foundational course on healthcare systems engineering, well applied engineering concepts in a health systems perspective.

By Jasfer J

Oct 1, 2020

This is useful, especially in the Philippine context. We need a healthcare systems engineering program.

By Elias N

Nov 21, 2020

Very interesting course that could help a lot in good Engineering of the Healthcare Systems

By Muhannad S

Nov 18, 2020

Very important course to understand how to think outside the box

By zhao z

Oct 21, 2020

It is a openning, a guide to healthcare systems engineering.

By Deztharesta B

Oct 4, 2020

it is really help me to understanding the system in hospital

By Keith S

Sep 16, 2020

Excellent content and delivery.

By Abishek.M M

Sep 22, 2020

Video .. good

By Ronaldo M

Oct 15, 2020

It was great

By Swaroop S

Oct 20, 2020

nice course

By Manuel H

Nov 13, 2020

From my point of view it focusses too much on general systems engineering and too little on its application to healthcare systems. Yes, there are some examples, but I have missed a global approach. I did learn some interesting concepts but on the whole I felt there was too much repetition along each week's material.

On the technical part, sound quality was at best below average; most of the times it seemed as if the lecturer was coming to and going away from the mic while speaking. I also missed in-lecture quizzes like other Coursera courses have, just to stop and reflect on what had just been taught. In general, I believe there is a lot of room for improvement.

Thanks for offering the course, nonetheless. I think it may show a starting point for people without any knowledge of Systems Engineering.