Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Computer Vision and Image Processing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Computer Vision and Image Processing by IBM

4.3
stars
1,145 ratings

About the Course

Computer Vision is one of the most exciting fields in Machine Learning and AI. It has applications in many industries, such as self-driving cars, robotics, augmented reality, and much more. In this beginner-friendly course, you will understand computer vision and learn about its various applications across many industries. As part of this course, you will utilize Python, Pillow, and OpenCV for basic image processing and perform image classification and object detection. This is a hands-on course and involves several labs and exercises. Labs will combine Jupyter Labs and Computer Vision Learning Studio (CV Studio), a free learning tool for computer vision. CV Studio allows you to upload, train, and test your own custom image classifier and detection models. At the end of the course, you will create your own computer vision web app and deploy it to the Cloud. This course does not require any prior Machine Learning or Computer Vision experience. However, some knowledge of the Python programming language and high school math is necessary....

Top reviews

M

Invalid date

this course need some improvement like update on the third apps (cv studio) also open cloud (so we can train the model in our own IDE) not in jupyter

SK

Invalid date

very informative course which truly helped me learn .The labs service however is very bad but teaching staff is always there to help

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 252 Reviews for Introduction to Computer Vision and Image Processing

By Shubham G

Jun 21, 2024

The IMB service was inaccessible

By andrew l

Nov 10, 2022

I was expecting the course to be focused on machine vision and image processing, however it only has about 1 hour on extremely basic open cv techniques that i could have learnt off youtube. the rest is machine learning and ai (which would be fine if done properly). The ai bits in it are brushed over in the videos, merely mentioned or spoken about with no context, then the labs are completely useless, entire portions of the setting up the models are done with no code annotation (apart from ' Download the files needed to build the model: ', several of the labs dont even work and have errors in them, the online jupyter note books crash every time you load one. the tests are a complete joke, completely pointless questions ('which of these is not classed as machine learning') and one of the tests had the same question twice (out of 5 questions).

IBM and whoever working for them who wrote this should be ashamed. its total crap.

Id be very angry if id paid for it myself.

If you actually want to learn something about machine learning go on youtube, DO NOT BOTHER WITH THIS

By Pedro V

Mar 9, 2022

Worst course so far I've done in Coursera (and I think this one must be my tenth or eleventh). If you are interested in getting any kind of concepts or explanation on why and how computing vision works this course will be completely useless for you.

This is just a collection of pretty superficially explained recipes and I guess its only value is to be able to show off a pointless badge from the not so prestigious IBM (at least in my country Span, and I know what I'm talking about I've been an IT professional for more than tewnty years)

You will not learn anyhing from here but some familiarity with Jupyter notebooks, python and a lot of suffering with that crappy IBM online tool

By Tim D

Aug 26, 2023

One of the worst courses I've taken on Coursera (and I've taken a lot). Feels like it was abandoned years ago, and needs a serious tune-up for 2023.

Course is very high-level. Shows _what's_ happening, but very light on _why_.

The worst part are the labs:

Broken links to images.

Deprecated functions

IBM Lab environment is often broken

Some labs just can't be done because they're too broken.

Too much advertising for IBM's cloud, and it's a negative ad because the experience is awful.

And what is with the ENDLESS Captchas to get into a lab??? How many motorcycles does it take??? I having to click on 30+ images is excessive!

By Panos K

May 23, 2022

Very bad course, if you have a decent knowledge on the subject, then its not for you. On ther other hand if you are novice then you shouldnt start with that. However its greatest problem is that you must use a specific platform (CV studio) to train your models, which doesnt work properly, therefore you have a hard time to finish the course. Although i must congratulate coursera support center who helped me a lot to overcome this issue and claim my badge at the end.

By Matthias L

May 1, 2023

I have no words for this course, but I'll try none the less to muster some with great pain:

1) Content is extremely superficial and important concepts are glossed over. You can argue that this is an "Introduction", but in my opinion it fails to introduce the topic adequately.

2) The course is extremely linked to an IBM platform. Let's be clear, it does not work.

So you are left with a useless course that you cannot complete. And no money back.

By Konstantin V

May 12, 2022

I am very dissapointed with the course. idm's vision.skills.network works very poorly. i reported a few bugs but hadn't received and feedback from their support team. I couldn't complete course assignments with this bugs and after being charged second months fee for the course i had to give up. Unfortunately there is no refund option either. Coursera's suport on this metter is very poor too. waste of money.

By Harufumi N

Oct 9, 2022

CV Studio has too many issues. It did not setup account first and support is not avaiable. You have to search really deep to find customer support and wait for long. CV Studio alone has too many maintenance issues that I could not make any progress for two weeks. I leaned nothing from CV Studio. They need to overhaul the workflow or make CV Studio stable enought to tie up with Coursera.

By elgambitero

Jul 22, 2022

RUSHED, BOTCHED and ABANDONED Disorganized content, errors, erratas, technical failures up to the point of bein unable to deliver the final project. it's been like this for 6 months so it wont get fixed anytime soon or at all. This course has been rushed out the door with little to no human checks to see if it was ok to deliver something like this. This course is not worth 50 dollars.

By Marc J

Mar 23, 2024

the worst ibm course so far, no recommendation! - principles of teaching were completely neglected; almost like they are well known and deliberately not used - advertising of watsonx platform - assignments are unstructured and pointless - almost nothing is explained: "do this, do that..." but the WHY is left out

By Saman A

Mar 19, 2023

The script for the labs were not explained in the class neither the algorithms used. For the final project of the course, you have to use Open CV which had a problem from several months ago in the forum and still no one has resolved it.

By YALUN Z

Jul 20, 2022

I don't think it's a really course. It's just an advertisement for IBM Watson. And even for that, it's a bad one because their platform/tool doesn't really work.

By Reuven A

Jul 13, 2024

Worst course I have ever done on Coursera. I'm sorry to write it, but it all smells like a cheap promotion to IBM products. and nothing much beside it.

By Michael P

Feb 24, 2020

having trouble getting Watson to work. Need to drop the course now and resume later. Going to take another course computer vision just with Python

By John M N

Sep 5, 2022

The tool we are required to use for the final project has been broken for months. As a result, many people are unable to complete the course.

By sandy k

Apr 17, 2020

The course is not well addressed, the videos and material are not constructive and do not help you to proceed with the projects.

By Nerlekar.Varad B

Jul 16, 2020

The final modules seem a lot rushed and many of them didn't cover what is expected in an introductory course.

By Will

Mar 1, 2022

There were several awful technichal issues with IBM Cloud and other external tools, it simply sucked.

By Siobhan S

Jun 19, 2020

Unable to use the computer vision service via IBM Watson - says not available in my region?

By Matt M

Aug 28, 2023

IBM Cloud software is total crap. Took 2 months for them to set up my account.

By Elijah W

Jul 3, 2023

Too high level and didn't give enough background on what each step would be.

By YC

Jan 15, 2022

There are many issues in the practice section. Please correct them properly!

By Noah G

Apr 22, 2021

None of the labs work and staff support is slow and unhelpful

By Eiryo S

Dec 25, 2021

Machine learning tool for this course didn't work properly.

By AJAY.N.V A

Mar 8, 2024

the certificate i got does not have my name