Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Computer Vision and Image Processing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Computer Vision and Image Processing by IBM

4.3
stars
1,150 ratings

About the Course

Computer Vision is one of the most exciting fields in Machine Learning and AI. It has applications in many industries, such as self-driving cars, robotics, augmented reality, and much more. In this beginner-friendly course, you will understand computer vision and learn about its various applications across many industries. As part of this course, you will utilize Python, Pillow, and OpenCV for basic image processing and perform image classification and object detection. This is a hands-on course and involves several labs and exercises. Labs will combine Jupyter Labs and Computer Vision Learning Studio (CV Studio), a free learning tool for computer vision. CV Studio allows you to upload, train, and test your own custom image classifier and detection models. At the end of the course, you will create your own computer vision web app and deploy it to the Cloud. This course does not require any prior Machine Learning or Computer Vision experience. However, some knowledge of the Python programming language and high school math is necessary....

Top reviews

M

Invalid date

this course need some improvement like update on the third apps (cv studio) also open cloud (so we can train the model in our own IDE) not in jupyter

SK

Invalid date

very informative course which truly helped me learn .The labs service however is very bad but teaching staff is always there to help

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 255 Reviews for Introduction to Computer Vision and Image Processing

By Anjum J

Jul 26, 2020

Great learning experience with IBM Watson Computer Vision! Highly recommended for beginners and serious AI developers and architects looking to make a mark in the space and extend their research further.

By Mike O

Nov 13, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. Learned about OpenCV a bit and added to my small knowledge of Python. The ability to know how to train Watson to do optical recognizition will be invaluable.

By Suhas S

Aug 20, 2019

This is one of the best course by IBM. I specifically enjoyed Computer Vision modelling and its related project and also enjoyed the way team put in effort for designing this course.

By Jose L F

Aug 22, 2022

Some of the concepts are not covered enough. The platform was not working properly and it was not possible to finish the final project.

By Taiwo A

Sep 24, 2020

There are too many errors in the capstone section of this course that need to be fixed.

By Akanksha B

Mar 22, 2020

It was an amazing course, however i did face some problems with following the labs.

By Brandon N

Apr 23, 2024

The lectures are very well made. They explain things clearly and contain good information. The projects need work. They need to be made to demand more interactivity from the students. The final project is absolutely horrible. Terrible design. Shame on who made it. I have peer reviewed 7 peoples projects and it is clear they have no idea what to do and I don't blame them. It needs to be completely redone. My suggestion is to do it like a kaggle competition. Give the students a dataset with images and labels and challenge them to develop a CV model to classify the images. Then give them an unlabeled dataset of images and ask them to submit the predictions for all of the unlabeled images in the dataset. Then find the error of their submissions. This could even be automated.

By Sylvain D

Feb 3, 2024

The content was overall ok, but the final assessment is constructed very badly where code is of very little importance and we are mostly tasked to find images on the net.

By Husam A

Nov 26, 2023

There are too many labs, and the final project requires CV studio, which is not working at all

By Bertrand B B

Jul 3, 2023

Total waste of time.

The lessons are informational, the quizzes are aligned to check a rough level of basic understanding.

However the labs have barely any relationship, they are far away more advanced than the lesson: they have no learning purpose, there's nothing to experiment.

The code using open-cv and keras should eb straightforward to illustrate the lessons and experiment: both of these libraries work pretty well. However the purpose of this class is to showcase IBM products wrapped on the top of these free libraries, hence adding a level of complexity which should not exist.

Besides, some code is not working, showing that the labs were not reviewed by the staff.

I stopped at the end of the last week when it was time to "deploy" my app thru the IBM product. I spent zero time working on open-cv or on a CNN or even any other ML... I spent time fighting with the wrapping code and IBM app.

My take away based on the title of the course: "introduction to computer vision and image processing".. yes, that was an introduction to talk about it at the office while sipping a coffee. That's pretty much about it.

By Txomin V

Mar 16, 2023

Not enough focus on Image Detection, Classification and Localization. Many models are already trained and you just evaluate the results. At least, you get to know the names of models that are used and how to execute the code.

The CV Studio platform is broken (which is mandatory to use) and does NOT allow to deploy the model into the Final Exercise Submission. This was VERY sketchy!

Thankfully, the Discussion Forum and Coursera Forum Moderators are very helpful!

Support by IBM on the CV Studio platform is non-existent, the do not even reply, some Lab exercises (2 or 3) are broken and neglected.

Worst course in the learning path so far

By Krzysztof R

Feb 4, 2024

Learning content was good, but making assignments was a nigthmare, I could not set up an IBM Cloud account, becasue they could not verify my payment card, when i asked them to help me, they just responded "We have reviewed your account/transaction and will not be able to offer services. No further information will be disclosed regarding this matter. Any card authorizations will reverse within 24-72 hours depending on the issuing bank.". They ghosted me completely and did not want to help. I do not recommend. It's no wonder that with this kind of customer attitude IBM is far behind the competition today.

By Javed R

Jan 1, 2024

Compared to the other two courses I took this had very poor support. None of the labs worked as the course author/instructor claimed it works. Course material is difficult and there is no one who can answer questions and tell us why the labs are not working the way they should. Unless coursera improves this course I would not recommend any one take this course. You will have to learn on your own.

By Claudia S

Apr 1, 2020

Tha Cognitive Class site is quite unstable and it makes this course a very frustrating one, instead of being challenging and interesting.

There are duplicated items, like reading references and course topics.

The labs have lots of mistakes and one has to waste time browsing through the discussion forums to see if any participant has solved the issues, which its regularly the case.

By Eric H

Feb 22, 2020

As with several other courses in this track, the Jupyter notebooks in the labs NEED to be updated to include correct code. Learners shouldn't have to hunt through the discussion forums to find code to replace inaccurate code in the lab notebooks, considering how painless it would be to for Coursera or its surrogates to simply update the labs.

By Chintan B

Oct 25, 2020

Waste of time and energy.

Please don't enroll for this course.

The Visual Recognition on IBM is not free. There is no Lite plan ,

No proper instructions. Very disappointing and unprofessional

Didn't expect this from the standards of IBM

By Christophe M

Aug 23, 2020

Interesting topic but errors in the labs and in the final project so definitely needs some fine tuning to offer a better student's experience

By AMIT K M

Mar 29, 2020

Very poorly delivered. One of the worst experience and support from Coursera. Felty like wastage of money.

By Hussain K

Sep 20, 2020

Lab instructions were not clear and the final project is a disaster.

By Julio T

Sep 7, 2023

The course is very interesting, they talk in detail about how convolution helps find features in the pictures, you can either choose between using Keras or PyTorch in the final project, which is fantastic, I went the Torch way, because it gives you more control on the final output and shows you the model from the inside. I am planning on doing the Keras route. Only problem I had was with the IBM cloud, since it is a free service, sometimes it is not as responsive as one would wish. The teachers are great, they explain with great detail everything, it is not easy to set up such a complicated subject, for people who might not have the math background to understand what a tensor is and we can use it in computer vision. I am using the resources and method for a personal project that has to do with Art, how can computer vision understand the differences between two artists. This is not just reading, but interpreting, let's see how far I can go. wish me luck!

By Ilayaperumal K

Jan 30, 2023

Everything depends on AI & ML now. Before enrolling in Coursera’s IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate Course, I had zero knowledge about AI & DL. After completing the course, I am able to use these applications properly. It proved to be a total career game-changer.

Coursera has proven to be a wonderful experience. I have taken classes from other organizations, but there’s no comparison to Coursera.

Highly relevant examples were given which made me get a clear idea of the concepts explained. Deeply appreciate Coursera & IBM for designing this course very well.

Kudos to Instructors Dr Joseph Santarcangelo, Ph.D. & Ms. Aije Egwaikhide for providing such a wonderful learning Journey.

By Ian K

Nov 19, 2023

Amazing getting an introduction to IBMs cloud. It will be great to see how various applications are deployed to all industries. Adopting them , and giving them data privacy is also very important , and something IBM is focused on.

By 江浩

Mar 31, 2023

The video explanation was very clear, and it helped me to improve my knowledge in the field of machine learning. I am very grateful for the help provided by the teacher.

By Eshwar A

Nov 15, 2022

I have gained many things from this course which required for my career, but I got a issues with labs they are not loading well so please improve practical labs.

By Mohammad A

Jan 24, 2023

This course contains a lot of information, and need time to process the information and practice on writing python codes. Overall is an excellent course.