Chevron Left
Back to Probabilistic Graphical Models 1: Representation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Probabilistic Graphical Models 1: Representation by Stanford University

4.7
stars
1,292 ratings
286 reviews

About the Course

Probabilistic graphical models (PGMs) are a rich framework for encoding probability distributions over complex domains: joint (multivariate) distributions over large numbers of random variables that interact with each other. These representations sit at the intersection of statistics and computer science, relying on concepts from probability theory, graph algorithms, machine learning, and more. They are the basis for the state-of-the-art methods in a wide variety of applications, such as medical diagnosis, image understanding, speech recognition, natural language processing, and many, many more. They are also a foundational tool in formulating many machine learning problems. This course is the first in a sequence of three. It describes the two basic PGM representations: Bayesian Networks, which rely on a directed graph; and Markov networks, which use an undirected graph. The course discusses both the theoretical properties of these representations as well as their use in practice. The (highly recommended) honors track contains several hands-on assignments on how to represent some real-world problems. The course also presents some important extensions beyond the basic PGM representation, which allow more complex models to be encoded compactly....

Top reviews

ST

Jul 13, 2017

Prof. Koller did a great job communicating difficult material in an accessible manner. Thanks to her for starting Coursera and offering this advanced course so that we can all learn...Kudos!!

CM

Oct 23, 2017

The course was deep, and well-taught. This is not a spoon-feeding course like some others. The only downside were some "mechanical" problems (e.g. code submission didn't work for me).

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 279 Reviews for Probabilistic Graphical Models 1: Representation

By Saikat M

Aug 01, 2017

Not as rigorous as the book, but very good. However, Octave should not be be necessary and is a road block to completing assignments.

By Mohammd K D

Apr 03, 2017

One of the best courses which i visited.

The explanation was so simple and there were many examples which were so helpful for me

By ALBERTO O A

Oct 16, 2018

Really well structured course. The contents are complemented with the book. It is a time consuming course. Totally enjoyed!

By Mike P

Jul 30, 2019

An excellent course, Daphne is one of the top people to be teaching this topic and does an excellent job in presentation.

By Matt M

Oct 22, 2016

Very interesting and challenging course. Now hoping to apply some of the techniques to my Data Science work.

By Anton K

May 07, 2018

This was my first experience with Coursera! Thanks prof. Daphne Koller for this course and Coursera at all.

By Kelvin L

Aug 11, 2017

I guess this is probably the most challenging one in the Coursera. Really Hard but really rewarding course!

By 杨涛

Mar 27, 2019

I think this course is quite useful for my own research, thanks Cousera for providing such a great course.

By HARDIAN L

Jun 23, 2018

Even though this is the most difficult course I have ever taken in Coursera, I really enjoyed the process.

By Satish P

Jul 13, 2020

A fantastic course and quite insightful. Require a strong grounding in probability theory to complete it.

By Johannes C

Apr 19, 2020

necessary and vast toolset for every scientist, data scientist or AI enthusiast. Very clearly explained.

By Alexandru I

Nov 25, 2018

Great course. Interesting concepts to learn, but some of them are too quickly and poorly explained.

By Rajmadhan E

Aug 07, 2017

Awesome material. Could not get this experience by learning the subject ourselves using a textbook.

By Lucian B

Jan 15, 2017

Some more exam questions and variation, including explanations when failing, would be very useful.

By Onur B

Nov 13, 2018

Great course. Recommended to everyone who have interest on bayesian networks and markov models.

By Elvis S

Oct 29, 2016

Great course, looking forward for the following parts. Took it straight after Andrew Ng's one.

By Youwei Z

May 20, 2018

Very informative. The only drawback is lack of rigorous proof and clear definition summaries.

By Umais Z

Aug 23, 2018

Brilliant. Optional Honours content was more challenging than I expected, but in a good way.

By Hao G

Nov 01, 2016

Awesome course! I feel like bayesian method is also very useful for inference in daily life.

By Alfred D

Jul 02, 2020

Was a little difficult in the middle but the last section summary just refreshed all of it

By Stephen F

Feb 26, 2017

This is a course for those interested in advancing probabilistic modeling and computation.

By Una S

Jul 24, 2020

Amazing!!! Loved how Daphne explained really complex materials and made them really easy!

By liang c

Nov 15, 2016

Great course. and it is really a good chance to study it well under Koller's instruction.

By AlexanderV

Mar 09, 2020

Great course, except that the programming assignments are in Matlab rather than Python

By Ning L

Oct 18, 2016

This is a very good course for the foundation knowledge for AI related technologies.