Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Interact with the Operating System by Google

4.7
stars
4,563 ratings
1,068 reviews

About the Course

By the end of this course, you’ll be able to manipulate files and processes on your computer’s operating system. You’ll also have learned about regular expressions -- a very powerful tool for processing text files -- and you’ll get practice using the Linux command line on a virtual machine. And, this might feel like a stretch right now, but you’ll also write a program that processes a bunch of errors in an actual log file and then generates a summary file. That’s a super useful skill for IT Specialists to know. We’ll kick off by exploring how to execute Python locally, and organize and use code across different Python files. We'll then learn how to read and write different types of files, and use subprocesses and input streams. We'll also dive into Bash scripting and regular expressions -- both very powerful tools for anyone working with systems. We'll even touch on automatic testing, which allow us to automate how we check if our code is correct. To finish, we’ll put all this together by using the tools that we’ve acquired to process data and generate automatic reports. We’ll also explain how to set up your own developer environment in your machine. This is a key step in being able to write and deploy powerful automation tools....

Top reviews

AD

Jun 15, 2020

In starting five weeks , all answers were directly provided and week 6 and 7 were very tough. So i suggest to equalize the toughness level in all weeks ,ie, no direct spoon feed nor abrupt toughness

MI

Nov 19, 2020

Great course! I had some previous knowledge, but this was perfect to fill in the gaps. Also, unit testing was completely new to me and will be very useful in future projects. Thanks for making this!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,087 Reviews for Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

By Canaan F

Apr 6, 2020

Some frustrating setbacks, but I guess they're preparing you for the job? Overall good content, and feeling much more confident after finishing the final assignment.

By Tha S

Mar 28, 2020

Code, Reg Exp , Bash scripting, Advising to use Linux,good Instructor, hand on learn by doing things ( should there be more in the quizzes thou).

I TOTALLY RECOMMEND

By Mack S

Apr 1, 2020

This is an excellent course I leant a lot in just a few hours. Now I can comfortably use Python on both Windows and Linux. I was fun leaning bash scripting as well.

By Gabriel M

Apr 13, 2020

This was a marvelous course, well designed and most importantly using real world examples that will get your attention throughout the whole course. Recommended!!

By Guillermo R

Nov 14, 2020

Muy buen curso lo recomiendo mucho, el ingles usado es muy sencillo. Lleva mucho esfuerzo programar en python con linux es bastante trabajoso, pero vale la pena

By Syed A H

Nov 14, 2020

This Course Really teaches you a lot !

about Python and Bash and things you did not know these could do .The course works for the Less Time Learn Fast Scenario!

By Vijai K S

Sep 12, 2020

Amazing course. Eventhough its a beginner course, assignments are amazing enough to test you on every aspect of the course. A must do for anyone starting out.

By Jhon J A H

Jan 19, 2022

It is a excellent course, You will learn how to interact with the operating system and also how to analyze logs and automate tasks in Linux. Amazing course!!

By Jake M

Sep 11, 2021

Great course packed with information and reference material, really makes you work. Gained a wonderful sense of achievement and feel armed for new challenges

By Ronaldo L

Feb 15, 2022

Thank you Roger for the knowledge!Really enjoted particularly working with the terminal. Gained a lot of useful skills that need to perfect for future use.

By Jitesh S

May 7, 2020

This course some of the much-needed tools and techniques that should be in the toolbox of everyone who is in the field of writing and developing software.

By Larry M

Mar 29, 2020

I believe that this course definitely contributes to a person being able to offer value to any size IT organization or their own personal computing needs.

By Anubhav

Jul 25, 2020

great course with lots of detailed knowledge, just enough to set you on the path from where you can think of different strategies to attack your problem.

By 王暐鳴

Oct 5, 2021

It's a great experience to accomplish automation with Bash and Python. Thanks for your the guidance and fruitful learning materials, I'll keep learning~

By Antonio M M

Dec 27, 2020

This course is very complex and has several kind of topics, it's really fun and challenging. Take for sure that you will learn something completely new.

By Co N

Apr 21, 2020

Super informative and the course provides a guideline to tackle an issue. It really pushes me to learn more than I expected. Thanks a lot for the course

By Stela H U

Nov 20, 2021

Gives you a different perspective on how computers work. Shows the "behind the scenes" that conducts our OS. Interesting and challenging. I recommend!

By Md S

Jan 25, 2021

Learnt a whole lot of new things, It was quite overwhelming at first but watching video twice and scrolling through web really helped get thing clearer

By Nikunj P

Jun 29, 2020

Amazing course! Definitely acquired a LOT of skills. I'm thankful to the course instructor, Google and Coursera for providing me with this opportunity.

By Ernesto P L R

Jul 7, 2020

Good content and project. Some Exams were "too" assisted almost providing direct answer to the problem. Only the final project was really challenging.

By Rhiddhi P D

Jun 19, 2020

This was the greatest course ever done by me. Please, would you make a course on your new programming language "Flutter" too, thats a request. THANKS

By Bimarsha K

Jun 4, 2020

The course was great and I am extremlypleased with the way of explaining things of the tutor.He is the best tutor I have ever seen in online courses.

By Farhan F

Mar 14, 2022

T​his course is challengging but i try try and try, and i passed it, and it makes me to learning Python to Interact with Operating System, thank you

By Waldo M

Dec 12, 2021

Excelente curso, muy interesante la aplicación de expresiones regulares. La evaluación final sobre procesamiento de logs, es un desafío interesante.

By ANGELO C D N V

Oct 2, 2020

An amazing, well thought and perfectly planned course. Awesome tools, nice videos and real challenges. The best course I`ve done so far in coursera.