Chevron Left
Back to Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
517 ratings
125 reviews

About the Course

This course offers an introduction to social impact strategy and social entrepreneurship, including key concepts, an overview of the field, and tools to get started as a changemaker. Students will learn how to innovate and design new ideas and new organizational forms to implement those ideas. Students who take this course will be better prepared to launch social impact organizations of their own invention. By moving through four stages, Define, Design, Pilot, and Scale, students will turn their passion for changing the world into concrete plans for launching a nonprofit or for-profit venture designed to achieve a social goal. This course will allow students to systematically think through problems; develop and test an innovative solution; assess risk, competition, and performance; and spread impact in a way that is financially sustainable. Students who complete the course become eligible to apply for an in-person educational experience, called the Global Social Impact House. GSIH is a seven-day residential program that provides fellows with the tools, community and training they need to advance their ventures. Workshops are customized to the needs of fellows and explore advanced concepts in business models, design thinking and leadership. The program is also designed to help fellows build meaningful, global connections while living together in an inspirational host location. For more information on the Global Social Impact House, please visit: socialimpactstrategy.org/residential/gsih...

Top reviews

LH

May 30, 2017

Very informative with lots of practical touch points and examples! I genuinely enjoyed taking part in this online course and it has significantly shaped my own research for my master's degree.

A

Nov 02, 2017

Wonderful!!! A great way to organize your thoughts and make your plan more efficient if you want to make a social impact. Thanks Coursera for offering this great tool for social entrepreneurs!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 123 Reviews for Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators

By Tamara W

Nov 12, 2019

Excellent course for anyone planning to start a nonprofit or wanting to think more strategically about an existing nonprofit. Lessons are well-organized, concise, and informative.

By Sumit

Dec 30, 2016

In-depth knowledge of social impact with relevant examples and handy tools and frameworks. The course provided structure to my approach towards social impact. Highly recommended.

By CHOON H G

Feb 26, 2017

Great course to gain an insight of the world of social entrepreneurship; gives you a solid framework to get your social enterprise started on the right footing. thanks

By Kamau M

Jul 26, 2017

It gave me a very in-depth understanding of What social Entrepreneurship is and the importance of building a Business Model to a Social Enterprise for sustainability.

By Lenore M

Nov 05, 2017

Excellent course with thorough examples and tangible tools to adopt and implement in one's own practice. Absolutely worth the time investment. Highly recommended.

By VK

Feb 10, 2020

This course provides a solid methodology for entering the social impact space. It gave me a sense of which consulting tools are effective in this environment.

By Srinivas K M

Jul 19, 2017

A clear and concise and easy to understand framework that sets you thinking and gets you to action ,and towards immediate implementation of the concepts

By Elen G C d S

Mar 13, 2019

The lectures are very helpful. In this course I was able to find relevante information that is guiding me to start my social entrepreneurship venture.

By Nitin K D

Nov 25, 2016

This course is a wonderful tool for social innovations to start with. Key concepts are explained in a very, clear innovative and well-designed way.

By Massa S B

Nov 16, 2019

Excellant content and amazing resource for any social entrepreneur unsure of the next steps to take to grow and change the world. Thank you all!

By Mycal L

Jun 22, 2019

Very good instruction. Really liked the way the instructors can differentiate between the spectrum of non-profits and for profit social venture.

By Frederic H

Mar 19, 2018

Great content, and clear delivery of the content. The illustration of the concept through the stories of two entrepreneurs is also very useful.

By SABINA L

Sep 27, 2019

this course was very useful during the setting up of my social enterprise, it gave me knowledge and ideas on how to set up a social enterprise

By Bohdan H

Nov 06, 2017

Love Mr. Frumkin's style of lecturing. It helped me a lot with the first stages of converting my existing nonprofit into a social enterprise

By Puranjay M

Jul 30, 2017

A great course with great visual aids to get you started on the basics of what you need to be thinking in relation to social enterprises.

By JESSIE Q

Jun 17, 2017

Well structured; detailed; backed with examples and readings (many free).

This is by far one of the best courses on business on Coursera.

By Evandro P V F

Aug 06, 2017

It is really good course. Some concepts are generally for all kind organizations. Hope new courses are going up about the same subject.

By Joe O

Sep 20, 2019

Fantastic course. It gave me a greater understanding of social enterprises and will enable me to launch my own social enterprise

By Lizelle V F

Jan 17, 2017

The material was easy to understand and structured. Very informative for a beginner who wants to become a social entrepreneur.

By Deleted A

Jul 09, 2017

Introductory course. Instructor and course videos are well made. Will help to embark on a journey of Social Entrepreneurship.

By Alma D R S

Oct 22, 2019

Muy bueno, contiene herramientas y ejemplos que evidencian la relevancia de la fase de diseño de un emprendimiento social.

By Sheena A

Oct 25, 2017

This course has been really helpful to give the basics and set the foundation on your dream Social Enterprise journey. :)

By Tulika S

Mar 27, 2017

Highly recommend. Focused, practical and made me think. I have started applying concepts and tools right away. Thank you.

By Giancarlo C

Dec 17, 2018

Really great course. The material is full of pratical knowledge, applicable to your enterprise's planning and structure.

By Saksham J

Mar 06, 2018

This course helped me to grow my personality holistically and I was able to know about the subject in a better way.