Chevron Left
Back to Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
1,296 ratings

About the Course

This course offers an introduction to social impact strategy and social entrepreneurship, including key concepts, an overview of the field, and tools to get started as a changemaker. Students will learn how to innovate and design new ideas and new organizational forms to implement those ideas. Students who take this course will be better prepared to launch social impact organizations of their own invention. By moving through four stages, Define, Design, Pilot, and Scale, students will turn their passion for changing the world into concrete plans for launching a nonprofit or for-profit venture designed to achieve a social goal. This course will allow students to systematically think through problems; develop and test an innovative solution; assess risk, competition, and performance; and spread impact in a way that is financially sustainable. Students who complete the course become eligible to apply for an in-person educational experience, called the Global Social Impact House. GSIH is a seven-day residential program that provides fellows with the tools, community and training they need to advance their ventures. Workshops are customized to the needs of fellows and explore advanced concepts in business models, design thinking and leadership. The program is also designed to help fellows build meaningful, global connections while living together in an inspirational host location. For more information on the Global Social Impact House, please visit: https://csis.upenn.edu/residential-program/gsih/...

Top reviews

DA

Invalid date

This course has broaden my mind in innovation as a means of solving social problems, lecturer is so good. I recommend it for any one interested in social impact and entrepreneurship.

BZ

Invalid date

This course has helped better my understanding of social entrepreneurship as well as help me figure out my next steps towards furthering my pursuits in the social entrepreneurship world.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 361 Reviews for Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators

By Clara

Feb 27, 2021

I really enjoyed the course and it succintly introduced to me all the tools a social entrepreneur requires to build up a social enterprise. The quizzes were slightly strange in the way the points were assigned to each question, which is also a comment I read before starting the course, but that forced me to retake them until I fully understood. Overall, I am really grateful for this unique, insightful, and empowering course!

By Eileen C L

Nov 20, 2020

Excellent overview and in-depth exploration of the topic! I appreciated the concrete tools and hands-on, step-by-step approach given to us, and the examples covered helped illustrate the concepts. Instructors were excellent--enthusiastic about the subject material and very adept at communicating it through slides, visuals and lecture content. I will be coming back to this course material many times as I pursue my ideas!!

By Pranjal

Apr 5, 2020

Amazing, simple and to the point. A must for anyone who is thinking of creating a social impact. By the time you complete this course you will be very clear on the steps you need to take for your venture to take-off. For those who have a social enterprise or are working with one will get to know how you can evaluate and become more effective in creating the social impact. Thank you Dr. Peter Frumkin for creating this course

By Marilynn L

Apr 11, 2020

This course was able to provide a clear understanding of the sector selection of a business and its importance. The modules were easy and to the point. The examples highlighted the key elements to assist on future business ventures. I would highly recommend this class to all entrepreneurs and innovators who have a desire to take their ideas and move forward in their entrepreneurial journey.

By Audra E

Jun 25, 2020

The course started off slow in the first week, covering the basics of social enterprises - but weeks 2-4 were packed full of great tools, frameworks, and guidelines that are practical in helping you define, design, pilot and scale your social impact organization. I'm duly impressed by the course, and will come back to it for reference to help me build my own social impact org. Thank you!

By Midwest W

Sep 13, 2017

Loved this course so much. If you are in any way thinking about starting any, repeat, any, business that helps society in any way, please consider taking this course. It definitely helps you in your initial stages - informing you of important considerations, questions and about tools you can use. You'll be much better prepared when starting your business.

By Peu A

Jul 18, 2019

This is one of the most useful courses I have taken with Coursera. Thank you for this opportunity with financial aid. It's highly recommended for people who sees themselves in the arena of social enterprise. This course will not make you a business plan or give you funds but surely frame your thought process to plan your actions throughout the journey

By Maritza E A R

Nov 28, 2016

I totally recomend this course, the professors are well prepared and is an honor learn from them and from your classmates. All the institutions related to this course expose very accurate cases. I encourage to those who want to make an impact in their community and colaborate to achieve and economic development in the region, to take this course.

By Christina E

Oct 18, 2020

This was a fantastic course for those thinking about starting their own social enterprise with no experience in the field of entrepreneurship. The course walks you through the essential things that need to be done and thought of before launching the pilot of your project and uses great examples that will help you define and design how to start.

By Alaa K

Apr 2, 2024

As someone who stimbled upon the concept of social entrepreneurship by chance, I decided to enroll in this course out of curiosity. Throughout the course, I learnt a lot about social entrepreneurship, as well as various tools and ideas that are cross-disciplinary, such as logic model, business model, and competitive analysis, among others.

By Damalie M

Jan 18, 2021

The course materials, mode of delivery and flexibility of course are great.

However there is no support or someone to contact incase one is stuck. I have been trying to make payment (upgrade to certificate) for this course and failed. Payment says contact Coursera but I have failed to contact anyone for help. Only referred to the FAQs.

By Ana P P H

Mar 23, 2020

Excelente en todos los sentidos, práctico, didáctico, conciso y muy interesante. El profesor es excelente, enseña a través de ejemplos y es muy sencillo al hablar sin perder la profundidad del tema. Lo recomiendo tanto si estás emprendiendo un negocio social como si estás en el medio social y te gustaría aprender más sobre el tema.

By Diego S

Dec 2, 2019

Great content and very good quizzes that sharpen your understanding of the material. Inspiring and thorough overview of social impact strategies and social entrepreneurship as a whole! Could do with more of the history and background of the concepts and field in general, just to round out the knowledge of individuals in the field.

By Jordy L

Apr 3, 2020

I will encourage any person and/or entrepreneurs with social values to take this course, it is a simple guide to understand with more detail the pros and cons of becoming and Social Innovator. it is an enormous challenge to face these days, however, it worth the time and effort to become a better entrepreneur and person.

By Nigel A

Jan 4, 2018

It was great studying this course being taught by Uni. of Pennsylvania, it has really helped me realize social challenges and how to develop solutions in solving them. I learned how to develop a mind map, an empathy map and a road map for setting up a social organization in solving social issues in my community.

By Patricia H

Jun 24, 2024

I gained an understanding of social impact, social enterprise organizations, logic models, social return on investments, measuring impact, and scaling, among other topics. This course enabled me to comprehend my role in a social enterprise organization and provided me with the essential tools to use effectively

By Melissa M

Jul 16, 2017

Great opportunity to learn the tools necessary to pre-launch and launch my social enterprise. It was thorough in all aspects to give me the opportunity to utilize the tools given for current for future projects. Truly enjoyed the course and the ability to go at your own pace.

By Edwart A C

Jun 22, 2018

It was a fantastic course and I learnt many interesting issues related with entrepeunership and social impact measuring. I did not have any idea about social enterprices, but this course helped me to learn many tools for my research about impact in vulnerable communities

By Victoria H

Jul 4, 2023

This course was great, with good learning content, presentations, videos and graphs without being overwhelming. The good language used, and the good cadence kept me interested. I'd recommend this course to anyone interested in beginning their own innovation.

By Kenyatta D B

Apr 22, 2020

This course has given me the foundation I need to decide if I am headed in the right direction with my social entrepreneurship idea. I have learned the critical questions to ask throughout the process and how to partner with others to make my idea a success.

By James C

May 2, 2020

An amazing course and easily understood by people at all levels. I'm personally just a high school student, but the explanations in the course are very clear. I will definitely be applying the skills I have learnt through this course to my charity project.

By Rachel S T G

Apr 18, 2021

Really good for a beginner, especially in expanding your mind in learning all about the different models and how there is no one fixed strategy. It is really applicable as well and I am excited to use what I learned to real life. Thank you so much!

By Anita T

Mar 30, 2023

This is a great course. It is very informative and practical. I was specifically drawn to the business examples used throughout the lessons - it helped me extend my knowledge of the business landscape and its notable entrepreneurs and innovations.

By Talia D

Jul 8, 2021

I really enjoyed learning this information and I found it very useful. As a beginner in social entrepreneurship, impact, and innovation, this course definitely opened my eyes to this area and I will definitely be keeping my notes for the future.