Chevron Left
Back to Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
491 ratings
114 reviews

About the Course

This course offers an introduction to social impact strategy and social entrepreneurship, including key concepts, an overview of the field, and tools to get started as a changemaker. Students will learn how to innovate and design new ideas and new organizational forms to implement those ideas. Students who take this course will be better prepared to launch social impact organizations of their own invention. By moving through four stages, Define, Design, Pilot, and Scale, students will turn their passion for changing the world into concrete plans for launching a nonprofit or for-profit venture designed to achieve a social goal. This course will allow students to systematically think through problems; develop and test an innovative solution; assess risk, competition, and performance; and spread impact in a way that is financially sustainable. Students who complete the course become eligible to apply for an in-person educational experience, called the Global Social Impact House. GSIH is a seven-day residential program that provides fellows with the tools, community and training they need to advance their ventures. Workshops are customized to the needs of fellows and explore advanced concepts in business models, design thinking and leadership. The program is also designed to help fellows build meaningful, global connections while living together in an inspirational host location. For more information on the Global Social Impact House, please visit: socialimpactstrategy.org/residential/gsih...

Top reviews

LH

May 30, 2017

Very informative with lots of practical touch points and examples! I genuinely enjoyed taking part in this online course and it has significantly shaped my own research for my master's degree.

A

Nov 02, 2017

Wonderful!!! A great way to organize your thoughts and make your plan more efficient if you want to make a social impact. Thanks Coursera for offering this great tool for social entrepreneurs!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 113 Reviews for Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators

By Mohit S

Nov 18, 2016

Valuable, Updated, Insightful

By jabulani m

Nov 17, 2017

love it and would go over the training videos over and over, it was just the beginning

By Miguel G

Aug 08, 2017

The course has broadened my social innovative scope and guided me on the steps needed to create ideas, manage progress, and visualize a clear path. The lectures have great information that is well explained and the complement papers are useful.

By Lillian S

Mar 01, 2018

Thank you for the well designed course and the opportunity to learn more about social innovation!

By Umesh K

Nov 15, 2017

great course , very informative and a benchmark course for social entrepreneurs ,

By María d C O R

Aug 05, 2017

Excelente curso, gracias a Peter Frumkin por la valiosa orientación brindada.

By Abbhilash M

Apr 23, 2017

It was a very effective course. I loved that the videos were made short and precise. This has helped me to start my social enterprise. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is planning to start their own social enterprise.

By Kamau M

Jul 26, 2017

It gave me a very in-depth understanding of What social Entrepreneurship is and the importance of building a Business Model to a Social Enterprise for sustainability.

By David H

Dec 24, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, and learned a tremendous amount, thank you very much!

By Lea H

May 30, 2017

Very informative with lots of practical touch points and examples! I genuinely enjoyed taking part in this online course and it has significantly shaped my own research for my master's degree.

By Arham P J

Jan 20, 2017

I

By Mikko J

Oct 31, 2016

Excellent overview with the necessary detail. Good, progressively deepening selection of optional readings.

By Nilanjan D

Jul 09, 2017

Introductory course. Instructor and course videos are well made. Will help to embark on a journey of Social Entrepreneurship.

By JESSIE Q

Jun 17, 2017

Well structured; detailed; backed with examples and readings (many free).

This is by far one of the best courses on business on Coursera.

By Tulika S

Mar 27, 2017

Highly recommend. Focused, practical and made me think. I have started applying concepts and tools right away. Thank you.

By Jarred M

Jun 13, 2017

Practical, thought provoking and concise- much appreciated...

By Guilherme F

Nov 22, 2016

Great introductory course for those who want to understand the social entrepreneurship world.

By Srinivas K M

Jul 19, 2017

A clear and concise and easy to understand framework that sets you thinking and gets you to action ,and towards immediate implementation of the concepts

By Samuel A

Jun 24, 2017

This is a course I would recommend to anyone passionate about social impact. It equips you with the essential tools you need as a social entrepreneur to spearhead initiatives that are healthy and sustainable!

By Puranjay M

Jul 30, 2017

A great course with great visual aids to get you started on the basics of what you need to be thinking in relation to social enterprises.

By William W L

Oct 31, 2017

Excellent course. Highly recommend it to

By Gaby

Jul 17, 2017

Good intro into the social enterprise world.

By Jos D

Jun 12, 2017

Excellent course!

By Ada D

Nov 02, 2017

Wonderful!!! A great way to organize your thoughts and make your plan more efficient if you want to make a social impact. Thanks Coursera for offering this great tool for social entrepreneurs!

By Tanya K S

Sep 13, 2017

Loved this course so much. If you are in any way thinking about starting any, repeat, any, business that helps society in any way, please consider taking this course. It definitely helps you in your initial stages - informing you of important considerations, questions and about tools you can use. You'll be much better prepared when starting your business.