Chevron Left
Back to Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
1,299 ratings

About the Course

This course offers an introduction to social impact strategy and social entrepreneurship, including key concepts, an overview of the field, and tools to get started as a changemaker. Students will learn how to innovate and design new ideas and new organizational forms to implement those ideas. Students who take this course will be better prepared to launch social impact organizations of their own invention. By moving through four stages, Define, Design, Pilot, and Scale, students will turn their passion for changing the world into concrete plans for launching a nonprofit or for-profit venture designed to achieve a social goal. This course will allow students to systematically think through problems; develop and test an innovative solution; assess risk, competition, and performance; and spread impact in a way that is financially sustainable. Students who complete the course become eligible to apply for an in-person educational experience, called the Global Social Impact House. GSIH is a seven-day residential program that provides fellows with the tools, community and training they need to advance their ventures. Workshops are customized to the needs of fellows and explore advanced concepts in business models, design thinking and leadership. The program is also designed to help fellows build meaningful, global connections while living together in an inspirational host location. For more information on the Global Social Impact House, please visit: https://csis.upenn.edu/residential-program/gsih/...

Top reviews

DA

Invalid date

This course has broaden my mind in innovation as a means of solving social problems, lecturer is so good. I recommend it for any one interested in social impact and entrepreneurship.

BZ

Invalid date

This course has helped better my understanding of social entrepreneurship as well as help me figure out my next steps towards furthering my pursuits in the social entrepreneurship world.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 362 Reviews for Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators

By Miguel G

Aug 8, 2017

The course has broadened my social innovative scope and guided me on the steps needed to create ideas, manage progress, and visualize a clear path. The lectures have great information that is well explained and the complement papers are useful.

By Mia L

Sep 21, 2022

This was an amazing introductory course to Social Impact Strategy. It provided lessons that beginners can turn into actionable steps. The content can also be applied to many different aspects of business development. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

By Donna-Luisa E

Oct 13, 2020

Excellent course with very detailed information and discussions on the way forward as a Social Entrepreneur. The additional resources offered are a big value added feature of the course. Would encourage this course for entrepreneurs.

By Abbhilash M

Apr 23, 2017

It was a very effective course. I loved that the videos were made short and precise. This has helped me to start my social enterprise. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is planning to start their own social enterprise.

By Gary M

May 11, 2020

A few of the videos were a bit to fast, or the professor spoke a bit too quickly and had to go back, in particular in week 4, to re-examine the videos. But all in all, a great way to get an understanding of Social Impact.

By Gary J

Jul 28, 2020

This course was outstanding! I learnt all about being a social innovator, entrepreneurship, social enterprise and social impact strategy. I can't thank Peter and Suzi enough. I was a real game changer and life enhancing.

By Sasi V

May 7, 2020

Able to get innovative ideas in entrepreneurship and plan it strategically so that it will meet social goal and sustainability. A valuable course to enroll by social activists and young entrepreneurs to plan a business.

By Geert H

Oct 2, 2022

Very insightful course not only valuable for social entrepreneurs. Most of the lessons learned in this course are pertinent for every kind of entrepreneur in the network society. The title clearly reflects this fact.

By 蔡一帆

Mar 18, 2021

The course is extremely helpful for building up my all-around capacity in social entrepreneurship. It would be more helpful if the professor could give us more guidance on what set of abilities we should enhance.

By Clever Z

Apr 10, 2023

What an unprecedented time of learning in the history of Education. Professors Frumkin and Suzi delivered and articulated this course with absolute clarity. This has sharpened me further and I am truly grateful.

By Adryann G

May 25, 2020

This course is so enlightening and practical. The lessons are applicable for everyone. Whether you're just starting out, or have been doing it for years, you will definitely be edified by this course. AWESOME!

By JeanLeeUCL

Mar 20, 2022

This is a very interesting and inspiring course. The key knowledge is lectured with two concrete cases, making the content easy to follow, making the course enjoyable yet informative. Thank you for sharing.

By Whitney I

Oct 25, 2021

Very well organized. The course content was clear and direct. The examples given helped provide context for better understanding. Great for working professionals to get an overview of Social Entrepreneurship.

By Samuel A

Jun 24, 2017

This is a course I would recommend to anyone passionate about social impact. It equips you with the essential tools you need as a social entrepreneur to spearhead initiatives that are healthy and sustainable!

By Vidya A

Sep 30, 2018

This was a fantastic course! I truly enjoyed the easy-to-watch video format, in 2-10min segments. The content served as a great fundamental to social impact, with clear definitions and examples.

Thank you!

By Laura C

Jan 22, 2018

Thank you for the course, it is great refresher esp for me who is embarking in the Social Entrepreneurship journey. Great & informative course esp. after leaving the academic world for more than a decade

By Patricia M

Jul 6, 2021

Muy interesante, ofrece muchas herramientas sencillas de aplicar que facilitan los procesos de estructuración de un emprendimiento social. Importante traducirlo para que pueda llegar al publico hispano.

By Cristina N

Jun 9, 2020

Very good intro to fundamentals and basic concepts. Good mix of concepts and examples. Manageable portions of each topic. I also found diagrams used in the lectures easy to follow, practical and useful.

By Faye M

Jun 9, 2020

I have no regrets enrolling at this course. My learnings here are truly foundational, makes me more excited to start. I hope I'll be able to apply the teachings here. So useful for a beginner like me.

By Ishan M

Apr 18, 2020

It has been an excellent journey along with coco and Carlos. The illustrations at the end of the lesson really help.

A small suggestion: There are some lectures that need a slight change in the title.

By Kirti D

Dec 4, 2022

It is a very interesting and insightful course. Thanks to the Professors for presenting the content with examples in a simple, understandable and engaging way. I will highly recommend it to all.

By Amcelle I

Mar 31, 2020

I greatly appreciated this kind of educational platform (Coursera in partnership with various Universities) which can reach millions of people who are aspired to learn in a broader perspective.

By SUMAN

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent course for beginners . Gives a broad overview of the development sector strategy with the focus on idea generation, innovation , sustainability , scalability and business models .

By Nisa N

Aug 14, 2020

I really enjoy this course even though i took times to understand but at least i got something beneficial regarding business organization. Thank you so much for the clear and good videos.