Chevron Left
Back to Distributed Computing with Spark SQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Distributed Computing with Spark SQL by University of California, Davis

4.5
stars
455 ratings
109 reviews

About the Course

This course is all about big data. It’s for students with SQL experience that want to take the next step on their data journey by learning distributed computing using Apache Spark. Students will gain a thorough understanding of this open-source standard for working with large datasets. Students will gain an understanding of the fundamentals of data analysis using SQL on Spark, setting the foundation for how to combine data with advanced analytics at scale and in production environments. The four modules build on one another and by the end of the course you will understand: the Spark architecture, queries within Spark, common ways to optimize Spark SQL, and how to build reliable data pipelines. The first module introduces Spark and the Databricks environment including how Spark distributes computation and Spark SQL. Module 2 covers the core concepts of Spark such as storage vs. compute, caching, partitions, and troubleshooting performance issues via the Spark UI. It also covers new features in Apache Spark 3.x such as Adaptive Query Execution. The third module focuses on Engineering Data Pipelines including connecting to databases, schemas and data types, file formats, and writing reliable data. The final module covers data lakes, data warehouses, and lakehouses. Students build production grade data pipelines by combining Spark with the open-source project Delta Lake. By the end of this course, students will hone their SQL and distributed computing skills to become more adept at advanced analysis and to set the stage for transitioning to more advanced analytics as Data Scientists....

Top reviews

GT

Jun 9, 2020

I highly recommend this course for anyone in the BI and Data space interested in learning Spark. The course gives an easy to understand to the framework and applicable hands on examples.

KS

May 13, 2020

Amazing course that really cuts through the fundamentals of using distributed computing power to analyze and manipulate data. Well organised structure on fundamentals

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 112 Reviews for Distributed Computing with Spark SQL

By oisin d

Mar 26, 2020

Great course, really well taught and delivered. Only thing I would say is you would really need knowledge of python to really understand this course 100%

By Jamrus R

Mar 17, 2022

A​ good introduction to Spark SQL.

A​ pity that the course assignment was not very challenging but more focused on understanding of Spark itself.

By Nilupa R

Nov 1, 2020

I loved engaging in this course. It is concise course that teaches more on spark sql and machine learning capabilities in understandable manner.

By Isaac T

Feb 23, 2020

Great introduction to Spark SQL and ML Flow. I love that they give extra resources if you want to learn more. It was a fun learning journey.

By Metodi S

Nov 14, 2020

This was one of the best courses I've taken on Coursera. It represents a perfect blend of easy to understand Spark, Python and ML.

By scott j

Aug 20, 2020

Great course to learn more in depth about Apache Spark. Good instructors and course content. Thanks UC Davis and Coursera!

By Tina M

Apr 26, 2020

The information was very beneficial, and the ability to use data bricks

helped put into practice the information learned.

By Ella B

Feb 12, 2021

Great course! I loved the exercises, they were very helpful and I learned a lot about Spark and ML from this course.

By GANESH H

Jul 2, 2020

Good course for understanding the distributed computing and how the machine learning is down in spark environment.

By Harley C

Sep 23, 2020

Presented excellently. Great content. I learnt a lot about Spark from this, and a bit more SQL too.

By Isaias D C A

Oct 13, 2021

This module help us in practice cases to learn more of the distributed computing for data scient

By Tejas M

Apr 19, 2020

It is a nice experience to learn and a great course to understand the spark's core architecture.

By Thulasitharan G

Jun 6, 2021

Good , but ML is not necessary. Not all of them who take this course will be an Data scientist

By Kaido K

Sep 6, 2020

Everything worked perfectly. Quizes covered video topics and worksheets worked as described.

By Fenil P

May 7, 2020

kudos to the instructor who teach this course by clearing all the concepts of spark sql:)

By Andres F V

Sep 10, 2021

Good material, instructor really make an effort to explain in deep topics and materials

By Sébastien C

Jul 10, 2020

Very well structured and easy to follow. The assignements are where we lear the most!

By Roberto M

Nov 22, 2021

excellent course, from the basic to the complex wich was explained in an high level

By Prateek d

Jul 23, 2020

I literally loved this course it has helped me learn a lot was up to my expectation

By Alejandro G

Apr 1, 2021

Great course I learned a lot of applicable techniques that I will need for sure

By SHASHANK S

Jul 14, 2020

Should have explained all parts of syntax when they were used in the queries.

By Ishan B H

Oct 11, 2020

It gives a big picture regarding use cases with practical examples.

By Mageshwari S (

Sep 30, 2020

Doing Assignments with theoretical concepts were great learning...

By Yifei H

Jul 26, 2020

Practical. Easy to follow. High ROI for the time investment.

By Derek H

Sep 12, 2021

G​reat course, I feel like I learned a lot. Great teachers.