Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Web Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Web Development by University of California, Davis

4.6
507 ratings
146 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to start you on a path toward future studies in web development and design, no matter how little experience or technical knowledge you currently have. The web is a very big place, and if you are the typical internet user, you probably visit several websites every day, whether for business, entertainment or education. But have you ever wondered how these websites actually work? How are they built? How do browsers, computers, and mobile devices interact with the web? What skills are necessary to build a website? With almost 1 billion websites now on the internet, the answers to these questions could be your first step toward a better understanding of the internet and developing a new set of internet skills. By the end of this course you’ll be able to describe the structure and functionality of the world wide web, create dynamic web pages using a combination of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, apply essential programming language concepts when creating HTML forms, select an appropriate web hosting service, and publish your webpages for the world to see. Finally, you’ll be able to develop a working model for creating your own personal or business websites in the future and be fully prepared to take the next step in a more advanced web development or design course or specialization....

Top reviews

AB

Jul 19, 2019

It`s a fantastic course for a beginner. I could feel the effort that was put into to make sure people understood. Thank you Coursera, when I become one the greatest, I will remember this beginning.

V

Sep 05, 2019

Good to learn about Web Development.\n\nIt helped me a lot for learning and developing a site.\n\nI like this course and I'll prefer those to choose this course who want to become a web developer.

Filter by:

126 - 142 of 142 Reviews for Introduction to Web Development

By HImanshu n

May 22, 2017

the course helped me a lot in understanding the topic.

this course is a good start, if you want to become a web developer.

By Щуцкий М А

Jul 09, 2017

It was interesting and useful.

By CHAU M

May 27, 2019

I think the course is a good beginning. It helps me have a good basic.

By Shwetanshu S

Jul 04, 2019

Really Helpful for beginners

By M. K p

Jul 26, 2019

my quizzes are locked please open the quizzes

By Devansh K

Jul 28, 2019

Very helpful course

By Kiran P

Sep 03, 2019

It was great. Now i am interested in looking up more about web development. Thank you!

By kshitij r

Sep 16, 2019

this course is awesome and the teachers are great but the course should be remade

By Deepak k

Sep 18, 2019

very nice

By Ahmed A

Jun 26, 2017

I wish had money enough to afford this course , i reached module 3 and i got much knowledge about how websites work and i intend to finish this course as fast as i can

By Milos M

Jun 17, 2017

This course is good. It is very nice introduction to web development. What I like the most is that there are peer reviews on assignments. I think that peer review is really great thing and really helps on classes like this one. The only downside of this course is that course is really basic. Maybe some more advanced things could be added to the course.

By Rodrique v d H

Nov 16, 2016

n

By Devin C

May 13, 2019

When you consider the extremely reasonable price attached to this course I would say the curriculum and outcomes where entirely worthwhile and deserving of a positive review. However - are their more in depth Introductory Web Development courses both online & in class that will better prepare you for the field? Undoubtedly.

Once again - the instructor and course description do emphasize the brevity and introductory nature of the course. Take this course if you are undecided about in class or more in depth online studies in this field.

www.kanatamedia.com

By Singh A S

Sep 02, 2019

Only basic intro is provided in the course

By Donald E S

Jun 20, 2017

Has the instructor actually done any serious web development work? Continually recommending GoDaddy is what makes me question this. GoDaddy is an OK registrar but support for web hosting is very poor. They have even been known to lose a database - a big NO-No for a web host.

I just cannot get past the intro section because of a few problems with the instructors knowledge.

By James F

May 28, 2017

Good

By Roy H

Jan 08, 2019

A fair chunk of the course is reading verbatim from w3schools pages. Some of the assignment inputs have been bugged for months and the lecturer hasn't bothered fixing them. Really regret ponying up money for a certificate for this rather than a more in-depth course.