Chevron Left
Back to Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies by Duke University

4.6
stars
7,492 ratings
1,553 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Top reviews

AC
Nov 2, 2018

really good bases for business metric if you already have a background you are going to enjoy and refresh you memory and if you don't have previous experiences is really easy to understand the concept

AS
Jun 11, 2020

It is a business centred course that will help you understand the most important metrics. It includes comprehensive glossaries and lectures that will help you in the process and a lot of case studies.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,515 Reviews for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

By Lou Z

Oct 19, 2020

A very complete initiation to data analysis. Prof Egger is very competent and although the videos might seem short, they are filled with contents that can open hours of personal studies.

It is a course for those who are ready to learn and have the self-discipline to.

By Elizabeth H

May 27, 2019

Loved this! Worked in a very data-driven industry for years and this was a nice way to organize information I already knew, with new information that almost instantly made me better at my job. Looking forward to continuing my specialize certification curriculum!

By Ben C

Jun 19, 2017

This class is very informative and clearly presented by Professor Egger. It goes over the basics of business metrics extremely capably and is a good beginning for someone who's looking to supplement their education or to begin in the field of business analytics.

By Vatsal S

May 25, 2020

It gave clear understanding of business metrics, which could help have an edge in distinguishing these important metrics from all the data available. Also, it gave clarity on different roles and skill-sets required in the field of Data science and analytics.

By Amy H

Feb 20, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. It was a good course for someone just starting out in this field (like me) and I didn't feel overwhelmed. The material is useful and they include real world examples that you'd see in a Business Analyst or Data Analyst position.

By Max H

Dec 13, 2015

This course does an excellent job of setting the tone for the rest of the courses through breaking down real-life applications of business metrics and explaining their mechanics. In doing so, it's shed a lot of light into metrics/KPI design for my own work.

By Daranijo T

Apr 21, 2020

I really love this course, It gave me a good understanding of what data driven companies focus on and how to ask important question in a business organisation. To me, the course is very essential if you want to dive into data analyse. Thanks to the tutors.

By Vivian Y

Sep 19, 2020

Highly recommend this course for people interested in business analytics! The course didn't cover technical skills, but through the course, students can have a good overall understanding of the roles in analytics field and better plan their career paths.

By Ho J Y

Nov 5, 2019

The course was really well prepared, and it had so many helpful tools for a new learner. I just wish the course had more depth and length, but I understand that this is a beginner's course, so nothing to complain about it. Thank you for the great course.

By Mai K

Aug 16, 2016

This course was very helpful. I am engineering with no background in business but it introduced it in an easy way. I have gained a lot of information. and understood clearly. I googled things but that enhances the learning process. Thanks for this course

By asama

Mar 12, 2016

obviously this course helped building basic concepts in understanding further business metrics. and the examples used are very close to real life , not at all text book style. I had a great time viewing videos and improve my knowledge with my classmates.

By Aquib J

May 1, 2020

This is a solid course for learning the basics of different business metrics, web metrics, and financial metrics. I highly recommend this course for beginners like me.

The video lectures are quite engaging and the instructor is very easy to understand.

By Vishvendra S T

Mar 14, 2018

I'm delighted to complete this course where I get to learn so many key concepts revolving around business metrics. I would recommend this course to anyone who is looking ahead to learn the various basic concepts related to the business world. Thanks.

By gustavo g

Sep 15, 2017

Great course for those without experience in Data Driven companies and want to master the very basics first before going the extra mile. Looking forward to complete the specialization before deciding next steps for this path.

Looking promising so far!

By Iva S

Dec 11, 2016

It is very useful to find and analyze the right business metric for special businesses in order to improve business processes which can lead to increase in revenue and profitability and avoiding risks. This course was very helpful for that purpose.

By Ayesha S

Nov 22, 2015

Professor Daniel Egger's lectures are entertaining, informative and relevant. This course has definitely been one of the better courses I have taken on Coursera.

Would recommend it to anyone looking for an introduction to the field of analytics.

By Edmundo G D L S

Jul 19, 2020

Great Course, Daniel Egger explains very accurately the important business metrics nowadays and the important of the Big Data, it´s more approach than practice; but if you want to enter into this data-real-world, is a must this course for you.

By Christopher M

Oct 19, 2018

This course one of the best on the entire platform, the Lecturer EISH!! man you are a beast u killed this course, you know your stuff and would have loved to have a one on one chat with you because you are out of this world Egger I salute you.

By g. g

Nov 23, 2015

Very good information. The course had a very effective way of taking some pretty complex concepts of business metrics and explain them in a way that a non business minded person could understand....... That is the epitome of a good course!!

By Juan G S D

Nov 8, 2015

Una buena introducción al análisis de datos para empresas, tal vez demasiado enfocado al ámbito financiero y descuidando otros aspectos.

En general es bueno y muy recomendable como introducción ya que se explica bastante bien conceptualmente.

By Mike A

Dec 8, 2015

Great class. I'm very happy with my choice for a Specialization to take at Coursera. The instructor is not only very knowledgeable, but also explain some very complicated processes in a way that helps in the understanding of the topic.

By Ramya N

Apr 23, 2016

I audited this course as it was recommended by my hubby who is a data scientist and see if i can apply the learnings in healthcare. This has immensely benefited me. Prof. you are so crisp and clear and is easy to understand.

Thanks

Ramya.N

By Jannisse W

May 14, 2020

The course provided a wide range of business data-driven information. The videos were very easy to watch and read the materials provided. This course has provided me with insight on how to efficiently use business metrics data-driven.

By Quinntus O O

Apr 17, 2019

This was one of the most inviting and instructive lectures I have ever come across in terms of data analysis. it cites mostly real events and real companies and how they perceive their big data and usage.

Great work. well done Professor

By Mary A C

Aug 20, 2020

Great course. The peer graded assignment was a particularly effective review of the material presented in the course. When expected to grade another's work, one must be pretty clear in their own understanding of the subject matter..