Chevron Left
Back to Conduct UX Research and Test Early Concepts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Conduct UX Research and Test Early Concepts by Google

4.8
stars
5,161 ratings

About the Course

Conduct UX Research and Test Early Concepts is the fourth course in a certificate program that will equip you with the skills you need to apply to entry-level jobs in user experience (UX) design. In this course, you will learn how to plan and conduct a usability study to gather feedback about designs. Then, you will modify your low-fidelity designs based on insights from your research. Current UX designers and researchers at Google will serve as your instructors, and you will complete hands-on activities that simulate real-world UX design scenarios. Learners who complete the seven courses in this certificate program should be equipped to apply for entry-level jobs as UX designers. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Plan a UX research study, including the project background, research goals, research questions, Key Performance Indicators, methodology, participants, and script. - Explain the importance of respecting privacy and user data. - Conduct a moderated and unmoderated usability study. - Take notes during a usability study. - Create affinity diagrams to group and analyze data. - Synthesize observations from research and come up with insights. - Develop persuasive presentation skills to share research insights. - Modify low-fidelity designs based on research insights. - Continue to design a mobile app to include in your professional portfolio. To be successful in this course, you should complete the previous three courses in the certificate program. Or, you need to have an ability to conduct user research to inform the creation of empathy maps, personas, user stories, user journey maps, problem statements, and value propositions; as well as an ability to create wireframes and low-fidelity prototypes on paper and in Figma....

Top reviews

SK

Invalid date

As usual, an exceptional course curated by the expert team of Coursera and Google, Again I want to express my gratitude for giving me this opportunity to learn and develop this crucial skill.

MS

Invalid date

It was nice course describing how to conduct UX research and test early concepts. Some parts of it were jsut text heavy and would have worked better it was an interactive activity (team work).

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 886 Reviews for Conduct UX Research and Test Early Concepts

By Joshua O

Aug 9, 2021

i found the course fairly easy to complete but i do think it's a bit overwhelming with the amount of tasks a beginner might have to undertake. compared to the other courses in the certificate program, i would say this felt the most cramped up; it might have been served in smaller does and divided up into the prior and next course perhaps.

By Caitlyn S

Nov 4, 2022

Felt this course placed to much emphasis on the usability study. Without real participants, this was struggle. I've been drawn to design for the creative outlet but found myself stuck working in Power Point for much of this course.

By Darek S

Feb 10, 2022

This part of course is trash

By designeraj

Mar 20, 2022

Absolutely loved this course. It was a great experience. The speakers were good designers who shared their vision from beginning to end. I do it just for a few weeks, and I am happy to receive my certificate. I will recommend those who want to learn UI UX Design from scratch. Thank you, Googlers!

By Seyi A

Jul 29, 2022

This part of the Google UX Design professional certification is actually the core of the training, if you miss any part here, you missed everything. It's indeed a participatory design technique

By Kanchan J

Oct 28, 2022

This course has so many interesting topics which help me to polish my skills as a UX designer and make me feel like a good UX designer. Thanks for providing me with such descriptive topics.

By Rohit R C

Sep 4, 2021

Great experience, forget UX Research for a second - this course made me aware of my own biases & taught about how to fix them.😇 leaned properly how to empathize with users.

By Amir H B M

Apr 1, 2021

Great Course I learned lots of information around UX research and how to do research and then analyze and synthesize!

By Hoi D

Mar 24, 2021

Very engaging course! I enjoy learning about data, research, and testing and the methods UX design uses.

By Biswajit M

Apr 3, 2021

It's a great way of learning, especially from the people from google.

By Russell L

Nov 1, 2021

Good step by step approach in planning, conducting, analyze and then present findings of UX Research. Personally, I had to delay my progress due to difficulty scheduling my usability studies during the second week. Perhaps, give students more time to organize usability studies with participants (tell students at the start of the week that they will need to recruit participants).

By Remy J

Aug 24, 2021

Unfortunately in Week 2 and Week 4 the provided templates for the peer review assignments didn't match the previous videos nor the grading criteria.

By Oguz O

Jul 27, 2021

Useful information but it was repetitive and monotonous.

By Matthew D

Apr 26, 2021

Course seemed poorly put together compared to the others in this certificate, it also seemed unnecessary to include this as an entire course.

By Cassidy Y

Apr 6, 2022

This class was tough. It was important but it was very detailed for someone who probably will not start out at this level.

By John F

Apr 15, 2022

It was a challenge. Sometimes it's hard to get up to 5 people to commit to doing the user research part of the course.

By Tammy R

Dec 29, 2021

I really liked learning how to use Figma and doing reserach to make better designs for users. I thought that some of the content was not in the correct order of progression for the class weeks and that some things in the videos did not match the tasks for the week endings. The peer-reviews have not been helpful for me but a hinderance. I never recieve feedback but give it to others when asked on the assignments. I would appreciate making useful feedback part of student grades for the assignments. I also have seen that alot of students enrolled do not submit the correct file and just give the points to pass the courses when reviewing assignments. Perhaps a bit more accountability for students enrolled to actually produce quality work and feedback would be helpful.

By John A

Nov 22, 2021

The Person teaching in this course is pretty boring compared to the other courses, his manner of speaking and expressions has a very sleepy vibe

By Cassandra S

Oct 5, 2022

Some of the information was repetitive as well as hard to understand, which I guess is why it was repetitive.

By Al-noor H

Feb 27, 2023

The pacing of this course is a bit boring. It could have been taught in just one week.

By Daniel S

Oct 30, 2022

I am a gay latino man of colour and I know firsthand how and why diversity is paramount when developing solutions and services, however, If I knew how much half baked indoctrination attempts I'd get from this whole UX/UI course, I would have saved my money for a more serious learning platform for this course is just Lib Twitter with extra steps.

It's not even subtle and 60% of it isn't even relevant on an educational level, at every week of activities the subject is hammered in videos, text, not even the illustrations are safe, sometimes I find myself wondering if I logged in on Netflix by mistake.

I totally get the need for big companies like Google to pat themselves in the back, congratulating one another for how woke they are but I don't feel like paying a monthly subscription to watch that.

If you find it in your heart to actually give an UX/UI course instead of parroting buzzwords hoping that they'll stick, please let me know, this methodology is not the revolutionary approach to diversity you think it is, if anything, it undermines the discussion.

Peace out.

By Abhay S

Jun 2, 2024

The "Conduct UX Research and Test Early Concepts" course, part of the Google UX Design Professional Certificate on Coursera, provides a comprehensive introduction to UX research. It covers key areas such as planning research studies, conducting various research methods (like interviews and surveys), synthesizing findings, and presenting insights. This structure ensures learners understand the complete UX research process. The course excels with its mix of video lectures, reading materials, quizzes, and hands-on projects. Taught by experienced UX professionals from Google, the content is both relevant and practical. Assignments mimic real-world tasks, and the peer review system enhances the learning experience by providing constructive feedback. Strengths of the course include its comprehensive coverage, practical approach, and flexible learning pace. However, it could benefit from deeper exploration of some topics and more technical skills training. Overall, this course is ideal for beginners and experienced designers alike, offering essential skills for conducting effective UX research.

By BODDEDA S

Dec 7, 2023

Course 4, focused on creating UX research and testing early concepts, has been a rewarding experience. Building on the skills developed in Course 3, where I crafted lo-fi prototypes and wireframes, this course delves into the intriguing realm of conducting research on these prototypes. Exploring how users interact with my designs and assessing their usability has proven to be a fascinating journey. Engaging with participants, identifying pain points, acknowledging mistakes, and transforming them into valuable insights through presentations has been a cool and enlightening process. Sharing these findings with stakeholders, the team, and clients adds a layer of satisfaction. As I move on to the next course, I am determined to carry forward the lessons from past frustrations, ensuring that the designs I create are tailored to meet users' needs. The prospect of crafting high-fidelity designs in the upcoming course has me genuinely excited. Throughout Course 4, the joy of researching and refining my understanding of user experiences has been a constant source of enjoyment.

By Akshay M

Mar 17, 2024

Completed hashtag#Conduct Ux Research and Test Early Concepts Certificates from Google Here I understand how to hashtag#Plan, hashtag#Research, hashtag#Synthesize hashtag#analyze, and hashtag#organize the data, and how to present them to stakeholders and our teammates by giving a hashtag#presentation. Here you understand how to plan, how to do hashtag#usability testing, and while testing how will you understand your hashtag#potential user and its behavior while using this particular app or website? This course will help you how UX researchers have key work also you will know what a is moderator (also called hashtag#facilitator) (what typical moderators do while doing research) and what will happen when an unmoderator usability testing happens. In a research study you will know some do's and don't related to moderators you know why moderators is important during the initial stage of your app design. The hashtag#affinity mapping is the best way to find different aspects of each designer 💖

By Md S A

Mar 2, 2024

I recently had the opportunity to experience 'Well Wish,' and I must say, it exceeded my expectations in every aspect. From the moment I stepped in, I was greeted by a warm and inviting atmosphere that instantly put me at ease. The staff were incredibly friendly and attentive, making sure every detail of my visit was taken care of. The facilities were top-notch, clean, and well-maintained, reflecting the commitment to excellence that 'Well Wish' upholds. The services offered were comprehensive and tailored to individual needs, ensuring that each customer received personalized care and attention. Overall, my experience at 'Well Wish' was nothing short of exceptional. It's clear that they prioritize customer satisfaction above all else, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone looking for a rejuvenating and fulfilling wellness experience.