Chevron Left
Back to Construction Scheduling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Construction Scheduling by Columbia University

4.8
stars
1,855 ratings

About the Course

This course focuses on learning how to develop and manage a schedule. The first module provides an overview of the Construction Scheduling course. The second module introduces bar or Gantt charts and how they are used as scheduling tools. During the third module, learners will create activity precedence diagrams, also referred to as activity on node diagrams, which graphically represent the construction activities in a project and their relationships. The fourth module provides an overview of the types of construction activity relationships encountered in a construction project and how to represent them in an activity precedence diagram. Forward and backward pass calculations are covered in the fifth module, and during the sixth module, Professor Odeh discusses the importance of critical paths, including what it is and why it is important. By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Discover key project scheduling techniques and procedures -Learn how to develop and manage a schedule, and understand scheduling tools such as bar charts, activity on arrow, and activity on nodes -Explore the multiple relationships that connect all the construction activities in our project from start to finish -Learn about creating a network diagram, defining the importance of the critical path in a project network, and defining project activities float -Understand the fundamentals of bar charts, precedence diagrams, activity on arrow, Program -Evaluation and Review Technique (PERT), range estimating, linear project operations, and the line of balance (LOB)...

Top reviews

FL

Dec 26, 2016

The Course is very interesting and helpful from all prospective. I'm the project Owner and it was great experience for better understanding of the scheduling, different techniques and Lean Delivery.

VT

Dec 23, 2019

This course was beneficial. Each topic was taught in a simple, understandable way, and you may not have any difficulty with the basics. I enjoyed it a lot, and I think this could help you.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 348 Reviews for Construction Scheduling

By Juan P C

Oct 16, 2017

Great introductory course for non civil engineers or architects that want to get involved in the industry

By Donavan E

Oct 10, 2019

I feel that the softewares used in this industry was not presented properly. the visual aids were poor

By Ram j

May 16, 2020

Informative. I would recommend taking the course to understand the basics of construction scheduling.

By Erich S

Jul 20, 2020

I like the calculations. The Lean guy, Sam Spata covers too much too fast during his lectures.

By Kalamba B

Jul 3, 2020

like this course, but much deeper learning would be more welcome on certain topics. thank you

By Elodie T

May 3, 2020

Complete courses, but pity that some of the projection like software modules are bad quality.

By joshua w

May 13, 2017

Very informative and helps to look at other not traditional scheduling methods.

By Wiadita D A

May 4, 2021

The risk allocation and planning section is a bit difficult to understand.

By Diego A

May 13, 2020

The first three weeks of the course are way too basic and slow to develop.

By Michelle W

Mar 17, 2021

I wish it wasn't "about" scheduling, but instead actually had scheduling.

By Zhanar B

Feb 10, 2017

I like the course for its clear structure and straightforward content.

By Detorrie T

Apr 5, 2018

This was a fast-paced and intense course brimming with great content.

By Aleksandra A

Dec 4, 2020

I expected to see more examples of real-life construction projects.

By Kevin S

Jun 7, 2020

Great intro to construction scheduling, from project flow to tech.

By Jelin S

Jul 24, 2022

really good , there was need for better explaination of softwares

By amr e

Oct 22, 2017

good course with a great experience as a beginner in scheduling.

By akaeme n

Oct 19, 2022

the video section in week four should be made practical

By Hanna E

Oct 3, 2017

Good information, but some errors in one of the quizzes.

By Evangelos K

May 13, 2021

Great refresher from college course. Highly recommend.

By Jorge J L

May 6, 2017

Great course, very thorough, rigorous and engaging.

By José P

Oct 10, 2020

An exciting new way of scheduling construction.

By Durgesh K S

Oct 2, 2018

I got alot of knowledge..... about scheduling.

By Ntebogang T

Mar 8, 2023

it was so difficult to complete this coarse

By Alfonso P

Feb 25, 2018

Prof. Odeh is very good. Worth watching!

By Bishwajit B

Sep 8, 2019

The Lean methods are best articulated.