Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Methodology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Methodology by IBM

4.6
stars
15,162 ratings
1,779 reviews

About the Course

Despite the recent increase in computing power and access to data over the last couple of decades, our ability to use the data within the decision making process is either lost or not maximized at all too often, we don't have a solid understanding of the questions being asked and how to apply the data correctly to the problem at hand. This course has one purpose, and that is to share a methodology that can be used within data science, to ensure that the data used in problem solving is relevant and properly manipulated to address the question at hand. Accordingly, in this course, you will learn: - The major steps involved in tackling a data science problem. - The major steps involved in practicing data science, from forming a concrete business or research problem, to collecting and analyzing data, to building a model, and understanding the feedback after model deployment. - How data scientists think! LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

AG
May 13, 2019

This is a proper course which will make you to understand each and every stage of Data science methodology. Lectures are well enough to make you think as a data scientist. Thank you fr this course :)

JM
Feb 26, 2020

Very informative step-by-step guide of how to create a data science project. Course presents concepts in an engaging way and the quizzes and assignments helped in understanding the overall material.

Filter by:

1726 - 1750 of 1,763 Reviews for Data Science Methodology

By Jakub M

Feb 6, 2020

Listen - I am the last person to give something a one-star review. Especially on Coursera where all the courses I did were very good at least. This debacle of a course is my first disappointment with a content offered by this platform.

You can see the drastic drop in quality between the first course in the certificate and this one. Poor videos which offered very little value - I felt like I was sitting on a corporate meeting and listening to a boring PowerPoint presentation.

The whole model is not very helpful to understand those things. Cooking metaphor is not very helpful as it feels very forced. The model has far too many stages to actually be useful for grasping the concepts - especially because the stages are very intertwined.

Poor-quality videos which look like a low-effort PP presentation, boring and monotone voice. Remove this from the certificate or improve this.

By Niall B

Mar 30, 2020

The resources for this course could be improved - the Skills Lab environment is not performant and there have been problems with the associated links. The Watson video needs updating to reflect the significant changes IBM have made to the interface. I found the use-case to be jargon-heavy. The overall delivery of content is extremely dry and could be made more engaging. Overall, a disappointing course. I am doing the specialisation in order and frankly I would give all 3 of the modules I've completed a very low rating - the presentation of material is outdated and the resources woeful. I expected more from IBM.

By Dilichukwu M

May 21, 2020

I would give this course a 1 star because I did learn something. However, the teacher is extremely non engaging and his case study's do not make sense. The course was extremely painful to watch and very boring. He should put more reading materials and find another person to do the voiceover because I was falling asleep!

By Sourabh S

Apr 22, 2020

The videos made are really poor, it doesn't even use markers to explain where in the slides the instructor is teaching about. Also, I think the slides are very poor and most of the images in the slides were pretty unclear. Instructors explanation to problems is also very unclear, it seems that he's reading some script

By Mentor M

Nov 24, 2019

The course is outdated needs major improvement, the instructor is so messy, he has taken a theme with a hospital which is so hard to understand from people that don't have a medical background! Also, the instructor's voice is depressive, and the video provided had almost no relation to what he was saying.

By Miguel P

May 4, 2020

The course is really theoretical, it uses really bad and iterative examples that does not help to understand the processes and the case studies use really complex code that it is imposible to understand unless you already know coding.

By Omar L

Apr 7, 2019

Very little time is spent explaining in detail the various stages of the data science methodology. also the case study used to illustrate the methodology is unnecessarily complicated. This course needs a refresh.

By alan f

Mar 26, 2019

This course is terrible. The general questions are bad and check video recall over understanding, which doesn't aid in the end assignment, that is ridiculous and open ended.

By Saqibur R

Apr 5, 2020

Poorly structured and doesn't teach you as much as you might think. A lot of the labs don't work and often takes forever to load if you're lucky. Do not recommend.

By Adan

May 12, 2020

very boring and very difficult case study ... This is one of the worst course and also instructor seems like some kind of robot is talking to us

By Jan D

Oct 5, 2018

Don't take it. No Course Instructors, no help. Not worth the money...

Even the Working Platform is always timing out or has a gateway error.

By Sandeep T

May 9, 2020

Too much is paced into short 4- mins video

Sounds like a chabot was reading a text

Better visual aids are requred than the PPT format chosen

By imran k

Dec 12, 2019

Most of the content is in coding and hard to understand. There is no description given with coding so not easy to understand.

By Kamila K

Dec 28, 2019

This feels like a massive waste of time. If I didn't need to complete it for the certification it would not be completed.

By Amiya R B

Feb 17, 2020

I think the trainer just read out some material prepared by him. concepts are uncleared to me. bad experience

By Harsh S

May 20, 2020

Examples in the course are very difficult to understand. Had to google everything that was being taught

By Diego R G

Mar 19, 2020

Very poorly designed course. None of the labs work! Get ready for frustration if you take this course.

By Albert D M

Oct 25, 2019

I went over this information in my MS in Data Analytics program. So I didn't learn anything new here.

By Alexander Z

Dec 25, 2019

Veeeeery basic course

No real tasks

Not up-to-date

Feels like 2002 material

No projects

No team work

By Bhavesh N

Apr 23, 2020

very bad course, lots of text, irrelevant case study, obsolete approach, irrelevant lab tool

By Ashish D

Dec 23, 2019

Not very usefull. Its more of a explaining an approach which is only introductory in nature

By Ounam G

Mar 26, 2020

Uses external application which are not opening, how do we complete the course! Useless

By Ayham M A M

Nov 28, 2019

Very hectic and confusing course...it is really from my worst courses till this moment

By Osama A A

Feb 26, 2020

non useful course u wont understand anything the video is like someone reading papers

By Arjun S C

Aug 5, 2019

Any work that included working on cloud or watson studio is poorly instructed.