Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
33,150 ratings

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools

(243 Reviews)

Introductory course

(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

LR

Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF

Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

Filter by:

6901 - 6925 of 6,978 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Ryan P T

Aug 20, 2016

$40 is way too much to spend just to learn how to install a couple pieces of software and sign up for a GitHub account. The entire course should have been the first week of the following course.

By Aayush L

Sep 20, 2016

Is this a real course for a data scientist just installing shit and a peer reviewing for that screenshot and forking all repos ...very bad not worth to be with rest course in specialization

By Diana K

May 20, 2019

Good time of day! This course is great! But I can't finish it as I missed deadlines and can't switch session!!! I missed 1 month already because of this bug:(

It's so frustrating...

By Sebastian S C

Apr 10, 2020

Me inscribí en el curso y solicité una ayuda económica porqué supuestamente se dictaba en castellano. Pero esto no es cierto y no puedo avanzar. Por eso mi calificación en baja.

By Uyen N

Jan 25, 2022

​I can't believe all the videos are Google narrated, the voice is monotonous, and all of the videos are like 10-20 minutes long, how am I supposed to focus listening to that??

By Mahesh K

Sep 15, 2020

This is pure theoretical course,

It's look like a Power Point presentation. Students can not easily understand this.

I do not recommend this type of teaching on Coursera

By Joao P P

May 12, 2016

Some interesting concepts, but way to simplistic in my opinion. Only reason I see to pay for it is the fact that it is a requirement in the Data Science Specialization

By Charlie Z

Apr 8, 2019

Do not take this course if you want to get a job in industry. Python now dominates industry and R is basically obsolete. I will be switching to a course in Python.

By Jonas L

Mar 20, 2016

Certainly not worth paying for this course, only talks about how to install the tools.

Not able to take quizzes when you try to take the course for free.

By Rajat J

Mar 14, 2016

Good introductory course. However, an overkill as a separate course (and hence charging $30 for it). Courses 1 and 2 could have been clubbed together.

By Isaac A G

Apr 23, 2016

It has almost no content and isn't actually useful. I've heard later classes in the series are way tougher, so the ramp up isn't at all good.

By Subash L

Jul 17, 2021

Not taught by real professors. I want to unenroll out of this whole specialization; cant handle listening to robot. Annoying!!!

By Wei D

Apr 29, 2020

I think a few people like to hear the mechanical voice. Some videos have really low resolution and it is hard to see the codes.

By Marcelo X d N

Dec 25, 2017

Eu achei o site desorganizado, não sei se concluí ou não o curso. Não sei se executei todas as tarefas ou não. Decepcionante

By Suryansh

Jan 30, 2022

That robotic voice ain't working with me at all! Having no instructors in the video is the worst thing they can do.

By Francisco S

Mar 27, 2016

Not worth the price. Extremely basic stuff spread very thin over too much time just to be able to charge for it.

By Gianluca M

Jun 9, 2016

Useless. The information content is close to zero. Just some blah-blah and a long tutorial to install software.

By Luke S

Jun 4, 2016

Way too basic for the price - almost no content - this is just setup - I resent paying for setup instructions.

By John B

Nov 11, 2018

Horrible explanation regarding push and pull requests. Would not recommend this course to my friends.

By Gary N A

May 8, 2017

Poorly organized. Poorly communicated. No reliable source of assistance with technical problems.

By Stefan S

Oct 31, 2020

Would wish this course was not a requirement for specialization. Easy, and not giving anything.

By Omar A

Jul 22, 2020

An online non-credit course authorized by Johns Hopkins University and offered through

Coursera

By Georgios K

Dec 7, 2019

The courses are not by a real instructor/professor but are scripts read out loud by a machine.

By Tony W

Apr 11, 2016

The course does not warrant the price, it has way too little information. Very dissatisfied.

By Espen R

May 31, 2017

This course could be summed up in one page or so. Very little content.

GitHub lessons good.