Chevron Left
Back to Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I by Macquarie University

4.9
stars
13,994 ratings
3,213 reviews

About the Course

Spreadsheet software remains one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces across the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. In the United States alone, millions of job advertisements requiring Excel skills are posted every day. Research by Burning Glass Technologies and Capital One shows that digitals skills lead to higher income and better employment opportunities at a time when digital skills job are growing much faster than non-digital jobs. In this second course of our Excel specialization Excel Skills for Business you will build on the strong foundations of the Essentials course. Intermediate Skills I will expand your Excel knowledge to new horizons. You are going to discover a whole range of skills and techniques that will become a standard component of your everyday use of Excel. In this course, you will build a solid layer of more advanced skills so you can manage large datasets and create meaningful reports. These key techniques and tools will allow you to add a sophisticated layer of automation and efficiency to your everyday tasks in Excel. Once again, we have brought together a great teaching team that will be with you every step of the way. Prashan and Nicky will guide you through each week (and I am even going to make a guest appearance in Week 5 to help you learn about my favourite tool in Excel - shh, no spoilers!). Work through each new challenge step-by-step and in no time you will surprise yourself by how far you have come. This time around, we are going to follow Uma's trials and tribulations as she is trying to find her feet in a new position in the fictitious company PushPin. For those of you who have done the Essentials course, you will already be familiar with the company. Working through her challenges which are all too common ones that we encounter everyday, will help you to more easily relate to the skills and techniques learned in each week and apply them to familiar and new contexts....

Top reviews

OD
Jul 28, 2020

The length of the video lectures are just right and the numbers of exercises or quizzes are just right. Learned a lot of new things about Excel's functionality. A huge step from the Essentials course.

RZ
Jun 5, 2020

Wow, I have no word to say about this course. Its video content, Structure is awesome. The tutor is good. Week assignments and quizzes are always ready to make our practice and make concept permanent.

Filter by:

2951 - 2975 of 3,226 Reviews for Excel Skills for Business: Intermediate I

By JR

Mar 3, 2019

Good

By Marco H

Jan 10, 2019

Top!

By Ha N

Dec 28, 2018

good

By Ahmed A T

Aug 18, 2018

v..g

By Marcus W

Aug 13, 2018

Good

By Ganapathi N K

Jun 14, 2018

Nice

By REON M E

Jul 24, 2021

Wow

By Deepak S

Dec 4, 2020

goo

By Rehab N

Dec 13, 2020

😍

By wasim k

Nov 30, 2020

ok

By Marcin P

Sep 30, 2020

ok

By Mary A M R

May 9, 2019

:)

By Anai A C V

May 18, 2021

.

By Edgar Z

Mar 15, 2021

G

By Mohammed H N

Aug 2, 2020

.

By Simarpreet U

Jul 14, 2020

.

By Abhisek D

Jul 1, 2020

,

By FSC L 9

Jul 10, 2019

E

By Abhishek k

Mar 8, 2019

.

By Priscillia S

Mar 4, 2019

T

By Tejasvi H

Jan 20, 2019

-

By Sylvain P

Jul 4, 2020

It<s the second course i took with coursera and i like the fact that you can listen to the course again if there<s something you didn't understand the first time. The course is well structured and have good exercise to practice the skills they teach you on the video. But i think you have to be motivated to complete the course but if you want to learn it's necessary. One thing i would improve is the fact that you can do the exam more than twice, cause if you didn't do more exercises to master the skills then do it a second time and have a good grade well you still need to practice. And you have to check the forum more as there was someone who put the answers of all the question in week 5. I don't think it's good for the quality of the course to let things like that happen without doing anything to remove it. Some people would say that it's easy and anybody can succeed it's not true but again check the forum and when there's a report remove or ban the person who do it, there's a guy who asked all the answers in week 2+3 i report it and nothing was remove. But overall if you want to learn excel McQuarry university did a really good work and you learn a lot.

By Nikki K

Apr 3, 2018

This course is great and really simple to use. However, if you have a MAC this course can be a little tricky at times as it is mainly developed for PC users. For some more complicated functions such as creating Pivot Charts, there is no mention of how to achieve things using an older version of Excel for MAC and so often a google search is needed which can be time consuming and sometimes leave you with no answers. It would be wonderful if the course was more clearly adapted for MAC users, mentioning clearly how things can be done using a MAC as often this is entirely different and/or non existent. It is the same thing with earlier versions of excel, for example, my 2011 MAC version of excel did not have the Pivot Chart function and in the quizzes you needed this in order to answer some questions correctly - in many cases I had to leave the question blank and hope I could pass with my other questions being correct. This was quite frustrating at times and seemed a little unfair also - it would be great if this was more suitable for MAC users too.

By T S N M

May 14, 2020

Pros

1. Very concise course with relevant exercises.

2. Not meant for the absolute novice of excel (meaning who has never seen a workbook or worksheet)

but for a person who has a basic requires a basic comprehension of excel can easily take up this course.

Cons

1. The program such as the videos and excel worksheets are old, I'm guessing that this program must have launched in 2018 and needs to be updated but still good enough to comprehend the application till the next version of excel is released.

2. Additional this program was designed with a windows operating system and not for a Mac. There will be considerable differences in application especially in topics such as Charting though you do manage to get your results but can be quite cumbersome and time-consuming while searching for solutions on the internet (this has seldom been answered in the videos)

Overall still a good course and will be taking up part 2 as well

By Kimberley B

Jul 19, 2021

I definitely learned even more than in the Essentials course. However, due to this course being made in 2017, Excel has changed a lot since then (now being part of the 365 subscription suite), and sometimes the lessons would not indicate if something was available on Mac systems at all. There are features that were nixed all together in the newer versions [and/or for Mac] and I was unable to replicate them in practice and on the quizzes/assessments. It may be time for this course to update their video lessons to incorporate the newer versions of this program and/or indicate what options are/aren't available depending on if you are using the newer version or 2016 (which they default to using as it was the most recent then).