Chevron Left
Back to Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
2,597 ratings
533 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to design technologies that bring people joy, rather than frustration. You'll learn several techniques for rapidly prototyping (such as Wizard of Oz Prototyping) and evaluating multiple interface alternatives -- and why rapid prototyping and comparative evaluation are essential to excellent interaction design. You'll learn how to conduct fieldwork with people to help you get design ideas. How to make paper prototypes and low-fidelity mock-ups that are interactive -- and how to use these designs to get feedback from other stakeholders like your teammates, clients, and users. Armed with these design-thinking strategies, you’ll be able to do more creative human-centered design in any domain. This is the first course offered in the interaction design specialization series. Browse through previous capstone projects for some inspiration here: https://medium.com/capstone-projects/capstone-projects-2019-abc67d3f6f26...

Top reviews

SM
Apr 10, 2020

I just loved this lesson! Lots of things to explore. A lot of hands-on experience. I am very pleased with the amount of theory and study that I have.\n\nI wish to thank UC San Diego & Scott Klemmer

T
Feb 4, 2021

This course opened my eyes to the foundational basis of design as a problem solving tool primarily. Can't wait to apply all I have learned and make world class designs that make the world better!

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 515 Reviews for Human-Centered Design: an Introduction

By pankaj y

Aug 8, 2018

Everthing is fine but when questions comes there are not any message about marking of those questions.

By Rivka H

Sep 30, 2017

I learned about interviewing, storyboarding and heuristic evaluations with some hands on experience.

By Bethwel K

Dec 28, 2020

The practical assignments were really interesting and made me understand the concepts even better.

By thomas c

Jul 2, 2020

Very well thought through in terms of content. Just wth there was a professional marking the work!

By Marzena K

Aug 30, 2016

A great course to revise existing knowledge and to get some new tips in HCD. Warmly recommended!

By Christine H

May 17, 2016

Good class, except for quizzes were complicated at times. User input instructions was not clear.

By Sue A W

Apr 25, 2016

Great introduction to human-centered design conceptually applicable across multiple disciplines.

By Sven L

Sep 7, 2017

Very good introduction. I learned a lot and the homework were very nice and interesting to do!

By Roland C

Sep 5, 2016

Pretty good course on User Centered Interface Design. Rich, clear and very well documented

By Rajiv N

May 23, 2016

Awesome course! It would be more awesome if the assignments were easier to understand.

By Chitra V

Feb 1, 2021

I really like the course work. i like the fact that peer reviews are serious.

By Muzayun M

Aug 16, 2015

I wish we could still get a course certificate, even if you haven't paid.

By Christen E

Apr 3, 2017

I very much enjoyed the teaching style and the interactive assignments

By SHANNON C

Dec 19, 2019

This course is helpful in learning and practicing interaction design.

By Richard D

May 31, 2016

Some of the videos feel a little outdated but otherwise high quality.

By Ansh G

Aug 28, 2018

Great course, insightful, provides many real-world examples, etc.

By Darren G

May 16, 2016

This really helped me scope products before building them

By Amit A

Nov 13, 2015

Very helpful for understanding the basics of UX process.

By Padraic C

Sep 21, 2020

I found the course very insightful and well taught.

By Himani D

Aug 9, 2016

Some assignments could have been better explained

By Norma A D A

Jan 29, 2020

Really enriching. Love the practical excercies.

By Giuseppe R

Mar 7, 2016

Good material

maybe you can do more examples

By Joaquin A

Oct 5, 2016

Great starting point for software design.

By Benedikte H

Jun 16, 2018

I found it very useful and interesting.

By Jaclyn D

Feb 26, 2017

Needs better instruction on assignments