Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,793 ratings
1,418 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

AS
Dec 10, 2020

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,413 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Nkoa C

Jan 27, 2020

waouh , it was a great experience. I learnt many fundamental good practices in solving problem with Software

By Aurangazeeb A K

Sep 15, 2018

Java lessons are presented in a simple and fun way. The lesson are very easy to understand for any beginner.

By MyoungEun K

Jul 24, 2019

I loved this course. It was challenging but it really helped me understand how to use METHOD strategically.

By RAFAEL G V

Feb 7, 2016

Great set of programing tools to solve many different problems, including working with big amounts of data.

By joan p

Jan 3, 2021

I really learnt a lot! I recommend to work hard in assignment they repay in knowledge. Thank you teachers!

By MANISH K B

Aug 28, 2020

It is really awesome course. the assignments and quiz were well designed. Concept was very well explained.

By Somuyiwa O O

Aug 12, 2021

Amazing course, really broadened my understanding of Java and thought me many problem solving techniques.

By Vijayakumar H K

Mar 8, 2020

Very nice but difficult. If you understand the problem correctly, easy to complete with 7 steps solution.

By Sushant D

Jan 31, 2020

For those complaining about bluej, you can very well use other text editors/ides too. It's a good course.

By Dauren D

Dec 9, 2019

This course teaches how to work with files. It was very enjoyable experience, huge thanks to instructors!

By Aditya D

Aug 7, 2021

A very good course mainly for beginner level student , who understand the problem solving skill apporch.

By Donn C D G

Jan 9, 2016

Well organized, well prepared practice activities, very clear instruction videos, challenging to pass.

By kanduripreethi

Apr 21, 2020

this is a platform where we test our knowledge ....

and it is also to know more information about java

By 1VA19CS040 R M H

May 17, 2021

i loved this course and it was totally fun doing this and the way of teaching is amazingggggg.......

By 方立

Jun 1, 2017

Pretty good lectures and has plenty of hands-on programming assignments. Good for programing novice.

By Rohit k

Nov 5, 2021

The instructor are very nice , they are teaching in a very nice way , all our concepts very clear .

By Jeff L

Dec 24, 2020

great intro course. the entire program should be in one-semester course, not chopped into pieces.

By Saurabh R

Jun 30, 2020

course was really good.i helped me brushup my java skills and i even got to learn many new skills.

By Pierino V

Jun 3, 2020

I did this course in order to restore some lost skills on java. It was very useful . Great course!

By Han C

Jun 13, 2019

A course to help you learn java programming independently from scratch, good assignment questions.

By Deleted A

Feb 7, 2019

Useful and informative course... Instructors are teaching very well... I get a lot of knowledge...

By Александр В

Dec 26, 2018

a very useful course to enhance your programming skills. The tasks are clear and well thought out.

By SANTHOSH P

Jul 14, 2020

I enjoyed while doing assignments. One of the thought provocative course in the coursera platform

By Daniel G G

Jul 9, 2020

Very useful. Even for a novice in object thinking this was a soft introduction. Very good course.

By Marc R

Jul 5, 2017

Nice hands-on tutorial for people who have not much experience in programming (with any language)