Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning by Stanford University

4.9
stars
149,275 ratings
38,030 reviews

About the Course

Machine learning is the science of getting computers to act without being explicitly programmed. In the past decade, machine learning has given us self-driving cars, practical speech recognition, effective web search, and a vastly improved understanding of the human genome. Machine learning is so pervasive today that you probably use it dozens of times a day without knowing it. Many researchers also think it is the best way to make progress towards human-level AI. In this class, you will learn about the most effective machine learning techniques, and gain practice implementing them and getting them to work for yourself. More importantly, you'll learn about not only the theoretical underpinnings of learning, but also gain the practical know-how needed to quickly and powerfully apply these techniques to new problems. Finally, you'll learn about some of Silicon Valley's best practices in innovation as it pertains to machine learning and AI. This course provides a broad introduction to machine learning, datamining, and statistical pattern recognition. Topics include: (i) Supervised learning (parametric/non-parametric algorithms, support vector machines, kernels, neural networks). (ii) Unsupervised learning (clustering, dimensionality reduction, recommender systems, deep learning). (iii) Best practices in machine learning (bias/variance theory; innovation process in machine learning and AI). The course will also draw from numerous case studies and applications, so that you'll also learn how to apply learning algorithms to building smart robots (perception, control), text understanding (web search, anti-spam), computer vision, medical informatics, audio, database mining, and other areas....

Top reviews

RP

Jun 10, 2020

This is a great way to get an introduction to the main machine learning models. The professor is very didactic and the material is good too. I recommend it to everyone beginning to learn this science.

RS

Aug 13, 2019

Andrew Ng is a great teacher.\n\nHe inspired me to begin this new chapter in my life. I couldn't have done it without you\n\nand also He made me a better and more thoughtful person.\n\nThank You! Sir.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 10,000 Reviews for Machine Learning

By Weixiang Z

Apr 03, 2018

Very nice course,. Give a fundamental knowledge of machine learning in a clear, logic and easy-to-understand way. Suitable for those who has relatively weak background of math and statistics to learn.

By Carlos E R d S

Jul 16, 2019

The course will give you the incites to understand the data driven mathematical functions to write softwares that can behave or change its behavior, based on stimulus (data).

Andrew Ng is excellent

By Prateek J

Jan 21, 2019

Exceptional. Best course to start learning Machine Learning! Only one grouse though, the exercises are in Matlab and not in python.

By Hou Z

May 05, 2019

Very good instruction for machine learning, and also very very good for new comers!!!

By Nikhil J

May 18, 2019

It was a great learning experience. All the lectures were in details.

By Aditya K

May 18, 2019

It was a very helpful course.

By Kothala M K

May 18, 2019

Good Course

By Spencer R H

Feb 03, 2019

It would be nice if it's taught in either python or R. So I do need to take extra effort to learn octave.

By Mehdi A

Feb 25, 2018

Too many trainings and assignments without enough practice, exercise and examples. This can be very confusing for a person taking the course for the first time.

By Brian L

May 25, 2019

There's one saying in Chinese that says "一日為師,終身為師" which means once being someone's teacher, even just one day, you're the teacher for the rest of his life. Thank you for all your efforts and I really appreciate it. I'll keep working on Machine Learning and hopefully one day I can do the same contribution to the human society as you did.

By vinod

May 18, 2019

Explanation was very good and assignment helps us to understand the real picture. The way course is planned along with octave exercise, Graphs and visualization of data (X,Y) is very good. Very good course who is starting the Machine learning from scratch.

By Sunesh P R S

May 17, 2019

This is course just awesome. You get everything you wanted from this course. It covers on all topics in detail, helps in getting confidence in learning all the techiques and ideas in machine learning.

By Maksym M

Aug 22, 2018

So much like it. It gave me starting push in this interesting topic. And one important thing that after this course I figured out I need to continue dive into machine learning.

By Akyuu F

May 08, 2019

Excellent Machine Learning Lessons which need little advanced knowledge of mathematics.

By Andrey

Jul 24, 2019

This is a very basic course on Machine Learning. The main drawbacks are:

(1) the material is old and not updated to reflect new developments in this dynamic subject;

(2) the course is oversimplified and adapted for students who have never dealt with maths or programming;

(3) the assignments and quizes are, with rare exception, trivial and test students' common sense rather than the subject understanding; for example, you can pass the final quiz at 100% without reading or watching the lectures;

(4) the course is badly maintained: some mistakes in lectures and assignments have not been corrected for years, even though they have been pointed out in the discussion forum countless times.

While the Ng's ML course is arguably better than many other Coursera courses, it is very disappointing that Coursera and Stanford hardly made an attempt to improve it.

By Bayram K

Feb 17, 2017

I would rename this course as Programming Octave with Application to Machine Learning rather that Machine Learning. Once you start the course you will have to focus on Octave rather than on ML topics if you want to do programming exercises. There is no degree of freedom in programming. You are provided with a lot of weird Octave codes which you will have to complete instead of writing yourself from scratch. More than 50% of my time was spent in order to learn Octave and understand (guess!!!!) Octave codes.

So, if you really want to learn ML and try it in practice this course is not for you. However, you could just watch the videos whose level is not more that elementary introduction to ML.

By Ross K

Oct 10, 2015

The course is more an exercise in flexing Ivy vernacular than it is actually teaching. The learning curve is too steep to be useful to the majority of potential registrants. You're interested in this course either to (a) learn something about an exciting and ever changing field and/or (b) to have the Stanford logo on your LinkedIn profile. In both cases, move on. The curve is far too steep to be useful or to merit the countless additional hours of background learning the course should have done to bridge the gap.

By Larry C

Feb 24, 2016

There are too many mistakes and misleading statements made in the course material. There were a lot difficulties with submitting assignments in order to move forward in the course. I had to give up because I don't have time to be bogged down like this.

The students' comments and discussion would be useful if they can be accessed from within each lesson. I can't make heads or tails of what the discussions were referring to, when they are all clumped together at the course web site instead.

By Rui L

Oct 01, 2018

I would not recommend taking this course any more. (2018)

This course is showing its age and lots of concepts simply doesn't apply any more, considering how fast this field is changing.

By Ganesh K A

May 16, 2019

If it was in python, then it would have got 5 star from me.

By Alex W

Dec 14, 2015

The exercises lead you to the edge of a cliff, then push you off. No guidance. Good luck if you don't already know linear algebra, matrix math, and matlab. I'll be looking elsewhere to learn about Machine Learning. Glad I didn't pay for this course!

By pierre c

Jan 17, 2016

The course may be great, but the sound of the video is really terrible, this is a big problem for me and possibly to other users, at the point where I decided to stop watching.

Please do something about it !

By Omri G

Nov 11, 2015

Been asked to re-take all assignments *after* paying for a certificate! I wil never pay for a Coursera course again, and I would not recommend my friends to do so

By Subham B

Aug 30, 2019

This course is definitely not for beginners.

By Tahereh P

Jun 26, 2020

This course is a very applicable. Professor Ng explains precisely each algorithm and even tries to give an intuition for mathematical and statistic concepts behind each algorithm. Thank you very much.