Chevron Left
Back to Python Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Basics by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
7,862 ratings
1,732 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of Python 3, including conditional execution and iteration as control structures, and strings and lists as data structures. You'll program an on-screen Turtle to draw pretty pictures. You'll also learn to draw reference diagrams as a way to reason about program executions, which will help to build up your debugging skills. The course has no prerequisites. It will cover Chapters 1-9 of the textbook "Fundamentals of Python Programming," which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is for you if you're a newcomer to Python programming, if you need a refresher on Python basics, or if you may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is the first of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

NR

Oct 18, 2019

It's a must join course for the people who want to deep dive into the world of Python. I really loving this course very much. I wanna explore more hence opting for other parts of this specialization.

KH

Jun 22, 2020

Great course which does not allow you to not learn python !! Highly recommended for anyone who wants to understand and learn useful programming, the interactions are well structured and well fitted

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,745 Reviews for Python Basics

By Ravi S V

Feb 16, 2019

Excellent Course. Learnt a lot.

By Alvaro C S

Feb 12, 2019

so clear!! amazing course

By Alexis J A A C

Feb 10, 2019

Such a wonderful course!

By Divyanshu U

Apr 07, 2019

Very good explanation.

By Vishal A

Jan 19, 2019

Quite a good course.

By Manny B

Jan 31, 2019

Fantastic course!!

By Venkata S H J

Jan 30, 2019

Best For Beginners

By David L

Feb 18, 2019

Good introduction

By Miranda W

Mar 01, 2019

very good course

By KAUNG N S

Feb 03, 2019

Wonderful!

By Shamik M

Jan 15, 2019

Perfect!!!

By Aditya A S

Jun 23, 2020

The content of too basic, the instructor was amazing. I loved the assignment submission procedure. The course was very well made and is definitely one of the bests on Coursera.

Thank you, and if you read this, I request you all to visit this, here you'll definitely find something impressive to learn.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdNOTa62J6j1109NQfxHqdg/playlists

By Umang R

Dec 21, 2018

I really loved the way each topic was explained and the presence of an interactive workspace. The fact that the same interactive module is used by students at UMich made me feel like I was a student at UMich. The Codelens feature is really cool, especially for beginners.

By Shubhangi

May 29, 2020

A very good course to start and learn basics!! I will definitely recommend it to noobs in programming.

Deducted one star for not including tuples and dictionary! rest it is very thorough and enjoyable.

By Izaan Z

Jul 14, 2019

Didn't expected this course to be beginner friendly as many courses out there aren't.

This course really helped me improve my Python. From lectures to assignments everything was praise worthy.

By MANISH C

Jul 18, 2019

good course for learning basics of python and provide us root knowledge of basics of python ,thanks coursera for providing this course

By Shutian X

Dec 31, 2018

Very helpful to beginner.

By April X

Jan 31, 2019

Very helpful

By Munshi I H

Dec 27, 2019

The content is good for a first course. 2 drawbacks - (1.) Question asked on the discussion forum was not answered. (2). Steve is not quite clear with explanations. One of the examples... In places where running code with different conditions could help explain the difference, he ran them one at a time.

By Andrea D C

Nov 12, 2019

If you want to learn the basics of Python, take Dr. Chuck's "Programming for Everybody." The lectures in this course were slow and not interesting, so I didn't watch them and I just worked through the Runestone project to complete the course.

By Daniel S

Apr 27, 2019

It does an ok job at teaching the basics, but it doesn't push you hard enough. Learning supplementary information along side makes this course extremely simple.

By Octavio P

Apr 30, 2020

would rather program without the interactive text book

Thank you

By Ahmed A

Sep 06, 2019

Quite useful for advanced programmers as well.

By John H

Mar 11, 2019

Subject covered in lessons was very basic compared to the knowledge required to complete the final assessment. I suggest either modifying the final assessment to more closely resemble the practice questions given throughout the course or else to change the course content in order to give students the knowledge they need to complete the final assignment.

By Evans W

Mar 15, 2020

Unbelievable slow and plodding. Videos just tell you how to answer the problems, sometimes all or nearly all of them.

When I had to put it on hold I found that I couldn't progress until I had waited for several months for another "session" -- something I don't believe they made clear would happen. Just dropping the course.