Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science and AI

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science and AI by IBM

4.6
8,496 ratings
1,153 reviews

About the Course

This introduction to Python will kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general. This beginner-friendly Python course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours. Module 1 - Python Basics o Your first program o Types o Expressions and Variables o String Operations Module 2 - Python Data Structures o Lists and Tuples o Sets o Dictionaries Module 3 - Python Programming Fundamentals o Conditions and Branching o Loops o Functions o Objects and Classes Module 4 - Working with Data in Python o Reading files with open o Writing files with open o Loading data with Pandas o Numpy Finally, you will create a project to test your skills....

Top reviews

WL

Mar 14, 2019

Every course has offered something interesting, challenging, and surprising. I am glad I have spent the time with this class. I would strongly recommend it to others with an interest in data science.

SS

Dec 07, 2018

With MATLAB being my programming fluency, Python was very confusing at times.\n\nThis was the course I needed to explain the most common data types in python in a clear and very concise manner.

Filter by:

1026 - 1050 of 1,137 Reviews for Python for Data Science and AI

By Parth H

Jun 01, 2019

It's very basic

By Scott

Jun 13, 2019

A decent quick overview of the basics, and I found it worth my time, but only just barely: the videos are narrated by a computer voice (they couldn't even find a human to teach it?), some outdated Python 2 techniques are still included, and the whole thing is a bit of a plug for IBM's online services, including Watson, which you have to sign up for to complete assignments. But yeah, it takes you through the motions and teaches you enough Python to drive out of the parking lot, so to speak, so overall it's fine.

By Jesús G A S

Jun 13, 2019

Best thing about the course are the notebooks. Other than that, the lessons feel rather shallow.

By Zachary A H

Sep 08, 2019

Good course, but did not prepare you for the potential errors encountered in the last question of the peer-reviewed assignment. This seems to be a trend based on the discussion forum.

By John D

Aug 20, 2019

Content is good but course needs to be updated to reflect the changes to IBMs platform

By Tharusha M

Aug 23, 2019

I don't think the study material was as informative - the assignment was straight out different to what was taught in the videos and labs.

By Γεώργιος Κ

Aug 23, 2019

Shallow

By Stefanos T

Aug 24, 2019

Quick, well-presented but inadequate introduction to python basics. Especially "pandas" and "numpy" are poorly introduced.

By 陈嘉琪

Aug 28, 2019

This course might be too easy and I think there should be more exercise for us to practice our python skill

By Abigail J

Sep 21, 2019

Not a beginner's class but a sufficient survey/review of Python for people who have seen it before. Much like some language classes will prepare you to read French but not to speak French, this course will probably prepare you to read Python programs but you won't be sufficiently prepared to write your own. Does not provide opportunities for meaningful practice.

The instructions in the videos are often vague or misleading (especially with naming of variables) and there were several instances where I (an "advanced beginner", generously) had to de-bug the examples and instructions in the Labs to get them to work.

IBM was clearly sloppy when they put together this course, and that is reflected in the quality of the learning you'll obtain. Again, a fine generalist's overview but will not prepare you to use Python in a meaningful way.

By Michel M

Sep 03, 2019

Course content is good, however the Watson Studio partsare dominated by the platform complexity instead of the content and the guides/screenshots are outdated.

By David S M C

Sep 03, 2019

Please update the Watson Studio tutorials

By faisal a

Sep 02, 2019

Too fast paced. Labs are very helpful.

By Kai K

Sep 03, 2019

class is not that much challenging

but it's okay maybe this is for beginner

but IBM lab tutorial needs some effort to let user use it in daily work

By François J

Sep 24, 2019

Interesting introduction into Python, tools and some libraries. It's pretty easy though and i feel like once we reach the files management, Pandas and Numpy we should get some real exercice to practice and get confortable with those since they are super important for what are you aiming for.

By Archana B

Sep 28, 2019

Difficulty level can be increased

By Ahmed J

Sep 29, 2019

Trés bon cours en terme de comprehension, parcontrel es exercices Quiz sont parfois banal, je propose qu'on y ajoute un peu plus de complexité.

By Igor L

Oct 02, 2019

Very basic and too easy

By In W C

Oct 03, 2019

Overall, the course taught the basics of Python but instructions regarding IBM Watson can be extremely unclear since the notes haven't been updated. Also, the final assignment is kind of a joke since it seems more focused on Watson than material learned.

By Naresh B

Oct 01, 2019

Really easy, even for a beginner. It doesn't challenge a learner to learn more on his own. Assignments are like spoon-fed to the learner. There is a strong need to add better and challenging assignments.

By Markus K

Sep 15, 2019

For non native speaker the videos were a bit too fast. it would be great if the interface allows to place the translation on the left or right hand side of the video. Also for my self the introduction of the week 5 exercise where not quite clear. much more self coding in the weeks 1 - 4 where also very welcome

By Prakhar A

Oct 09, 2019

It is very Basic Course.

By Marcello

Oct 13, 2019

Good course. However the current IBM watson environment differs from the course instructions. Thats making it more of a trial and error path to end up at the same place as the instructions tell you to.

By Wayne L

Oct 12, 2019

could use a deeper dive into numpy, pandas and their extensions

By Sharvari U

Oct 13, 2019

It would be good if videos and the watson studio env match