Chevron Left
Back to Wind Energy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Wind Energy by Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.7
stars
7,106 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to the course of Wind Energy. This course gives an overview of key aspects in wind energy engineering. Whether you are looking for general insight in this green technology or your ambition is to pursue a career in wind energy engineering, 'Wind Energy' is an excellent starting point. Experts located in the wind pioneering country of Denmark will take you on a tour through the most fundamental disciplines of wind energy research such as wind measurements, resource assessment, forecasting, aerodynamics, wind turbine technology, structural mechanics, materials, financial and electrical systems. You will gain a rational understanding of wind energy engineering and, through hands-on exercises, you will learn to perform wind energy calculations based on simple models. Working with the different course disciplines will give you a taste of what wind energy engineering is all about. This allows you to identify the most interesting or relevant aspects of wind energy engineering to be pursued in your future studies or in your professional career. View our video: https://youtu.be/he4UWTGHxrY (The video was made for the original version, and it is still highly relevant; a new version will be published soon). For other professional courses in wind energy engineering, visit our website at www.wem.dtu.dk...

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

Excellent designed course. I learned new things. This course covers most of the aspects related to wind energy. I am hopeful that an advanced course on wind energy will be introduced soon.

JO

Invalid date

Very informative course, covering the wind energy basic and its related disciplines. As a beginner in wind energy I am very interested in developing my knowledge in renewable energy sources.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 2,080 Reviews for Wind Energy

By Julian Q

Jun 14, 2020

Very interesting and important topic for the energy transformation that we must carry out in our energy generation systems, transition of the generation matrix. I would like to go deeper into the subject and why not, to be able to go to study in Denmark someday, do a master's degree. Thank you very much for this course.

By João S

May 21, 2020

A very well designed course that gives a good overall view of all the aspects of wind energy generation. I would say that almost all aspects of the lectures can be understood by anyone, but to successfully complete the exercises and obtain the certificate you should come from a STEM area, otherwise you may struggle.

By Julian K

Apr 3, 2021

Really well-made course with a nice structure. I liked the in-video questions which made it possible to directly use the newly learned skills. Some sort of Engineering experience would be recommended here since it truly is not as easy as it seems at first. Thank you very much dear DTU Team, I enjoyed the course!

By erol u

Jan 9, 2020

The course was really smooth and targeting the most important subjects. I enjoyed and learned a lot. I hope to use the knowledge for myself and other people all time. I was familiar with wind energy in so far and had some limited information. The course helped me in gaining a more extensive and deep knowledge.

By Gopala K

May 6, 2019

This course is best to one who interested in gaining knowledge of wind energy form scratch, the course contains almost all the aspects which a newbie wanted to know, from the wind resource assessment to aerodynamics of blade profile and material, Thank you DTU and coursera team for this wonderful course.

By Clovis R

Oct 8, 2020

Great introductory course. Some of the modules were great and I learned a lot thanks to very nice teachers and examples.

I had issues with some modules because I felt that the teachers couldn't express themselves in english propertly. But overall it still had material so i could understand on my own

By Mohamed A

Aug 18, 2021

clear and organized course that delves into the fundamentals of Wind turbine from the planning and site choosing to efficiently transfer of energy to the grid and everything in between, personally Would love the course to dive more into the technicalities but I understand why it didn't. Thank you!

By Chang S L

Sep 13, 2020

Thanks, I successfully complete all the course, and got basic knowledge regarding Wind Energy, in which include wind farm market, cost calculation, aerodynamics, dynamics, material mechanics, structural mechanics...etc. and so on.

It is helpful for my current work - offshore wind farm project.

By Wen-Hui S

Nov 29, 2020

This course provides a basic understanding of wind energy in different sectors. The lectures are clear. Most impressively, the examples in the exercises are close to the real settings, which are easier to associate the theoretical equations and parameters to the practical applications.

By Mr. G M

Jun 9, 2020

The course gave the fundamental concepts behind wind energy.It gave sufficient knowledge about the physics,aerodynamics(Lift and drag forces) and also fundamental of electrical generators used in wind power generation systems. It also provided the basics of economics like NAV and LCoE

By 吳漢堡

Nov 21, 2019

Very comprehensive lessons about wind energy. This course mentioned almost every aspect required to build a wind farm. Though some quiz in the later lectures seem to be not easy, the introductions seem to provide good instruction. The instruction after submitting also helps a lot.

By Mubashir U

Jul 27, 2020

Course was very well structured that takes you through all phases of wind power plants from site analysis for wind power plant to design and distribution of electricity. It gives an overview of all stages with some in depth information of wind turbine blade design and materials.

By Jeremy F F

Jul 18, 2020

I found the course to be very challenging. It contains excellent information and the lecturers were very efficient. I did have a hard time figuring out the Math unfortunately and had to repeat a few of the tests. Overall it was definitely worth the time I took to do the course.

By PRAKASH.C

Apr 1, 2017

this course is very usefull for all faculty members and students they are gaining more knowledge of wind energy subject. only one suggestions is when the completed the course you will be send to original certificate for the course completed members. this is my kind information.

By Monika M

Nov 30, 2016

This course is amazing! Everything is explained carefully and afterwards you can check your knowledge in quizzes. The course is both for people who never before had anything to do with Wind Energy and for those who just want to refresh their knowledge. I recommend it strongly:)

By Allan T S

Dec 3, 2016

This course gives a begginner's insight on Wind Energy. The course addresses the basic science behind its main aspects. However, it lacks depth on key issues and could be a bit more advanced (or there could be at least a sequel for people who are very interested on the field)

By Inez Z

Sep 12, 2021

Quality teaching delivered professionally with clear learning objectives and assignments. Loved the learning as it went through a lot of dimensions in the wind industry and gave a nice level of depth into each of the areas. Recommend for new entry to wind power / renewables!

By ARPANKUMAR A B

Jun 2, 2020

Overall, I have been very happy with my experience using Coursera and think it is one of the best online learning platforms available for several reasons: Coursera is a huge platform with thousands of courses. You have the option to enroll in or audit many courses for free.

By Florian D

Jan 24, 2018

Very concise and at the same time in-depth and to the point overview of different aspects of wind turbine functioning and engineering, with a (very) brief overview of market functioning. Clear lessons and hands-on exercises which make you understand the theory. Recommended!

By Meetkumar P

Mar 19, 2017

This course is very helpful for the me..It gives me knowledge about wind energy..Also this course is very helpful for my career enhancement..This course give me best knowledge about wind operations...so, i am thankful to Technical University of Denmark as well as coursera..

By Srinivasan R

Dec 11, 2020

Very Good explanations on the various concepts & calculations of the WindTurbine Power Plants. Easy to follow, Good Guidance on assignments, with the purpose of educating rather than evaluations.

Would recommend for all new to the subject & keen on getting a quick "Step-In"

By Souryadeep B

Apr 16, 2020

One of the best and most comprehensive courses I have done till date. The breadth of the topics covered under this course are as extensive as any applied engineering course. You will emerge from this course a champion of concepts and a practitioner of optimal processes.

By daniel e e

Sep 15, 2020

Es un buen curso, te llevan de la mano y te dan suficiente bibliografía, para que te sirva de apoyo para estudiar y pasarlo.

Its a great course, they teach you hand to hand and they give you many litterature as support in order that you can study and success the course.

By Shankar N

Jun 26, 2021

Very useful and appropriate course for understanding the basics and main concepts of Wind Turbine and Wind power generation system. Will recommend this course for engineers who wish to enter Wind Power industry and students pursuing education in renewable energy.

By SHAIK A

Jan 5, 2020

It's a wonderful journey to me while I am learning the course called wind energy and I don't have words to say that how they are working ,interacting with others with effective manner ,

Thanks for your amazing course to give us and for all your team coordinators