Chevron Left
Back to Business Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Writing by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
4,249 ratings

About the Course

Writing well is one of the most important skills you can develop to be successful in the business world. Over seventy companies and thirty thousand students--from professional writers to new employees to non-native English speakers to seasoned executives--have used the techniques in Business Writing to power their ability to communicate and launch their ideas. This course will teach you how to apply the top ten principles of good business writing to your work, how to deploy simple tools to dramatically improve your writing, and how to execute organization, structure, and revision to communicate more masterfully than ever. From the very first lesson, you'll be able to apply your new learning immediately to your work and improve your writing today. Your ideas are powerful. Learn how to deliver them with the clarity and impact they deserve. "Thank you for giving me the knowledge I need in life. [Business Writing] was helpful, life changing, and has made a huge impact in my writing." -- Message from a Business Writing student The principles you'll learn in this course enable you to become a great business writer. They also provide the foundation for moving into Graphic Design and Successful Presentation, so that you can unleash your best professional self whenever--and however--you present your ideas in the workplace. This course can be taken for academic credit as part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Data Science (MS-DS) degree offered on the Coursera platform. The MS-DS is an interdisciplinary degree that brings together faculty from CU Boulder’s departments of Applied Mathematics, Computer Science, Information Science, and others. With performance-based admissions and no application process, the MS-DS is ideal for individuals with a broad range of undergraduate education and/or professional experience in computer science, information science, mathematics, and statistics. Learn more about the MS-DS program at https://www.coursera.org/degrees/master-of-science-data-science-boulder....

Top reviews

MA

Nov 29, 2020

THIS COURSE IS VERY HELPFUL FOR EVERYONE

WHO WANT TO LEARN HOW TO WRITE MEMO HOW TO DESIGN IT HOW TO ADD HEADING POINTS

I LEARNED HERE EVERY SINGLE THINGS THAT HAPPEN IN REAL LIFE

GOOD COURSE

YS

Jun 11, 2017

It was an exceptional course with lots to take away from. It taught basic building blocks of business writing and then built upon it which provided a great way to self learn the content of the course.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,245 Reviews for Business Writing

By Michael M

Mar 15, 2023

The course on business writing was beneficial to improving my skills. Quinn presented the information clearly and concisely. The presentation was broken down into bite sized bits followed by quizzes ensuring the content was retained.

By Deepti L

Feb 9, 2022

It was an engaging course with lots to take away from. It taught basic business writing and helped me improve my writing, communicating with a lot of easy tips from the educator. The peer grading assignments are very helpful to learn.

By Aamir C

Oct 7, 2020

To much think learn in this course,It was an exceptional course with lots to take away from,It taught basic building blocks of business writing and then built upon it which provided a great way to self learn the content of the course.

By vince s

Nov 30, 2017

I found this an incredibly simple course, but that doesn't mean easy. The modules were laid out well and Quentin provides great detail in her instructions. I am using the tools every day and I know that the clarity is coming quickly.

By Tuhina A

Oct 28, 2020

It is an exceptionally well, easy to implement course. I could immediately put the lesson learning to practice and see improvement. I would recommend this to all those who want to be able to express well in writing and be clearer.

By Lia F

Apr 13, 2018

I audited this course and even though I did not get to take the quizzes or participate in the assignments it improved my writing and revision skill. It was incredibly informative and easy to follow. I highly recommend this course.

By G. A W

Jul 17, 2020

This was exactly what I needed. Even though I notice lingual slacking in others writing I try to be forgiving. I try not to do it myself, but I have fallen into some bad habits and will remember what I learned in this course.

By Deleted A

Dec 26, 2019

I appreciate what I have learned in this course. I was able to sharpen my writing, which is more important to me now than in previous years. In my young adulthood, good and great writing is crucial for me in my career choice.

By BMMA-A M R F

Mar 11, 2021

This course is really helpful at all aspects especially in becoming professional and achieving success. It caters everything important especially what I supposed to know when writing a letter or simply my personal development.

By Arise H

Mar 31, 2021

This a great course I will recommend to anyone who wants an enviable growth in his or her career. I will always bear in mind clarity, brevity and cutting down the unessential's and write to make my readers experience easier.

By Roleth F

Nov 2, 2020

This is a short course which highlihgts the most important elements in Business Writing It is short, simple, easy to learn but very precise. Thank you for this course. I hope to apply it in my daily professional activities,.

By MIKAELA D O E

Jun 27, 2020

This course enabled me to get out of my comfort zone and improve my writing skills. Although I have much to learn, thankfully, I already covered the basic foundation to become a better writer. Thank you for this opportunity.

By Arles M

Sep 11, 2022

Rellay loved the pace of the Business Writting Course as well as all the videos, files, and other media offered to facilitate the instruction period.

Recommend to anyone that would like to improve their writting skills.

By Harrison D

Jul 12, 2020

The course on business writing made me rethink the way I write, by keeping the experience of the reader top of mind. I learned tips that emphasize clarity, proofreading, and brevity when composing any document or email.

By Raúl A M

Jul 23, 2017

Gracias por el Curso y por el esfuerzo de ustedes en cada sesion. Es un curso donde se aprende realmente a escribir y a pensar. Durante cada sesión senti cercano el apoyo de los instructores. Gracias y Dios los bendiga.

By Bethany N M

Sep 19, 2020

Business Writing is an excellent (and fun) refresher course in writing with clarity and brevity. The 10 steps will guide my professional writing career. Looking froward to the next three MOOCS in this Specialization.

By Raju Y

Jul 5, 2021

The course gave me an idea, how to write concise and clear . I am thankful to Dr. Quentin McAndrew for designing easy, and useful business writing. I will recommend everyone to try this course. It is truly helpful.

By Ellis K P

Nov 15, 2016

Great course!

For me this course ended too quickly. I think the business writing aspect of this specialization can be divided into two or three courses, so that we may get more time to practice and learn new things.

By Ehsaneddin A

Jan 10, 2023

Are you working in the business? Of course you are!

Do you happen to write anything? Sure you do!

So...

You must pass this course to have confidence, look smart, and avoid ambiguities in your official communications.

By Michail S

Sep 8, 2017

Excellent course, very good lectures and great tips to improve your business writing skills. The course teaches the basics of great business writing and challenges you to elevate your writing. Highly recommended!

By Sabiha S

Jan 15, 2022

I would really like to recommend everyone this course. It helped me to understand how one can write about a topic with selective perfect words. It also includes some other good technics for a business writing.

By Karl C

Mar 18, 2021

Quick, easy-to-absorb and immediately implement exercises to cut down on unnecessary word choices. Prime examples of lazy grammar, and, most importantly, owning your ideas and being direct, terse and affective.

By Alejandra B

Mar 1, 2018

This course includes very important and useful techniques for a better writing. It was a smooth experience, easy to comprehend and apply. I loved watching the videos. The course is interesting and entertaining.

By Cassie C

Sep 22, 2021

Simple to follow! The videos are shown in short clips, so they are easily digestible. If you need a refresher or a better understand of what it means to write well in your company this is the course for you :)

By Honiara P

Nov 20, 2022

I have come across so many beautiful people and have read through their assignments and it really helps me with my writing also. This course really makes me understand the terms of writing a memo or a letter.