Chevron Left
Back to Creative Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Problem Solving by University of Minnesota

4.4
stars
2,006 ratings
623 reviews

About the Course

This course deals directly with your ability for creativity which is a critical skill in any field. It focuses on divergent thinking, the ability to develop multiple ideas and concepts to solve problems. Through a series of creativity building exercises, short lectures, and readings, learners develop both an understanding of creativity and increase their own ability. This course will help you understand the role of creativity and innovation in your own work and in other disciplines. It will challenge you to move outside of your existing comfort zone and to recognize the value of that exploration. This course will help you understand the importance of diverse ideas, and to convey that understanding to others. The principal learning activity in the course is a series of "differents" where you are challenged to identify and change your own cultural, habitual, and normal patterns of behavior. Beginning with a prompt, e.g. "eat something different", you will begin to recognize your own = limits and to overcome them. In addition, you are encouraged to understand that creativity is based on societal norms, and that by it's nature, it will differ from and be discouraged by society. In this course, the persistence of the creative person is developed through practice. At the same time, these exercises are constrained by concerns of safety, legality, and economics, which are addressed in their creative process....

Top reviews

EN
Jan 17, 2021

I really enjoyed this course, it was very informative and easy to follow. The videos were clear and the graded sections were great. The course as a whole was enjoyable and would recommend to others.

AF
Mar 1, 2016

SO INTERESTING AND FUN. Have you ever took a stranger'S secret and propose another stranger to take that secret in exchange of one of his? This course is an opportunity to do crazy stuff like that!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 622 Reviews for Creative Problem Solving

By Eddie S

Aug 23, 2020

I have a little difficulty since English is not my mother language and also the sound are not loud enough for me. I have to repeat a lot of times when i didn't hear the sounds. Overall its encouraging you to do something uniquely and be more brave, also you have to got a strong internal motivation.

By JAYA K R K

Jul 22, 2020

I have came across the significance of divergent thinking rather than stopping with convergent thinking (one idea) and how well our physical and social environment influences the creativity in us. This course helped me to think in a different aspect of ideas. Make use of the course effectively.

By Can D

Jun 22, 2020

This class teaches different ways of thinking. Also it teaches you the benefits of creativity. Creative thinking results in creative ideas, which results in maybe new amazing things. The videos are very clear even tho my english is very bad, it was easy to understand. It was fun too :) thanks

By Prafull P

Apr 3, 2021

learnt a lot from the course.... far more than I expected while starting..... All the techniques for increasing creativity to misconceptions about creativity ...everything about this course is superb and will be beneficial for me.. thank you so much dear professors and Coursera for this!

By Khalid A M A H

Jul 4, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course , and i wish i had more time to write a review, but I am being sent to the military again in a few hours and need some sleep , thank you for this opportunity you have offered me , it has opened my eyes to online learning, and how to be a better me.

By Jemicha E G

Jul 29, 2020

This is my first experience for me to join this Course, I could't imagine that the material was great and attractive and engage , always try to think different, eat different too :-) and find new perspective.

Hopefully it can be useful for my job

Thanks

By Charles N

Jun 29, 2020

This course digs deep into making you advance yourself and your creativity by focusing on methods needed to strengthen your already present creativity at the end of the day if you use the methods you will be in a never ending improved curve . THANKS

By Pragash N

Jul 1, 2020

This course is really amazing and help students to gain their knowledge and also their self improvement.This course help me to improve my self experience by doing DSD task and it’s a beneficial course for me and also for other students as well

By Avik M

Nov 2, 2021

Experienced a lot of learning with practical examples. It was very clear and helpful. It guides one properly to think on creating various ideas,Both the instructors were clearly audible and hence it was very easy to learn the concepts.

By Jahanvi S

Jun 24, 2020

This is an absolutely amazing way to get back to your childhood and become creative more than you are . It was very well planned and teaching was simple and easy going . one can easily finish the course . It was practical enough .

By jade m

May 21, 2020

Thank you for making my Quarantine Life meaningful and productive. Whenever I look at an object, I know think of the possible many uses beyond its intended use. Thank you to the professors of University of Minnessota. More Power !

By Ehimwenma k O

May 5, 2020

The course encouraged me to explore and push my creativity boundaries and engage with my environment in ways that i would not have imagined previously.

It has equipped me to be more creative as an SME Accountant and business owner.

By Stan M

May 25, 2020

The course has a straightforward approach of putting practical exercises first, with no boring explanation of pedagogical science behind them. A great confidence of the authors makes it surprising and more effective for the user.

By Liezl R

Apr 23, 2021

I really enjoyed it and I am able to do things that I was so afraid to try. This definitely help me boost my self-confidence and the thought that being different is not a bad thing. More power to you guys. And God Bless you all.

By Khanh N

Aug 27, 2020

This course gave me a new way of looking things around me. However, camera angles are quite bad and sometimes out focused. Overall, I recommend everyone to take this course. The DSDs are challenging but probably worth doing.

By Katherine K

Jul 19, 2020

This course will dare you to step out of your comfort zone. Most innovations and creative works defy the society's idea of normal. Sometimes it's just about stepping out of the box and re-learning something you already know.

By abha r S

May 1, 2020

I found this course very useful as it inspired me to think beyond mundane things in our daily life. I have also learnt to record my ideas and thoughts, which I have been not doing so far. very stimulating and encouraging .

By Ramiro V

May 16, 2020

Definitely cps is a course that we all need today, it leads us to understand in a much more diverse and rich way the most effective way to meet the challenges of our day to day in an original, unique and striking way

By SHRASTHI G

Jun 23, 2020

Very interesting and itself out of the box course that teaches you to think outside the box. A life changing lesson if you are able to grasp the depth of the course. Thanks to professor for such an awesome session.

By Hagaliaah p

Jul 1, 2020

It was a really good course to improve student’s self experience, I really enjoyed doing the DSD tasks and I’m this course really help me to think out of the box and I’ve improved my self experience as well 👌🏻

By Karen S

Nov 8, 2020

I had so much fun doing the projects in this course! I learned a variety of techniques to stimulate creativity, and I am looking forward to continuing with the suggestions to expand upon my creativity skills.

By Vivi A A

Apr 30, 2020

I am very grateful for this program, I can think more openly and differently, seeing an issue not only from the side that people usually see but from the side of what is possible and not thought of by others.

By Pooja S M

Apr 20, 2020

This course helped me to improve my creative thinking strategies, it helped me to teach my students in a very proper manner, very appropriate examples, and very informative lectures. Thank you for this course

By aynurə r

May 10, 2020

That was amazing experience for me.I got lots of new skills and knowledge about creativity.Thanks to teachers and every review from the group. I believe in the future this course wil help me on my career

By Dr S N S

Apr 24, 2020

Course was Brief. Yet it provided a Glimpse of spark or Ignition to our creativity. Congrats to Course Instructor. All the best to all who Interested to kindle their Interest in Creative Problem Solving.