Chevron Left
Back to Creative Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Problem Solving by University of Minnesota

4.4
stars
2,006 ratings
623 reviews

About the Course

This course deals directly with your ability for creativity which is a critical skill in any field. It focuses on divergent thinking, the ability to develop multiple ideas and concepts to solve problems. Through a series of creativity building exercises, short lectures, and readings, learners develop both an understanding of creativity and increase their own ability. This course will help you understand the role of creativity and innovation in your own work and in other disciplines. It will challenge you to move outside of your existing comfort zone and to recognize the value of that exploration. This course will help you understand the importance of diverse ideas, and to convey that understanding to others. The principal learning activity in the course is a series of "differents" where you are challenged to identify and change your own cultural, habitual, and normal patterns of behavior. Beginning with a prompt, e.g. "eat something different", you will begin to recognize your own = limits and to overcome them. In addition, you are encouraged to understand that creativity is based on societal norms, and that by it's nature, it will differ from and be discouraged by society. In this course, the persistence of the creative person is developed through practice. At the same time, these exercises are constrained by concerns of safety, legality, and economics, which are addressed in their creative process....

Top reviews

EN
Jan 17, 2021

I really enjoyed this course, it was very informative and easy to follow. The videos were clear and the graded sections were great. The course as a whole was enjoyable and would recommend to others.

AF
Mar 1, 2016

SO INTERESTING AND FUN. Have you ever took a stranger'S secret and propose another stranger to take that secret in exchange of one of his? This course is an opportunity to do crazy stuff like that!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 622 Reviews for Creative Problem Solving

By Julie R

Sep 26, 2021

This was first time ever taking an online course. I'm not even computer savvy. This class was awesome!!!!!!I appreciated the clarity through it all. If you think you're creative, give this class a try!

By Juan F N C

Aug 7, 2020

I like the course becouse it forced me to act and think in a different way I used to and give me information to start developing a new aproach to the challenges and tasks I go through everyday

By Rakesh J

Feb 15, 2021

A concise and informative course. The course consolidates my fundamental knowledge about the different components and concepts of problem-solving and decision-making. I really learned a lot.

By Eduardo J V B

Jan 19, 2021

An entertaining and informative course that motivates students to develop imaginative and creative patterns of behavior and thought in their daily lives and in their professional careers.

By Jill P

May 26, 2020

the experience of doing this course and participating into the different quizzes and DSD's has made me think more creatively and somewhere made me more brave. The proffessors were amazing.

By PATIL V

Jul 24, 2020

It is an awesome course if you do it seriously and very interesting assignments were there and grading our peers helps us to learn new things I am glad that I was a part of this course.

By Việt, H T

May 26, 2020

After studying this course, I was confident in doing something different for myself / everyone around me to make life more fun, more creative. Thanks for the course and the instructors.

By Arpita S

Oct 14, 2020

Frankly speaking it helped me to explore a complete new dimension of my personality. After completing this course my idea, perception about creativity took a new path. Thanks very much

By Mildred R

Nov 21, 2020

Im so happy to had the opportunity to do this course. i really liked the way all the material was presented and the way the challenge us to try something different. well recommended.

By ARTURO B L

Feb 28, 2021

Excellent way to learn that your creativity depends on your motivation and also can be increased like every other ability, it challenge you to do different things at all times.

By Maslennikova S

Oct 5, 2020

Курс понравился, одно удовольствие слушать лекции и выполнять задания. Выписала для себя полезные заметки и буду продолжать практиковаться. Спасибо!! Cool course! Thanks :)))

By 240 S S B F

Aug 5, 2020

wonderful course! Helped me laern many skills to increase my creativity and the DSDs were amazing to take part in and interact with other people taking the course with me

By Mihai A C

Sep 7, 2019

During this course i have learned a lot of interesting new things and i have learned that the sky is the limit when it comes to creativity. There are no wrong answers

By Vanik A

Jun 25, 2020

I really loved the course. Duration, assignments, and sharp thinking techniques helped me to become more communicative and creative while with friends or strangers.

By pullurvyshnavi

Apr 11, 2020

yaa its a wonderful oppertunity for the students ...im feeling great ....i want keep going like this...i will be continue what im learning in this course..thankyou

By zuhair o

May 27, 2020

Thanks so much for coursera first and the instructor for this useful course , i found everything in this course very fascinating and i hope for everyone success.

By Timiri V

May 3, 2020

Absolutely loved it! This course enabled to think in ways my mind would normally not venture into. The videos are well presented, clear and interesting to watch.

By Sehresh M

Jun 10, 2020

This course makes you stretch your creativity to new lengths as you try new and unusual ideas, Explains how we all can increase our creativity through practice.

By Bogdana K

May 12, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! The lecturers were great and they gave me a lot fo ideas which I can import into my daily work and brainstorm sessions. Thank you!

By Nur M

Sep 28, 2021

this course help me a lot to improve my creativity, this course diigged all of the the hidden creativity potential inside of me that i didn't realize before.

By Aliftya D

Jul 28, 2020

this class is so fun. no hard tests is needed, the explanation is easy to understand. i learned a lot and hope this will benefit in my real life. thankyou!

By Aishwarya K

Jun 13, 2020

I really enjoyed the tasks and originality development assessment. I have gained a quality knowledge on creativity and how a person can improve creativity,

By Aashish B

May 31, 2020

awesome, It is so helpful in real life practically. The creative thinking reduce the conflict on office management and also thinking about company growth

By Sharvari S

Jun 20, 2020

One of my favorite courses. I got to experiment with myself and my surroundings. It was fun and motivated me to always keep shining on with my creativity.

By Muhammad Y K

Jun 1, 2020

it was my first experience and honestly i cant tell you that how much happy i'm right now thank you so much for improving my skills and believing in me.