Chevron Left
Back to Drug Commercialization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Drug Commercialization by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
965 ratings
182 reviews

About the Course

The University of California San Diego, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Drug Commercialization course brings you lectures from both faculty and industry experts. With this course, recorded on campus at UCSD, we seek to share our access to top people in the field who bring an unprecedented range of expertise on drug commercialization. This course will cover pharmacoeconomic, marketing strategy, intellectual property strategy, portfolio management, managed markets and strategic alliances. It will also have a lecture case study from startup to success. In addition, the course will discuss post-marketing clinical trials or Phase 4 trials. These are conducted after a new drug has been approved by the regulatory agencies and launched. In these studies, the new drug is prescribed in an everyday healthcare environ­ment using a much larger group of patients. This enables new treat­ment uses for the new drug to be developed, comparisons with other treatments for the same indication to be made, and determination of the clinical effectiveness of the new drug in a wider variety of patient types, and more rare side effects, if any, may be detected . Pre-marketing strategy should be instigated as early as Phase 1 clinical trials to ensure that the market's needs are incorporated into the new drug's overall develop­ment. Later phases when clinical results are presented at international medical conferences the marketing strategy is then refined in order to develop an awareness amongst the medical community who will be prescribing the new drug. In addition to the marketing strategy, pricing strategy and a tactical plan will be developed. Promotional material, and the sales force will be trained so that when the product is approved they can promote the drug to physician, pharmacist and nurses. This course is intended as part 3 of a series: Drug Discovery (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-discovery), Drug Development (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-development) and Drug Commercialization. We would highly recommend that you take the courses in order since it will give you a better understanding on how a drug is discovered in the lab before being tested in clinical trials and then launched in the market place....

Top reviews

JR
Jan 7, 2017

Excellent course on strategies for drug commercialization including pharmacoeconomics and how pharma partners with other stakeholders to accomplish this. Excellent examples of drug lifecycles.

AM
Nov 9, 2020

Excellent content and lecturers. Great course to finish this specialization. I strongly recommend the three courses for those interested in pursuing a career in pharma or willing to shift.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 184 Reviews for Drug Commercialization

By Deane L J

Dec 12, 2019

Foundation concepts were fantastic but the course is getting a little dated with some of the presented materials

By Carrie S

Aug 17, 2018

This course desperately needs to be updated

By Kavita S

Jun 13, 2020

Brilliant course and I am truly thankful to courser for bringing and simplifying education for all of us. So happy to be associated with coursera and learning.

By Rushabh S

Jan 26, 2020

Very helpful course if you`re planning to make a career in pharma. Gave a lot of insights on topics like drug commercialisation, regulatory, partnership, etc.

By Vanja T

Mar 14, 2018

Very interesting topic and discussion points and truly impressive choice of presenters.

Presentations are bit better than in two previous courses, but not much. Additionally, most of the data is totally outdated, which is really shame and unexpected for Coursera course done by well known university.

By Tatiane c r

Jun 16, 2018

This course is not well updated

By Feng X

May 13, 2020

Great contents covering economics, marketing, regulation, IP, academics-industry collaboration, and actual successful biotech startup stories. I highly recommended this course.

By Bharat S S

Aug 10, 2019

I enjoyed completed the three courses of this series - Drug Discovery, Development and Commercialization. The instructors were very knowledgeable and I came to know several aspects of the industry. I would say that anyone who if from outside the Pharma industry and wants to quickly understand how the industry operates will learn a lot from this course triad of UCSD. I am thankful to all the instuctors, course-developers, UCSD staff and Coursera for making available such high quality content to learners all over the world.

By YOGESH S D

May 20, 2019

bird eye view from discovery till commercialization excellent presentation I wish this could be updated as per current developments

By Michael M F

Oct 2, 2020

I am so glad to complete “Drug Commercialization” course, provided by the university of California San Diego on Coursera. This course covers many topics including pharmacoeconomic, marketing strategy, intellectual property strategy, portfolio management, managed markets and strategic alliances. Moreover, there is a lecture case study from startup to success. Lectures in this course are given not only by university professors but also many industry experts working on drug development at big pharmaceutical companies and were glad to share real success stories that they had.

I enjoyed accessing all modules especially the last one which is a case study in Biotech from the very beginning. It was very interesting as it provided an example for serendipity still playing a role despite the technological breakthrough in Drug discovery. While working on NNRTI for HIV, unexpected reduction in Uric Acid caused by a drug metabolite was observed in Phase 1 Multiple Dose Study, accordingly a new drug called Lesinurad was developed.

All in all, I highly recommend this course for whoever interested in interested in Drug development and commercialization

By Evelyn C

Jan 23, 2021

This course is well-structured, top-quality, and adequately informative to learn about highly regulated industries not limited to pharmaceutical, but also substances such as vaping, tobacco, and biotech business. As a marketing professional, I have learned a lot about the aspects covered in this course. My favorite content is Professor Jan Hirsch's pharmacoeconomics. It would be really helpful to take the week 1 content "pharmaceutical landscape" in the "Drug Discovery" course before starting this "Drug Commercialization" course. Many thanks to Professor Ettouati for creating this course and making it available online.

By Jason C D A

Jul 8, 2018

Great course, the best among the trio if you're in the pharmaceutical market in some capacity. Gives you an understanding of how drugs and devices are conceived then sold to the market. A point for improvement would be the discussion or at least the mention of the wholesaler market (e.g. ABC, Mckesson, Cardinal) and their positioning on the whole pharmaceutical supply chain (as well as its European counterparts).

By Maya H

May 16, 2020

Thank you for a great course that gives you a thorough understanding about pharma and biotech companies as we as how to commercialize drugs, specially in the US! As an American citizen living in Lebanon, this course was needed for me to understand the differences in countries when it comes to commercializing drugs and gaining market access. I look forward to apply this knowledge soon in the USA!

By Roaa M S

Jul 16, 2020

I took this course along with the 2 other courses provided by the course's lecturers (drug discovery and drug development) , loved and enjoyed each and every single one of these courses specially drug discovery and the last lecture of this course. I highly recommend these courses to all pharmacy students or to anyone who is generally interested in working in the pharma industry.

By Marcus L W K

May 30, 2020

Started this course with little to no background knowledge of the Pharmaceutical Industry. However, the course instructors' presentation skills makes the information very reader-friendly. I have gained more knowledge over the processes within drug commercialisation, including on pricing strategies and the different governmental (and industry) regulatory frameworks.

By Ahmad I

Jun 8, 2020

Great course! The courses ties in Pharmacy and Economics very well. Using real life examples to explain concept also aids learners in understanding and applying the concepts in real life. An improvement would be to define some key words when they go through the slides as some of the terms were unknown to me. Overall great job! :)

By Elizabeth C

Feb 10, 2017

This is yet another brilliant module by Dr. Ettouati and Dr. Ma. I really appreciate their bringing in industry experts with deep expertise, practical experience and insights to make this an engaging and interesting course. Definitely recommend it to anyone looking to get a good overview of the Drug commercialization process.

By Juuso K

Jun 17, 2021

G​ood overview on the complex process of taking a promising molecule all the way to the pharmacy shelves. As a medical student and future physician I find it important to understand how pharmaceutical economics work and what factors influence which drugs get developed, approved and prescribed.

By Riccardo S

May 11, 2020

Un bellissimo corso sul Commercio dei Farmaci. Completo e molto bene elaborato. Mi ha fornito nozioni e informazioni molto interessanti. La difficoltà di un corso in lingua inglese ha acceso la mia curiosità, che spesso è andata ben oltre il corso, ricercando concetti e approfondimenti. Grazie

By nirmal j

Oct 22, 2020

This is a very informative course with an overview of marketing, sales, business models, portfolio management, strategic alliances, amongst many other topics in the pharma industry. I found it useful to have a background in life-science and biotechnology to get a quick grasp of the course.

By Winnie O C Y

Jun 18, 2020

An interest and eye-opening course! It really thought me about the industry and the different facets that are important when it comes to Drug Commercialisation. Different viewpoints shared by various experts that gave lectures definitely value-added my experience for this course

By Philip L

Jan 1, 2017

This is an excellent course. It has input from leading industry experts that make it relevant. There is an attempt to make reference to EU and some other global statistics. But this is a course focused on the USA industry. However, many concepts and theory are valid globally.

By Mohammad H A

Aug 28, 2019

It was a very effective online course that helped me gain some valuable knowledge about drug discovery, development and commercialization. I recommend it to all pharmacists to follow such kind of courses so as to improve their professional career.

By IRAMPA E

Apr 27, 2021

wow wow

it was wonderful to go through all this course subchapters, were very educative, understandable and easy to follow.

i appreciate everyone, our professor who took their time to rteach us and develop as in knowledge.

many appreciation!

By ZIA U

Sep 15, 2020

I learned much in this course.

I learned how to start a pharma business .

I learned drug commercialization.

Although the professors were very good and my experience with them is very great .

Thanks Coursera for that opportunity.