Chevron Left
Back to Developing An Entrepreneurial Mindset: First Step Towards Success

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Developing An Entrepreneurial Mindset: First Step Towards Success by Michigan State University

4.3
167 ratings
54 reviews

About the Course

This course is the first in a series on starting a business. Though new venture creation is the focus of the specialization, this course is important for everyone.To create a successful business it is not only about what you do (technical execution), it is also about how you think. This course provides learners with insights to re-frame their thinking in order to maximize their chances for success. So what can a learner expect to gain from this course? At the end of this course a learner: 1.) will be able to argue effectively against all of the reasons for not starting their business (or reaching some goal); 2.) will be able to operate effectively within the new framework or model for starting a business (or any new endeavor), thus increasing their chances for success; and 3.) will be able to make the initial business startup decisions of what type of business to start, and what type of business owner to be. Having an entrepreneurial mindset is critical to being successful as an entrepreneur. An entrepreneurial mindset stands alone in terms of its importance. No other attribute, personality, inherent entrepreneurial proclivities, training, or demographic profile is common to all successful entrepreneurs whether Warren Buffet, Steve Jobs, or the neighborhood florist or grocer. The course provides learners with an understanding of the attributes and perspectives of an entrepreneurial mindset, and the process to acquire one. We suggest that learners bring an open mind and be willing to thoroughly explore the nascent business ventures they have been carrying with them.The course introduces concepts that enables a person to start a trans-formative process in the way they think generally, and in the way they think about business specifically. This new way of thinking has the potential to positively impact not only them, but their family, and community....

Top reviews

SP

Aug 06, 2018

I learned basic principles of starting a business as an entrepreneur. Very inspirational and useful to get correct mindset for business.

PA

Jul 08, 2019

This course actually guides you and motivate to work more effectively in the right direction towards your goals and dreams

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 52 Reviews for Developing An Entrepreneurial Mindset: First Step Towards Success

By Joanna R

Sep 05, 2016

Great content! This definitely challenges the mindset of what it takes to be a business owner or entrepreneur. One opportunity I see for the course is to better link the quiz language to what's taught in the videos and the articles, especially for the open ended questions. Those specific points can get lost in all of the ideas shared.

By Katherine B

Jan 03, 2019

I'm very happy and relieved to have found this specialization, and this course. Dr. Carter is saying just what I need to hear: my instincts are right, but he is formalizing that and putting it in an actualizable framework. The website Fundera referred me here, when I went looking for "how to write a business plan".

By James L O

Jan 18, 2019

Excellent course that lays out the components of the entrepreneurial mindset by both exposing the commonly held myths we hold and reveling the truth of trusted methodologies prevalent in functioning during a business start up. Great instructors with a knowledgeable and personal approach. Very happy with what I learned and with the useful information I am taking away with me. Thanks!

By Sandipkumar P

Aug 06, 2018

I learned basic principles of starting a business as an entrepreneur. Very inspirational and useful to get correct mindset for business.

By Houssam A

Apr 17, 2017

Very good way to shift your mindset and show you that its really possible to start your own business

By Tsitsi T

Oct 21, 2016

Challenging and gets you thinking. Awesome and worthwhile.

By Jose M L d A

Jul 10, 2017

This course give you a clear idea of whta do you need to build a start up.

By Samuel H

Feb 02, 2018

Great information presented in easy to understand manner. Great teachers, much appreciated!

By Ali J

Feb 16, 2018

great course

By 张弓长

Feb 28, 2016

I love this course,and i will return back.

By Ahmed K G

Sep 22, 2017

This course is so intense and powerful.

By Daniela F

Feb 23, 2016

Course was clear and the exercises were very important to make us reflect and improve our mindset.

By Juan T

Feb 11, 2016

It is a great course. As the presenters said, it is not tailored to Silicon Valley companies or to sell great inventions. It will help any time of business from dog grooming or barber shops to the Facebook

By DSQuest

Feb 09, 2017

Great course - the best beginning for everyone to being entrepreneur. Not only in business but in whole life.

By Christopher O

Oct 04, 2016

Awesome experience!

By Mattias N

May 22, 2016

This gave an opportunity to present a product and show how easy it is to start preparing to launch your own startup!

By Ahasanul B H

May 23, 2018

One of the best course on this platform. Very good content. And instructors were also very good.

By Asim A Y

Sep 30, 2016

The course made me think. The instruction was clear. This was an enjoyable experience.

By Javier F M

Dec 11, 2017

I loved it! This course goes beyond being a technical guide or theoretical entrepreneurship class. It is motivational, it dares you to think objectively and put you on the right track to get a better -business owner / entrepreneur- perspective or finally take the decision to be one. Thank you!

By Jekaterina

Aug 09, 2017

This course was very helpful. Thank you. ;)

By Armando S

Feb 14, 2016

Practical and useful... good for someone who has thought of opening a business, but who has never actually taken action.

By KENMEUGNE T R F

Oct 17, 2016

I really like the challenges. And the course is too interesting. The Black teacher (Sorry I don't have his name in mind right now) show how science can support empiric thoughts : Everyone can start a business !!! So run people.

By Jon K

May 26, 2017

GOOD COURSE!

By Mohamed M

Mar 21, 2016

Very useful course that preps you as a student really well.

By Burhan K

Jun 02, 2016

It will be helpful to reach my carrier goals. Thank you USA!