Chevron Left
Back to Giving Helpful Feedback

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Giving Helpful Feedback by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
1,900 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches you the simple principles expert managers use to improve and motivate employee performance. You’ll never have to avoid telling an employee “the truth” again, because the seven techniques we teach will not make employees defensive or afraid. As a manager, or someone who would like to be a manager, you’ll also learn specifically what feedback is, how negative feedback is weighed more heavily than positive, and how positive feedback can super-charge behaviors such as creativity and teamwork. Giving feedback is a skill which develops over time. We give you a process you can use to improve your feedback skills and deliver it with confidence. You will find that there is a scientific basis for many of your observations and intuitions about feedback—such as, it is hard to give correctly, people don’t like it, and more. This will be reassuring as you learn how to overcome these difficulties. We hope you have a fantastic time becoming a better manager!...

Top reviews

BC

Invalid date

Excellent course. I started it being a bit skeptical, just with the intention to go quickly through some video scripts. but I changed my mind. There is so much to learn here

EW

Invalid date

I liked the mix of business and psychology in this course, as well as the straight forward and easily implemented strategies for improving both positive and negative feedback.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 591 Reviews for Giving Helpful Feedback

By Kelvin C

Jun 6, 2021

Amazing course with real scenarios where we can develop our feedback skills and learn a lot about how complex it is to give feedback and that we can learn best practices to provide it the best way possible. It would definitely recommend it.

By Diane H

Dec 21, 2016

This course has been my favorite so far. It has really helped me be a better manager to my people. It has hMy employees have even noticed the difference in the feedback they have received vs other management in my company. Thank you!

By Joseph C

Apr 2, 2021

This course is very clear and the instructor is a great communicator. It teaches you skills to use in the workplace, and is legitimately useful for managers or any employee with a manager. Some parts are even useful with your spouse!

By Cherry P

May 6, 2021

This course helped me understand the deeper meaning and importance of feedback. Giving feedback is one of the underrated and essential factors of leadership. All leaders should learn how to use it well. This course is a great help!

By Aditi K

Oct 17, 2016

Extremely helpful. The video-based sessions were full of examples that made the learning simple yet effective. The examples are going to be of great help in preparing the training presentation for managers. Thank you once again.

By Esmeralda V M

Nov 15, 2018

Me encanto el curso, muy claro, objetivo, de echo lo recomendé en la empresa, me ha ayudado mucho la información que en este curso se plantea , muy útil para cualquier persona en cualquier ramo, en la vida cotidiana no solo par

By P.V. J P

Dec 3, 2020

This is one of the best Courses I have enrolled at this University and enjoyed every bit of the Weekly programme. The Course content met my expectations and helped me while discharging my duties in the role of a Supervisor

By mm k

May 9, 2021

give all fundamental knowledge on how to improve your feedback skill. I am not quite a person who good in communication, but this course give me direction on how to give proper feedback in concise and effective speech.

By Kyle C

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent - specific, actionable ways for managers to give good feedback. I also appreciated the psychological explanations to go along with the practical advice. Great course I will recommend to my whole team.

By Anisa C

Nov 27, 2019

The course was quite helpful and majority of the questions were answered. It will help us to deal with various situations more tactfully and be more vigilant while giving feedback and dealing with subordinates

By Mark L

Dec 30, 2016

This is an excellent course - the instructor was obviously competent and lucid in her approach. Each module built on the previous one and that made it easy to stay connected to the course over the five weeks.

By فرحان ج م ا

Sep 15, 2023

Excellent program, thank you very much God bless you

Thank you very much, may God reward you well, and may God bless you for this wonderful program, and may God grant you success in all goodness and pleasure.

By Aedrian A

Jan 14, 2021

A practical and engaging course on productively interacting with people in any team endeavor, the instructor did a great job explaining both the theory behind and execution of delivering meaningful feedback.

By Tharwat M M H

Apr 16, 2023

I learned alot of skills regarding giving and receiving effective feedback in the workplace. Also, my communication and people management skills have been improved with the examples discussed in the course.

By Shamita B

Sep 2, 2021

This course was very helpful to learn the techniques on how to deliver feedback effectively ,how to gain confidence while giving feedback - learned the art of how to give positive and negative feedback

By Suzanne K

Apr 15, 2021

I found the course insightful and very relevant. I am confident the notions from this course can be applied to different works of life. I will personally use it to improve on my personal relationships .

By zhangjunling

Apr 7, 2016

This course is very helpful for me now. After finished this course, It is good to think about how to study, how to commite with others in my life, and how to try to avoide negative feedback in future:)

By Jorge A R Z

Nov 29, 2022

Miss Tracy Jenings was very calm and clear during the training process. I had very valuable information that I can apply to lead my team and manage feedback in a more professional way. Thank you!

By Katarzyna L

May 1, 2020

Interesting and very useful in management and team work. Filled with examples and case studies that make it easier to understand the principles of giving feedback and speed up the learning!

By FABIO A L S

Jan 20, 2022

Buen curso, da las bases para hacer un feedback positvo y negativo enfocado en la mejora de nuestros compañeros, hace uso de ejemplos situacionales importante para este tipo de temas.

By Dr S K

Jul 11, 2020

Truly an eye opener. Giving correct feedback is important not only to change behavior but also improve productivity and maintain a warm environment in the workplace. Excellent Course

By Yulia Z

Feb 29, 2016

I think it's a course everyone should take. It really lays out square and simple the main guidelines and counterintuitive ideas about giving feedback. Does what it says on the cover.

By Mary N M S

May 4, 2021

I love how this course was designed - incorporating the psychology bonus part and science-based. I learned a lot of practical ways that I can apply to my new workplace. Thank you!

By Elizabeth W

May 23, 2021

I liked the mix of business and psychology in this course, as well as the straight forward and easily implemented strategies for improving both positive and negative feedback.

By Brenda R G

Sep 4, 2022

The course was very helpful, even if we are not managers, we can still learn the skill of giving helpful feedback since it's something that often is needed in our daily life.