Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Finance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Finance by University of Pennsylvania

3.9
stars
489 ratings
140 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn the basic fundamentals of corporate finance. Based on the pre-term qualifying courses for Wharton MBA students, Professor Jessica Wachter has designed this course for learners who need a refresher in financial concepts, or for those who are learning about corporate finance for the first time. You’ll identify foundational concepts in corporate finance, such as NPV, Compound and Simple Interest, and Annuities versus Perpetuities. You’ll also learn how to apply the NPV framework to calculating fixed-income valuation and Equity, using hypothetical examples of corporate projects. By the end of this course, you’ll have honed your skills in calculating risk and returns to optimize investments, and be able to assess the right set of financial information to achieve better returns for your firm....

Top reviews

DT
Jan 18, 2021

It was an Amazing journey learning with Coursera & University of Pennsylvania!! I went back to my school years and I remembered back my Algebra, thank you so much!!

SM
Aug 21, 2021

the professor speaks very clearly. Not withstanding I have a question. Is there anyway to ask a question on this venue?Not withstanding I have a question.

Filter by:

126 - 142 of 142 Reviews for Fundamentals of Finance

By Agung B S

Sep 26, 2021

Kurangnya soal case yang berat sehingga bagi calon murid baru akan sangat kesusahan memahami.

By Eeshan M

Mar 15, 2021

more real life examples (as in quizzes) should have been explained in the module

By Sourav K

Jun 22, 2021

The content is very nice but the explanation in the videos is not good at all.

By Yiqi J

Feb 7, 2021

Understand basic concept of corporate finance but not very in-depth.

By John L

Jan 6, 2022

T​his course was frustrating. There are errors and inconsistencies in the notes and exams, which makes it very frustrating. I lost a lot of time because, e.g. one answer required you to round differently from the other answers. Also, not all of the exam questions are straight-up applications of the examples in the lectures; instead, many are "applied" questions, where you have to stretch your understanding to know how to use the equations. I understand why this is a valuable type of question for achieving true learning, but in a learning scenario where you can't go back to the teacher and ask "why am I getting this wrong," and especially given how confusing the notes are, it is extremely frustrating.

By Yunjong G

Jul 31, 2021

Nice supplementary materials but the lecturer basically repeats them without much contextual explanation to provide more insights or reasons.

By Jeremiah C

Jun 18, 2021

very solid information but its not really a audit if they make you sign up to take the quizes. Loved this app but then they made this...

By Samantha A

Oct 1, 2021

Good information, somewhat hard to understand when based solely on lectures and notes. Wasn't a very enjoyable course.

By Nicholas N

Sep 1, 2021

Lectures were definitely not enough to cover quizzes

By ELENI B

Dec 2, 2021

its not for beginners.

By Lily K

Oct 12, 2021

​Impossible to understand as a beginner. Spelling errors all over. The math work isn’t shown so you have to guess. Awful!

By mohammad y a

Jan 4, 2022

the worest course i had take for ever! unfortunately, the professor dont know how to teach.

By Bobby

Oct 20, 2021

V​ery poor communicator. Unfortunately, the quality of the content is lost.

By Kay K H S

Nov 9, 2021

It is difficult to understand.

By David M

Nov 27, 2021

One because I can't unenroll.

By Madihah s

Nov 29, 2021

i did not sign up for this

By Galina P

Oct 21, 2021

Very bad