Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Business Analytics: Communicating with Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Business Analytics: Communicating with Data by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.6
stars
581 ratings

About the Course

This course introduces students to the science of business analytics while casting a keen eye toward the artful use of numbers found in the digital space. The goal is to provide businesses and managers with the foundation needed to apply data analytics to real-world challenges they confront daily in their professional lives. Students will learn to identify the ideal analytic tool for their specific needs; understand valid and reliable ways to collect, analyze, and visualize data; and utilize data in decision making for their agencies, organizations or clients....

Top reviews

KB

Invalid date

Very straight forward, informational, and useful. I learned a lot (and I've been a professional designer for years!)

F

Invalid date

Good course to understand the fundamentals of data visualization and how to effectively communicate through visuals instead of plain words or number tables

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 162 Reviews for Introduction to Business Analytics: Communicating with Data

By Ksenia K

Apr 11, 2019

The course is rather boring. The instructor can't get the audience interested with a topic since he gets confused with his own words sometimes. The course focuses on some simple things too much and when it comes to something complicated - he gets over it too fast.

By Brian A

Jun 12, 2020

This has too theory not enough application.

By Parvase M

Sep 26, 2019

Amazing course - changed my perception about Data Analytics.

I understand why Kevin Hartner is heading Google's Analytics - he completely focuses on the story rather than the data (80% WHY - 20% HOW RULE)

By Miriam H

Jul 18, 2019

Amazing course - my only issue is that I think it was previously part of a 6 series specialization and I can't locate the other courses.

By Vishal S

Jun 16, 2020

Do not wast your time. I can't believe this is a course from UIUC. Poor quality of instruction. Slides are made out of different books and teaches you how to make use of different formatting.

By Качалов Г В

Jul 5, 2021

Lectures are good, but quizes are boring. 3 stars - maximum for this course

By Somnath B

Jul 16, 2023

Excellent course for those who want to advance their knowledge in the field of Business Analytics and how to tell a good story by analysing data both in structured and unstructured form.

Also, I would like to congratulate Professor Kevin Hartman for delivering the course so purposefully and with such clarity. It was awesome listening to and learning from him.

I sincerely wish GIES College will bring more such trending courses in the future.

By Rafael P

Sep 3, 2019

It was great to give me a better understanding about the way how we can structure and systematically deliver a great data visualization. It will definitely improve my communication.

By Carolina C

Apr 24, 2021

I loved the course it was great, although in the last honor track assignment I think it should be revised as it doesn't have anything to do with what was seen throughout the course

By Riya J

May 11, 2020

It is an amazing course for a beginner who has just ventured into the world of analytics. Not only were the lectures amazingly explained, the assignments also were interesting.

By Farhad S (

Feb 4, 2023

Good course to understand the fundamentals of data visualization and how to effectively communicate through visuals instead of plain words or number tables

By Matthew B

May 29, 2019

Awesome course and even better instructor!

By Silvia A

Mar 21, 2021

The course was very interesting and the videos were very informative. I wish it didn't rely as much on outside sources like books that we needed to buy in order to know all the facts. In my opinion the course should include all reading sources for free.

By PEH C W

Nov 5, 2019

Course provide a good structure and guidance for communication of Data.

By Deleted A

Oct 30, 2020

The content is good, not denying in that. But the the grading, of the peer-reviewed assignments, is bad, so bad, that it simply isn't worth it. Even if somehow, you are enrolling this in for free!

By Seok L

Jun 7, 2020

course contents are really poor. the multi-choice quiz is nonsense. for the data visualization course, ask what's the oil consumption in barrels in the US for a year? the multi-choice answer is ridiculous. I need to choose amongst ridiculous numbers. also, some true/false choice answer doesn't have the correct one. for instance, first chance, if I choose true, so I got the wrong result (although it should be the answer), then the next round chooses false, then I got again the wrong result. mediocre class.

By PRASANTH K S

Jun 14, 2020

Kevin was very nice. His diction and language were simple and easy to understand for people like me who are not from the US. And well, he is the Director of Analytics at GOOGLE. SO He never disappointed with his data visualization techniques and the green screen was used to the hilt. The way Kevin was moving around the screen and that kept me hooked to the screen( rather hilariously) but it worked. Great art I should say. I thoroughly enjoyed the session and learnt a great deal of Kevin, Dona Wong and many others.

By Emmanuel D Q

Sep 2, 2020

With this course I learned a lot, nowadays we use the typical tools for creating dataviz but with the increase of technology the marketing tools have been innovated. Tools that have an effective ease of use and a great capability are learned in this course. Communicating through dataviz is an art , and needs a structure to be created.

In conclussion, Business analytics is a huge field to explore and with this course as an introduction, I learned new terms and new ways to apply it.

By Yongpeav O

May 26, 2020

This course very amazing help knowing alot about how to use data in the correct way and the right time use it. For moreover it give us each explanation in the lesson very clear and easy to understand about that. Thank you university and professor for provide this online course thank you.

By Jaydin D V

Jun 8, 2020

Great online course especially for professionals who works a lot in data and presenting it as clearly, on-point, and concise as much as possible to clients. I like how flexible and self-paced the course is. Special mention also to Prof Hartman for a brief explanation of each topic.

By Марта В

Dec 14, 2020

I liked this course very much. It helped me to understand basics of Business Analytics, how to gather and communicate with data. I enjoyed the videos and reading material. The presentations are really great. I would recommend this course, it's interesting and exciting.

By Subash C

Jul 22, 2020

Great course to get insights on Data Visualization, relevant with the current situation around the world that keeps revolving around the digital marketing techniques. Thank You for offering such a wonderful course that also contains peer graded assignments.

By David A

Apr 17, 2020

Fantastic introduction course and very well explained. I enjoyed all the readings and all the recommended books and material was very good. I plan on taking several more courses from Gies College of Business and recommend the course to anyone. Thanks.

By Sheldon E

Jun 11, 2020

The course was very informative for the "art" of business analytics without the need for the quantitative side of the field. The Peer Assignments were great test runs for one day applying those practices in my own line of work.

By Soobia K

Apr 7, 2020

It was a great start to expand on my very basic Dataviz skills. The most valuable part of the course was an introduction to new tools and applying different models/rules to build a story that your audience can connect!