Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to C# Programming and Unity by University of Colorado System

4.7
stars
1,647 ratings
494 reviews

About the Course

This course is all about starting to learn how to develop video games using the C# programming language and the Unity game engine on Windows or Mac. Why use C# and Unity instead of some other language and game engine? Well, C# is a really good language for learning how to program and then programming professionally. Also, the Unity game engine is very popular with indie game developers; Unity games were downloaded 16,000,000,000 times in 2016! Finally, C# is one of the programming languages you can use in the Unity environment. This course doesn't assume you have any previous programming experience. Don't worry if you've never written code before; we'll start at the very beginning and work our way up to building small games by the end of the course. Throughout the course you'll learn core programming concepts that apply to lots of programming languages, including C#, and you'll also learn how to apply those concepts when you develop games. Computer programming is really fun in general, and programming games is even better! Caution: Beginning (assuming no prior programming knowledge) is not the same as easy (not hard to do). Learning to program IS hard to do, especially since this course is essentially the first half of a freshman-level college course. Meeting the course challenges while you master the material will be rewarding to you, but doing that will require hard work and maybe even a few expletives along the way. Module 1: Write your first C# console application and Unity script and learn how we store data in our programs Module 2: Learn how we use classes and objects to implement our code Module 3: Learn the basics of Unity 2D games and discover how we make decisions in our code Module 4: Get and use player input in your Unity games Module 5: Complete final peer review and take "Final Exam" “Unity” is a trademark or registered trademark of Unity Technologies or its affiliates in the U.S. and elsewhere. This course is an independent work and is not sponsored by, authorized by, or affiliated with Unity Technologies or its affiliates...

Top reviews

MM
Jul 29, 2020

The instructor extremely enthusiastic and passion which is really rare to see but amazing. Thank you so much for teaching this course it really helped to kick start my interest in game development :)

JT
Jan 17, 2020

Very good instructor walks you through every step and then has assignments for you to do on your own to practice your coding skills. Emphasizes using documentation and practicing fundamentals.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 492 Reviews for Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

By Mertcan K

Aug 23, 2020

The Teacher is Great and he teaches really well. but the peer review homeworks were made only as optional because of coursera peer review system issues. So, because they're optional, doing them feels not so much of an achievement but extra work. And the Assignments at the end of every week were replaced with too easy tests. That's my only issue with this course, everything else from exercises to videos, it was awesome.

By Cody S

Sep 17, 2020

I felt the instructor was fairly clear, very personable, and enjoyable to listen to. I learned a lot in the course, particularly in how to approach programming on a fundamental level. One main difficulty with the course; however, is that often my newest version of Unity would not be compatible with the exercise material, which made it impossible for me to complete a number of exercises.

By Erin O

Oct 27, 2019

Many others seemed to find it easy to follow, but I found the teacher's pace difficult to keep up with and his Lesson-Instructions a bit hard to follow, especially when interspersed with personal stories that got me off track, attention-wise. This might just be because I'm on the Autism Spectrum, though. Will Be switching programming languages//teachers to see if it was just me.

By Alexis B

Jan 28, 2021

Very useful and a wonderful teacher. I encountered some issues with the version of both Unity and my IDE which was different from the one used for creating the different projects provided in the zip files. So an explanation on the compatibility between versions should have been a plus.

Thanks a lot anyway, it will help me in the future for creating games!

By Ammar G

Jul 10, 2020

The start of the course was really nice and explanatory, however, I feel that towards the later parts, many new elements were being added without much explanation, and it got a bit difficult to understand everything. All in all. this was a good course, and I would like to thank Dr.T for opening new doors for me.

By Zoltán T

Aug 5, 2020

This is a fine course to learn about Unity and the principles of OO programming. On the other hand, it does not emphasize the fundamentals of programming itself. This is fine if you are not really interested in C#. Dr. T. is a very nice guy and I haven't seen such in-video quizzes in Coursera yet.

By Ahmet S U

Jul 25, 2020

Great course. The professor is very friendly and explains things very well. The only reason this is not a 5 star is because sometimes he doesn't explain everything and you have to search on the Internet to grasp the things he uses while coding. Other than that very good course

By Deniz A

Mar 21, 2021

I' am new to the Unity and C# programming. This course gives introductory information on both of these areas. I expected more from the course in terms of coding lectures. Since this course has a specialization I am sure ı can get more experience in coding in the next course.

By Amjad E

Oct 20, 2020

This is a very good course to take in order to understand programming in C# and using the Unity game engine. This course will help you understand the basics of coding in C#. I would totally advice you to take this course if you want to master game development.

By Adolfo G

Sep 15, 2020

Muy buen curso para introducirse a Unity, aunque un ejercicio nos pedían usar la clase Time sin habernos si quiera mencionado antes esa clase en el curso, sin embargo, buscando en la documentación lo pude resolver, después de eso, satisfecho con el curso.

By Tú P T

Feb 7, 2021

This course gained basic knowledge of Unity and C# Programming. But the course is still need to update with new knowledge like manipulating audio and animations so that we can learn how to make a basic arcade game after learning this course.

By sarthak t

Aug 5, 2020

It was a great course. Dr. T is an amazing and entertaining teacher. the slight problem I had with the course is the amount of unity classes and methods used, sometimes it was a bit overwhelming. Other than that it was a great experience.

By Nikolas M

Aug 13, 2020

I had a little background experience with programming before, but I must say, the assignments towards the end get a little challenging and I struggled for a few hours because there was not much clarification. But nothing impossible.

By Iris G F

Feb 28, 2021

I learned a lot, but the course felt somewhat disjointed. It was really helpful to have the guidance of the course though, and I feel like I could start to make a game now with what I learned if I really wanted!

By Max C

Jan 12, 2021

Good introduction to game scripting with Unity. Felt there is more scope to introduce difficulty in the programming assignments and exercises. Video quizzes where pointless and not witty enough to be worth it

By INDER C

Mar 18, 2021

Thanks for helping me to understand coding and actually boosting my confidence with the various assignments, This was my first step in coding world and I think it was in the right direction

By Jacques D

Nov 29, 2019

Great.

As all good lecturer you love their lecture for inspiration and good teaching, but have the assignment as they push you beyouind the notch of what was cover in class...

Thks Dr. T.

By Joey F

Oct 16, 2020

Even as a smooth brain such as myself I was able to learn the course pretty easily as its very easy to follow every lesson. I recommend greatly if you want to start coding.

By Sai N P L

Apr 21, 2021

Good course to step into game development especially with Unity. Helps revise basic C# skills as well. Fun professor with engaging and not very intensive content/lectures.

By Nithin K P

Jun 12, 2020

The last two assignments were a bit tough but that's okay when the required lessons for those have been well taught. They were kind of undercooked for the last two weeks.

By Kristen E

Nov 18, 2019

It's alright if you've never done coding before. Coming into it with a bit of experience, it seemed a little slow, but the Unity portions were explained very well.

By Brent C R

Jun 2, 2018

Great introduction to C# and Unity. Wish it had been expanded a little more to a full 5 weeks of material, but this still provides a solid foundation to build on.

By Izabela Z B

May 7, 2021

I really like the course! It is very helpful and despite being focused on providing basic knowledge in may aspects it touches very important and useful subjects

By Kumar K

Jul 20, 2020

After the selection control section the course jumped on large scripts which seemed bit uncomfortable, that's why a star less, but the overall course is great.

By Francesca S

Mar 11, 2021

good introductions, I knew some things already from the unity tutorials, but I also learned, good way to get started with C# and unity, recommended.