Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to C# Programming and Unity by University of Colorado System

4.7
stars
1,503 ratings
447 reviews

About the Course

This course is all about starting to learn how to develop video games using the C# programming language and the Unity game engine on Windows or Mac. Why use C# and Unity instead of some other language and game engine? Well, C# is a really good language for learning how to program and then programming professionally. Also, the Unity game engine is very popular with indie game developers; Unity games were downloaded 16,000,000,000 times in 2016! Finally, C# is one of the programming languages you can use in the Unity environment. This course doesn't assume you have any previous programming experience. Don't worry if you've never written code before; we'll start at the very beginning and work our way up to building small games by the end of the course. Throughout the course you'll learn core programming concepts that apply to lots of programming languages, including C#, and you'll also learn how to apply those concepts when you develop games. Computer programming is really fun in general, and programming games is even better! Caution: Beginning (assuming no prior programming knowledge) is not the same as easy (not hard to do). Learning to program IS hard to do, especially since this course is essentially the first half of a freshman-level college course. Meeting the course challenges while you master the material will be rewarding to you, but doing that will require hard work and maybe even a few expletives along the way. Module 1: Write your first C# console application and Unity script and learn how we store data in our programs Module 2: Learn how we use classes and objects to implement our code Module 3: Learn the basics of Unity 2D games and discover how we make decisions in our code Module 4: Get and use player input in your Unity games Module 5: Complete final peer review and take "Final Exam" “Unity” is a trademark or registered trademark of Unity Technologies or its affiliates in the U.S. and elsewhere. This course is an independent work and is not sponsored by, authorized by, or affiliated with Unity Technologies or its affiliates...

Top reviews

MM
Jul 29, 2020

The instructor extremely enthusiastic and passion which is really rare to see but amazing. Thank you so much for teaching this course it really helped to kick start my interest in game development :)

JT
Jan 17, 2020

Very good instructor walks you through every step and then has assignments for you to do on your own to practice your coding skills. Emphasizes using documentation and practicing fundamentals.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 444 Reviews for Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

By Bhuiyan, M A I

Jun 11, 2020

there are so much confusing turn point in assignment 3 and 4

By Ziad M

Feb 17, 2020

course is good but need to be updated with new information

By Raj K G

Nov 10, 2020

only beginners or new to programming choose this course

By JOSE D M C

Aug 6, 2020

Excelente curso, muy completo para ser una introduccion

By Arya N

Jul 16, 2019

Some of the instruction in assignments were not clear.

By Luca C

May 5, 2019

Between week 2 and 3 there is an abyss of difficulty

By henry h

Nov 1, 2020

I thought the homework could be a little harder.

By vineethkumar

Apr 21, 2020

awesome course, very useful for the beginners.

By Haris N

Aug 23, 2020

A good course for basic programming knowledge

By SHIZHE W

Jun 8, 2018

it became difficult from half of the lesson

By Diego J

Jul 28, 2020

Really good for beginners in programming

By Joshua K A

Feb 23, 2020

I have learnt most from this course

By Фролов М П

Jan 18, 2020

Very outdated code/project examples

By Shubhank B

Jul 19, 2019

not all topics were very clear :(

By John R

Aug 29, 2020

Very useful to getting started

By Sanyam R

May 17, 2020

Glad to attained this course!!

By Zikrul H B I

Dec 30, 2020

the course was informative

By Maxym V

May 12, 2020

Very helpful for newbies

By Giampaolo B

Jan 26, 2018

Simple and very good!

By Mohamed H M

Sep 17, 2020

very good

By BISHAL C

May 1, 2020

Nice

By Siddhant G

May 1, 2020

good

By Jordi J

Jul 17, 2018

It is a nice and interesting course to get started in C# and Unity, although in my opinion the last programming assignment should be remade because it does not make a lot of sense to have an assigment that requires a step by step guide to implement as the last assignement in the course.I would say that the contents of the course don´t quite prepare you for that las assignment, and therefore it kind of takes away a little bit of the achievement feeling for completing the course. Lectures are concise and to the point, which is a good thing. Overall, nice, but with room for improvement.

By Riccardo G

Jan 21, 2021

I haven't done yet the successive courses, however, this course alone is pretty useless in my opinion. It goes fast on some very important concepts of both C# programming and Unity, as object oriented programming. I think that for people new to programming this must result very difficult. However, most of the concepts explained are clear enough and it gives a quick start if someone wants to approach Unity fast.

I think it deserve a try to evaluate if it suits each one needs and knowledge.

By Leonardo M

Jan 3, 2021

Overall the course does a decent job of presenting programming principles in a simple way, but sometimes too simple. It feels like content was purposely cut out to avoid "scaring off" learners. Some assignments were poorly explained, and (as usual in Coursera) outdated, resulting in considerable time wasted.