Chevron Left
Back to Vector Calculus for Engineers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Vector Calculus for Engineers by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.8
stars
1,015 ratings
273 reviews

About the Course

Vector Calculus for Engineers covers both basic theory and applications. In the first week we learn about scalar and vector fields, in the second week about differentiating fields, in the third week about multidimensional integration and curvilinear coordinate systems. The fourth week covers line and surface integrals, and the fifth week covers the fundamental theorems of vector calculus, including the gradient theorem, the divergence theorem and Stokes’ theorem. These theorems are needed in core engineering subjects such as Electromagnetism and Fluid Mechanics. Instead of Vector Calculus, some universities might call this course Multivariable or Multivariate Calculus or Calculus 3. Two semesters of single variable calculus (differentiation and integration) are a prerequisite. The course is organized into 53 short lecture videos, with a few problems to solve following each video. And after each substantial topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in instructor-provided lecture notes. There are a total of five weeks to the course, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz. Download the lecture notes: http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/vector-calculus-for-engineers.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/qUseabHb6Vk...

Top reviews

DK
May 22, 2020

i have completed Three courses of Professor Jeffrey. I'm so happy that i learnt a lot from him. Thanks to our professor Jeffrey and thanks to The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

BB
May 14, 2021

Professor Chasnov is a great instructor. I strongly recommend this course (and others from his). Thank you so much for making such great quality content available for everyone no matter where.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 270 Reviews for Vector Calculus for Engineers

By Oren L

Jul 25, 2020

Excellent overview. I took vector calc in university about 15 years ago and needed a detailed refresher for my current job. Tha God, Prof. Chasnov, comes through once again. I've actually taken all 3 of his elementary engineering math courses over the last couple months, and they are all excellent. Thank you!

By Chloe M G

Jun 4, 2020

brilliant teaching style and the professor makes the hardest of concepts easier to grasp. Would recommend 10/10 to anyone who is going to/has done engineering at university, as this helped me finally understand concepts of degree i was doing that i just could not understand with the university explanations.

By Navneet R

Jun 17, 2020

Absolutely loved this course by Prof. Jeff Chasnov. Being an engineering undergraduate student i found it difficult to grasp the concepts of the vector calculus class i had at mt University. This course greatly helped me bridge that gap and rekindle my confidence in multi variable calculus.

By Aswin V

Sep 12, 2020

I felt that diagrams should have been given along with some questions to help in its visualization. Otherwise, the course is really good. It helped me brush up on my fundamentals as well as learn new things like the Levi-Civita symbol, etc. I thank Mr. Jeff Chasnov for making this course.

By Gregory T

Nov 24, 2020

This was a great course that taught many concepts that are important in other fields. I'm learning orbital mechanics but I haven't studied math in over 25 years. This was a great refresh, and since I had forgotten pretty much everything, it was a good reintroduction to the topic.

By Achintya h s

Jan 10, 2021

Useful for college students who want an introduction in multi-variable calculus. At times it is challenging but the notes have plenty of resources and problems for practice. There is a lot to learn in this class and it was a very informative for me ! Thank you Professor Chasnov !

By RLS

Aug 2, 2020

This is a very good course. It covers a lot of ground in a clear manner but it don't think they have allowed enough time for students to get fully familiar with something before the course moves on to the next topic. Each of the last two weeks should be expanded to two week each.

By TJ L

Mar 9, 2020

Awesome course! I could have used more detail in the solutions given for some of the derivations at the end. This might just be because I haven't taken any physics yet. This course was a huge help in getting a handle on the divergence theorem, Green's theorem and Stokes' theorem!

By Kazem A

Apr 13, 2021

Very good and well--organized course accompanied with concise and useful notes. It is just a bit too much to be completed in five weeks compared to many other Coursera courses. I would like to thank Professor Chasnov for the time and effort he has invested in this useful course.

By Timur C

May 27, 2020

Lectures notes came very handy, a lot of good stuff there. Prof. Chasnov compresess information to the core essentials so i recommend using some complementory material as you pass his course. Overall great experience looking forward for his diff equations course!

By Tadeo A

Oct 21, 2020

Este curso es una excelente fuente de información.

Los temas son variados y están muy bien enseñados, con una profundidad muy adecuada.

A pesar de que en ciertos momentos puede hacerce desafiante, es un gran curso para aprender sobre cálculo vectorial.

By Robert B

Dec 4, 2020

This is a good course for the more practical students. It is well titled "for Engineers", but also provides a good basis for going on to other courses that might delve deeper into the more developmental and proof oriented vector calculus material.

By Sougat P

Nov 22, 2020

I loved this course. Especially the application of vector calculus in fluid mechanics and electrodynamics and the physical meaning of divergence and curl were excellent. Thanks a lot, Prof Chasnov for this superb course. Forever indebted to you.

By KEVIN A C M

Aug 29, 2020

It is a good course of vector calculus, but I think it is helpful mainly for students who have already taken this course before. Overall, I enjoyed this course. (Sorry if my writing has some mistakes, English is not my native language).

By Weli R R

Aug 11, 2020

i really enjoyed the course as it was explained to my detailed understanding. i learned a lot from this course as a mathematics student. Thank you for this great lecture. my name is Rikenga Weli and i am a student of covenant univeristy.

By Stephen M

Aug 13, 2020

Well presented; concise with examples; suitable for Physics undergrads in addition to Engineering students; the extensive PDF "book" with everything from the lectures + practice quizzes and worked answers makes an invaluable resource.

By Holger W

Jul 28, 2020

Very good course, clear explanations, helpful examples and exercises and on top an excellent tutorial!

Trainer is very good in explaining these mathematical concepts. One of the best online courses I came across so far :-)

By Luiz F S A d C

Feb 13, 2021

All the aplications and tools are so impressive, the Krocecker Delta and Levi-Civitta symbow change my way to calculate...the best methematic knowledge for engineers....a strong base for the future projects.

By Vishwajeet V K

Jun 16, 2020

The content is excellent for a four week course. The technique of delivery is awesome. Learner doesn't lose interest at any point. It also gives insights about the application of the multi-variable calculus.

By Ng T E

Dec 2, 2020

Very difficult course, but at least provides a better picture of what to really expect from Vector Calculus. The sections on Applications provide a better understanding of why Vector Calculus is important.

By Kevin Y

Nov 23, 2020

The instructor was awesome with regards to his ability to clearly explain the content! He displayed a wonderful sense of humor. I have a much greater appreciation of vector calculus and its applications.

By Dr.J.Uma

Jun 1, 2020

This course was very useful and In a very short duration this subject covers all important aspects. We could understand it very easily because of the clear and easy explanation from the expert instructor

By MARTIN T C

Nov 18, 2020

According to what I have seen in this course, I feel satisfied and at the same time grateful since it was of great importance for my learning since I reinforced many topics and clarified some of my doubts

By Dr. A K

May 23, 2020

i have completed Three courses of Professor Jeffrey. I'm so happy that i learnt a lot from him. Thanks to our professor Jeffrey and thanks to The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

By Ben P

May 15, 2021

Professor Chasnov is a great instructor. I strongly recommend this course (and others from his). Thank you so much for making such great quality content available for everyone no matter where.