Chevron Left
Back to Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories by Emory University

4.7
stars
1,120 ratings

About the Course

Across the globe, more people are suffering from obesity than at any other time in our history. Why has obesity become so common and so challenging? In this course, we will look at the root cause of obesity, as explained by the latest science. We will see how our food environment has evolved over the last half-century, and how it is altering our biology to over-consume calories and resist sustained weight loss. We will also see how stress, a sedentary lifestyle, and inadequate sleep disrupt our appetite control system to promote gaining weight. By developing a better understanding of the physiology behind obesity, you will learn how to work with your body to prevent and manage weight gain. This course will also provide practical tools and strategies for creating a long-term, sustainable weight management plan to leverage your habits and your surroundings....

Top reviews

CH

Invalid date

There was very good information to learn from this course. One frustration was the peer reviewed assignments. I do think that you should not have course reading materials that require a subscription.

TR

Invalid date

Very insightful sessions on the issue of Weight loss. the course scientifically explains the whole idea of how weight loss can be achieved. It has changed my approach towards life and eating.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 365 Reviews for Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories

By Amor S

Oct 28, 2019

A great introduction to weight management.

By Deleted A

Sep 15, 2019

very good

By Christine Z

Jul 1, 2020

This course was mildly helpful in learning some names of the hormones and chemicals in the brain and body, but most was reinforcing what I already knew. Additionally I found it annoying that it required me to pay money to complete the final assessment of each unit or else the course wouldn't be counted as completed.

By Santiago R C

Jun 5, 2020

I find this course to be a good starting point, it has great ideas to implement in your daily life. However i wish it had more information on how to develop a diet. Also I was expecting more from the citations, they use a lot of newspaper articles and blogs instead of linking directly to the research papers.

By Claire M

Jun 25, 2020

Very unhealthy perspectve on weight management. Basically says obesity is a disease and the only way to overcome it is through surgery.

By Vernett C

Oct 13, 2020

This is a very good course. Im a Public Health Nutritionist and fell somewhat off the wagon during this COVID-19 shutdown. I was home for 1 month, but my family has been home since March. Preparing 4-5 meals/day became overwhelming at times, especially after returning to work and so I joined in buying and ordering not so healthy foods often for some relief from the kitchen. Also work was very stressful April-Sept., so again, I ate junk foods much more often than usual- in small amounts, but still more often- processed snack cookies almost daily. .

This course helped me to get back on course with what I was doing before the pandemic and what I know I should be doing as far as putting away the processed cookies or at least not having them daily, increasing sleep time and especially getting back on track with physical activity.

Thank you

By Maryam P

Oct 8, 2022

This course is well thought out and is designed to give the average person the tools that he/she needs to make healthy dietary choices backed up by the science behind weight management and obesity, given to us in easily digestible reading materials, which really opened my eyes on the subject. With these tools, I am 150% more confident in designing my own healthy meals without being restricted to a set recipe, fad diet, or even calorie counting! Thank you so much for designing such an amazing, practical course <3

By Neecie P a D E P

Aug 23, 2022

This course provides the essentials in understanding or beginning a weight loss journey and ultimately sustainable change. Metabolism, diet, sleep, exercise and changing habits along with proper diet and nutrition are provided to discourage mental sabatage or distorted thoughts about weight, health and food. After taking this course, I am now able to make changes to my diet that direct energy, and life changes for a healthier future! I highly recommend this course.

By Deleted A

Nov 11, 2020

I already am practicing some of the lessons in this course but I'm ready to take on better habits for a better lifestyle. Compared to the knowledge before in my weight loss, I'm currently trying to gain muscle and this course has helped me to develop better habits like avoiding distractions to have a healthier relationship with food. In time, I wish to practice this with my friends and family to help them make better lifestyle and food choices.

By Tomas R

Dec 1, 2020

Great introductory course built on solid foundations. As a Precision Nutrition Level 1 coach I'm familiar with most of the approaches suggested and knowledge shared in this course. Still, it was a good refresher. For someone, who's completely new to weight management, or has followed the common advice available on internet so far, this can be a very valuable and educative course that shows him the right way of thinking about the whole topic.

By Pat L

Apr 15, 2021

This is an excellent course. It was well designed, provided pertinent, up-to-date, evidence based information. The course delivery is very good with multiple opportunities to gain the information. I learned a lot.

The peer review approach to grading is good but would benefit from having more nuanced marking. Some people provide very comprehensive responses while others only the basics, but both get the same mark.

By Jennifer B O

Jun 1, 2020

I found this course very helpful and informational. While not overweight or obese myself, I know that with my family history and different health issues keeping my weight at a healthy level is very important. It is also great to have quality information when talking about diet and health with friends and family members who may be facing these challenges. I will definitely suggest this course to others!

By Wink K M

Sep 14, 2020

A really clear and concise course! I have learnt so much about healthy eating and how I should embrace it as a part of me. I believe it is essential for us to gain awareness on our daily physiological responses and and how certain behaviours and habits leads to weight gain. As such, not only does making adjustments to our diets and lifestyles improve us physically, it also helps us grow as a person.

By Riya G

Jan 14, 2021

I audited the course and I completed all the videos. As an obese person myself, I started to realize how important to cure this disease is and all the lectures really motivated me to undergo a healthy lifestyle. In a nutshell, if you are a person who wants to lose weight, do go through all the videos. They really speak to you!

By Rayanna C

Dec 19, 2020

I believe that everyone needs to take this course, its not only beneficial for work but also for one's personal life, I have learnt things about the body and food relationship that are invaluable and I have no doubt that everything I learnt is going to be applied to my health and fitness journey

By Mercy J

Jul 4, 2023

This course gave me the needed knowledge to manage my health. Now I know that it is not just about counting calories or going on a strict diet but ensuring that I eat right, reduce stress and manage my entire health as a whole. Thank you Coursera and Emory University for this great course.

By Prerna B

Jun 15, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed doing this course as I could bring the changes, which I am learning, in my daily plans. The course explains in a very simple and appropriate manner the importance of good eating. It also gives you knowledge of how our environment and stress affects our eating so much.

By DR. S N

May 26, 2020

I love this course so much. Very great online course about weight management for everybody who need to learn about weight loss. Thank so much to Emory university for make this course. Hope everybody bring the great knowledge from this course to apply in your practice.

By Jessica A S

Apr 17, 2021

This was a great Course I really received a great deal of new information that I never learned in any of my other Nutrition Classes at my current University. I highly recommend this course if you are in the fitness industry or just want to learn more about nutrition.

By Savita

Jul 16, 2020

The whole form the beginning to an end structures as no one can be distracted. During the whole session I got plenty of ready material and each and video sessions are really interest with point to point information. I can say weight loss is beyond balancing calories.

By naty_ang@yahoo.com

Oct 30, 2020

The instructor was very thorough and she explains really well. The content of this course was a revelation to me because it was revolutionary and yet very credible. I look forward to implementing in my life what I learned from this course. Highly recommended.

By Tracey E

Apr 30, 2021

Excellent course material, detailed scientific information. My first completed course with Coursera and it really exceeded my expectations. The lecturer was clear and concise and provided plenty of additional reading material to support the lectures.

By Stefany P E

Sep 15, 2020

MUY BUENO. Aprendí bastante, ya de por si soy amante del tema y con este curso aprendí mucho más. Muchísimas gracias por todo el material pero muy en particular por los enlaces porque fueron bastante informativos y educativos y siempre mis favoritos.

By James R W

Apr 7, 2021

The instructor instills confidence that she is an expert on the subject matter and if you implement the ideas presented you have a good chance of success. The content is on point, relevant and full of practical and implementable ideas. Well done!

By Hema s

Jun 5, 2020

It was an amazing experience with the course instructor, she explained everything in a detailed manner and it was understandable. This course was very helpful and the app was very handy.Thank you for providing me such a wonderful opportunity.