Chevron Left
Back to Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories by Emory University

4.7
stars
1,119 ratings

About the Course

Across the globe, more people are suffering from obesity than at any other time in our history. Why has obesity become so common and so challenging? In this course, we will look at the root cause of obesity, as explained by the latest science. We will see how our food environment has evolved over the last half-century, and how it is altering our biology to over-consume calories and resist sustained weight loss. We will also see how stress, a sedentary lifestyle, and inadequate sleep disrupt our appetite control system to promote gaining weight. By developing a better understanding of the physiology behind obesity, you will learn how to work with your body to prevent and manage weight gain. This course will also provide practical tools and strategies for creating a long-term, sustainable weight management plan to leverage your habits and your surroundings....

Top reviews

CH

Invalid date

There was very good information to learn from this course. One frustration was the peer reviewed assignments. I do think that you should not have course reading materials that require a subscription.

SG

Invalid date

The course really helped me understand the science behind weight loss and how to achieve it. Loved it, would absolutely recommend to people finding it difficult to shed some pounds.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 365 Reviews for Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories

By K H

Jun 15, 2021

This course is foundation for my healthy life style. Understanding your body is a very important thing to love yourself and this course has put me in a place of comfort otherwise I wouldn't have had it.

Instructor was great at lectures.

By reena a

Aug 18, 2020

It was really a worth taking course with each lecture having new topic, new idea of healthy lifestyle and new topic to learn each day of your life.

I really liked the course and have learnt a lot from Weight Management: Beyond Calories

By Jorge V P

Oct 6, 2020

The course is really inspiring! It allows my self to reflect and redirect my actions in order to be more conscious and mindful of all the food that I take. I hope many will try and I would gladly recommend this course to my friends.

By Marine R

Mar 4, 2021

This class was awesome! Learning so much, it's clear, simple to understand. The teacher is a really good speaker, gives great exemples and support everything she teaches with diverse articles and studies from other universities

By Tricia

Feb 12, 2023

I enjoyed this course. It was wonderfully constructed with a lot of material in a manner to assist and gives direction to beginners as to a better way to manage one's weight. Receiving a certificate was a high point for me.

By Lisa B

May 4, 2020

An enjoyable course which offers solid advice that gets you thinking about what you are consuming. Very practical and easy to implement. There was quite a bit of reading which was not my favorite part but overall worth it.

By Sandra A

Nov 19, 2020

The course is really insightful, it has enlightened me on weight loss and now I see Obesity in a different perspective. It is clearly explained and the quizzes really require critical thinking .Its worth learning.

By David E O G

Oct 26, 2020

The professor was really good at explaining the topics!

There is a workbook provided that suits as an amazing guide :)

I learned many techniques for improving health that doesn't directly mean restricting calories

By Mara H

Oct 7, 2019

I learned a great deal about the science of weight loss and why behavior change is difficult when our bodies are not programmed to function optimally on a processed diet as well as not programmed to lose weight.

By Tiffany D

Aug 25, 2020

I am so thankful to discover this course! The content, professor and assignments were engaging and enlightening. I highly recommend anyone with an interest or passion for health or nutrition, take this course.

By C A

May 11, 2020

I had an amazing experience learning nutrition especially about weight management loved it through out the course all the materials were very engaging , I am surely going to do an another course in nutrition.

By Michael A M H

Oct 10, 2023

Permite ampliar la perspectiva acerca de la perdida de peso, se explica muy bien los temas y permite generar motivación para controlar diferentes areas de la vida que influyen en el manejo del peso corporal.

By Elo S

Dec 28, 2020

One of the best weight management and nutrition courses in Coursera. It explained the factors influencing our weight gain and weight loss well and the quizes and assignments helped to form a clear plan.

By Ron S

Jun 20, 2020

This is the most comprehensive approach to sustainable weight loss I've encountered yet. If I don't succeed armed with this information, that will be on me! Brilliant way to reset the brain to eat well.

By Juan C V

May 18, 2020

Great course! I have learned and reinforce my knowledge of weight management. I have learned to create a personalized plan taking into consideration that everyone has a different environment and habits.

By Amir I

Apr 24, 2021

I learned lot's of thing's about obesity reasons and its management beyond calories. Its highly efficient and recommended course. Thank you coursera and University of Marvey...

By Dr. A

Mar 9, 2024

this course is very precise and help me educate myself so thoroughly , everything was compile so efficiently , thanks to nice and dedicated teacher and thanks Emory university

By Cynthia U

Sep 29, 2020

I think I like this course, because compared to other courses, it applies a lot of evidence based problems in weight management with an holistic view and in simple language.

By carolina y p

Jul 13, 2022

excellent in this course you will learn a lot how differents factors like stress can affect our weight also you will learn how to control your weight with a balancing diet.

By Rahmah B

Oct 26, 2020

I learned about factors that affect weight in details it was funny benefit and worth my time, I encourage everyone who want to know more about nutrition to have this course

By Ruturaj S S

Nov 5, 2020

I got more knowledge from this course and now I can make changes in my daily diet as well as I guide some people to change their life rouinte to stay fit in their life.

By DEBASMITA D

Jul 21, 2020

This course helped me a lot in learning why it is difficult for us to manage our weight just by restricting our diet and what are the things we can do to change that.

By Habashia T

May 6, 2020

It was very helpfull i gained a lot. it only needs a single improvement that article and statistics should be between 2016 to 2020 so that current studies can be seen

By Vilma E P Q

Aug 27, 2020

I learned a lot about health and weight, change a lot paradigms about healthy eating. I tool the course for personal reason and looking forward to apply them .

By Farida A

Jul 27, 2020

This course helped me to understand the nature of food, and how I can manage the weight without harming myself. I understood the logic and got new good habits.