Chevron Left
Back to International Women's Health and Human Rights

Learner Reviews & Feedback for International Women's Health and Human Rights by Stanford University

4.9
stars
1,565 ratings

About the Course

This course focuses on women’s health and human rights issues from infancy through old age, including information about positive interventions relating to those issues. Learners are encouraged to interact with each other through interactive discussions. It is important to us that this course be available to all learners. We encourage you to apply for Coursera's financial aid (see link to left) if the cost of the course certificate is difficult for you to afford. Please note that you may view all materials in this course, and participate in it, without purchasing a certificate. The course was co-created by Consulting Professor Anne Firth Murray and Kevin Hsu. Anne Firth Murray is the Content Director of the course; Kevin Hsu is the Design Director of the course....

Top reviews

LG

Invalid date

It was a great experience, and I learned more than I hoped for! Very well organized, incredible readings and speakers. I fully recommend this course for anyone who believes in justice.

SB

Invalid date

This course is amazingly designed to give you integrated knowledge on various factors that influence women's health and plus gives you idea about interventions you can apply to solve those problems.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 463 Reviews for International Women's Health and Human Rights

By Nahida I

Jul 10, 2021

You can learn Many vital life lessons from here even you are a normal person like me. you will get to know when actually world stood up for women, what is CEDAW, what is Human Rights and also you will know what is going through all over the countries, how's the all the women over coming the issues from all over the world. Thank you so much for love and support Anne Firth Murray and everyone

By Amyra S Y

Dec 30, 2020

Every single week was an enjoyable one! The reference materials are so insightful I can see myself still using it for the next few years. I just hope that in the future, the quiz can be more about our understanding about the issues rather than asking us statistical questions haha. Overall it was a very great course with great speakers, 11/10 would recommend to everyone.

By Rachhpal S S

May 27, 2024

nternational Women's Health & Human Rights (Stanford): Powerful & Insightful This Stanford course tackles the critical connection between women's health and human rights globally. Expect in-depth exploration of reproductive rights, violence against women, and more. Ideal for healthcare professionals, human rights advocates, and anyone passionate about global health.

By Soojung Y

Jun 26, 2020

I learnt really a lot and I recommend all people to go through this short journey to have an idea what has been going on the different part of the world, including where you're living in.

This course really gives an insight of not only 'Women's health' but also how it impacts child and men in the world.

Please take your time for this course. I strongly recommend it.

By Laura P

Aug 22, 2020

Absolutely wonderful! I am so grateful to have taken this course, it has taught me so much about women's health that I didn't already know. This course has made me want to take on a new career path towards supporting women's rights. Anne Firth Murray was a fantastic lecturer and the content she used was fresh and insightful. I couldn't recommend this course enough!

By Denise N

Jul 6, 2022

This is a very informative course.  It opens my eyes to the various challenges’ women around the world experience including their health and violation of their human rights. It also exposes me to numerous women, organizations, agencies and other groups that have made it their business to expose and minimize the issues.  Overall, this course is very enlightening.  

By Sujin C

Oct 16, 2018

This is the third course I've taken on coursera and it is by far the most comprehensive in terms of both content and structure. It requires more effort than the other courses because of the variety of assignments but it is worth it! The readings, the videos, and even the quizzes and assignments are interesting and engaging. I highly, highly recommend this course.

By Rakesh T

Sep 13, 2023

Since I am not an earning person and retired soldier and I and part of an NGO which help the poor and woman unable to purchase certificate, thank you very much for an excellent course, that I learned from this platform.

If possible kindly share the completion certificate so I can feel proud for being part of Cousera

Regards

Rakesh Tiwari

rakeshtiwari3112@gmail.com

By ignazia m

May 29, 2023

I took the course because I have always been interested in women's issues thanks to this course I discovered a reality that I never imagined and I learned a lot, I am happy to have discovered that there are women like Professor Murray who has dedicated her life and its commitment to women's education. I hope to be able to follow others of yours and thank you.

By Amy R

Apr 2, 2018

This is a very informative course, with issues that I think everyone should learn about. It is important to know about these things, and also learn about the ways that we can try and change them in the future. It is quite heavy on readings so you need to be prepared for that and have the time to do them if you want to get the most out of this great course.

By Zarghona Y

Apr 12, 2021

It was an extremely well planned course enlightening about issues women all over the world face . Awareness to these issues can only be brought by spreading word out. Excellent course ,well written material and extremely informative lectures ,thought provoking assignments.excellent reference materials . Loved every minute of studying. Thank you coursera

By Konul A

Dec 3, 2021

The problems of women right and solution of women problems mainly actual quetion for me.I look for course in many online courses. But this course can answer all my quetion. It shows me ways to gender equailty. Many thanks Anne Firth Murray for her book from where I get a lot of information. And thank you very much for this course!!!

By sharon c

Mar 28, 2022

This course was remarkable! I have learned so much about the hardships that many women go through in their life, and eventhough they have gone through many difficult dilemmas, it has been amazing to learn about the women who have forgiven and kept moving forward in helping others and saving millions of women's lives. - Sharon Chaux

By isha s

Jul 24, 2020

The course is well-designed and provides a detailed insight on the condition of women and girls around the world. It is quite interactive and the interviews with experts and people at the forefront of working for gender equality is very inspiring. The assignments and quizzes help a lot in better understanding of the course material.

By Keara D

Jul 19, 2020

I really enjoyed doing this course and it was very eye-opening. I learnt a lot more about women in the world and the fact that I was able to put my views across weekly made me feel happy and satisfied. I will not stop here though, I am wanting to pursue work with voluntary work like this as this has inspired me to do much more.

By Rebecca L D

Oct 12, 2019

I've absolutely enjoyed this course. It provided me with a wealth of material from highly esteemed people in their fields, and it covered a variety of topics. It was always great to read other peoples work and see how I could help them as well. I would honestly take this course again if I could. Could not recommend it enough.

By Harish K

May 18, 2021

To me, the course was an eye-opener to many hitherto unexplored aspects of women's rights. However, I would like to see in future a module on "Women's Rights and Religion" included in the course, which throws light on how religious dogma is robbing women their rights in religion-obsessed countries like India and Saudi Arabia

By Ahmed

Apr 8, 2023

I highly recommend Professor Anne Firth's course on International Women's Health and Human Rights to anyone interested in exploring the intersection of global health and human rights with a gender lens. Professor Firth's expertise and passion for the subject is evident in her lectures, class discussions, and assignments

By Marta F

Jun 20, 2020

FOR ME THESE DAYS, READING AND COMPLETING THE ENTIRE COURSE HAS BEEN AN AWESOME EXPERIENCE. AN EXCELLENT TEACHER AND ALL HIS MATERIAL IS SOMETHING EVERYONE SHOULD KNOW, SO THAT SOCIETY MOVES TOWARD GLOBAL EQUALITY AT ALL LEVELS. THIS COURSE HELPS YOU OPEN YOUR EYES MORE AND KNOW THE EXISTING REALITY UNFORTUNATELY.

By luz m p

Jul 20, 2020

Este curso es increible!!! Recomiendo muchísimo que lo hagan, especialmente las mujeres. Refleja la injusticia de género en todos los ámbitos a nivel mundial. La coordinadora sabe muchísimo y ofrece material de todo tipo, textos, videos, entrevistas, fuentes de ONG. Muy completo. Aprendí mucho, super didáctico.

By Nina O

Sep 25, 2017

This course has a great insight on all topics that raise issues on women's rights and human rights at this time in age. If you are not sure on which topic you would like to focus on with women's issues then this class would be great for you to visit every topic and see which topic your most interested in. Real

By Sharae A I

Jul 22, 2020

GREAT COURSE!!! It is very informative. The content is truly rich in quality. From the first week I was hooked. It was fun to take this course, because it was teaching about unjust things that are happening around me, and I can do simple things to encourage the progression of women.

By Andressa S

Aug 26, 2020

It's definitely an amazing course! I've learned so much about which barriers women have to face in order to have their rights fulfilled. Moreover, I've learned about women worldwide who are tackling these issues in order to help other women to have a better and equitable life .

By Alicia Z

Jun 22, 2020

Very comprehensive course! This course has allowed me to learn and research about many of the issues related to gender inequality in my own country. I highly recommend this course for committed learners. Thank you Anne Murray & your team for this very well put together course.