Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Algae

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Algae by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
735 ratings
217 reviews

About the Course

This course was produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, the National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy. Algae are an extremely diverse group of organisms that can be found in almost every ecosystem on the planet, and they play an essential role for life on earth. They are little bio-factories that use the process of photosynthesis to create chemical compounds that we can utilize for food, feed, medicine, and even energy. We’ve brought together some of foremost algae experts from industry and academia to teach you the fundamentals of algae. This course will cover what algae are, why they are important, and why we are interested in them for both their environmental benefit, as well as their use for products. You will also explore the vast diversity of algae including the characteristics and applications of some of the main types of algae that are in commercial use today. Later you will learn about algal ecology and how interactions with environment, including pests and predators, affect algal productivity. And finally you will examine the processes of algae bio-manufacturing including production processes, as well as some of the products, benefits, and challenges that impact our ability to make commercially viable products from algae....

Top reviews

AZ

Apr 10, 2019

one of the best course to know everything about algae. I recommend all people who decided to work on algae pass this course. I learnt about different aspects of algae and seaweed. thanks Coursera.

PG

Apr 16, 2020

Very interesting and inspiring course! So cool to learn about the history and great diversity of algae, as well as the potential uses of algae in renewable energy and for sustainable materials.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 215 Reviews for Introduction to Algae

By Jhonny E R E

Oct 12, 2020

Muy buen curso, he aprendido muchas cosas básicas que no sabia a pesar de que he realizado cultivos experimentales de microalgas en la Universidad. Muy satisfecho con el contenido y con los profesionales que dictan las clases.

By Kester L C

Sep 12, 2019

Thought it was a nice accessible course for a beginner to algae, as I was. It covered key topics comprehensively, and touched on more complex issues to give students an idea of how to study further if desired. Recommended!

By WIRINDUGE A (

Aug 28, 2020

I was able to improve my knowledge. This course is very important for the degree I am currently studying (Aquatic Resources Technology degree program). Thanks to Coursera for giving me the opportunity to do this course.

By Aleksandar M

Oct 30, 2019

Great introductory course for anyone who thinks algae are not interesting. There should be more courses like this, dedicated to groups of organisms that are neglected, yet essential and crucial members of our biosphere.

By Pim v d B

Nov 02, 2018

This coarse gives plenty of insights in different algae spiecies and how they are used. Some material is repeated multiple times which makes it more easy to remember. The lectures are all from the field of algae!

By Vijayalakshmi.M

May 24, 2020

Thanks a lot for providing good opportunity to learn basics of algae. Im happy to join in this course and successfully completed this course. Minimum effort gives better knowledge, it's possible by this course

By Ian F

Jan 20, 2020

This is an excellent introductory course to Phycology and Algal Bio-Manufacturing. Highly recommended to anyone pursuing the fields of marine biology, botany, ecology, bio-manufacturing, or cellular biology.

By Julien

Mar 25, 2019

Clear (even for a French guy!), very interesting and many informations about the potential of algaes in the futur (bio products, alimentation, car fuel…) A revelation !

Thank you to all the team :)

By Paul G

Apr 16, 2020

Very interesting and inspiring course! So cool to learn about the history and great diversity of algae, as well as the potential uses of algae in renewable energy and for sustainable materials.

By ALEJANDRO C M

May 15, 2020

Aunque soy de habla hispana entendí completamente el curso, tiene muy buenas explicaciones sobre todo el universo de las algas, conocerlas y saber sus aplicaciones; un curso muy recomendado.

By wafaa z

Aug 09, 2020

first, thank you so much for all professors and assistants. it is really amazing I like it so much. plz update and focus more on algal biotechnology and genetic engineering for this field.

By Suzana T d C L

Jul 22, 2019

Excellent Course! Covers many different aspects of algae biology and blue biotech. Very happy to get classes from such amazing Professionals of UCSD and others! Thanks for the opportunity!

By ELIKRINES R L M U

Aug 26, 2020

It's a beautifully explained intro to algae course which definitely motivates one to go further and learn more about the vast diversity of algae and the products one can get from them.

By Andrea d J G O

Aug 10, 2020

It was a easy course. It explains very well the basics for algae and microalgae. Congratulations to the people to make this!! This is going to help me a lot on my masters degree :)

By JOHN Q

Feb 16, 2018

Fantastic Course! I was so pleased to participate in a course on Algae and to learn it's reality and potential in our culture and world. Thanks to all who put this course on.

By Rose W

Apr 19, 2020

great course.I would have liked more information about macroalgae but I found the information on microalgae very interesting. I enjoyed all the different presenters. Thank you

By luke R

Oct 15, 2018

Amazing topic that I am humbled to be able to learn about. I hope I can take the more advanced classes that go further in dept into this fascinating and timely topic.

By Dr M U

Apr 15, 2020

Many of the concepts delivered in the course spreads an in depth knowledge in phycology. All the topics were equally informative without repetition of the concepts.

By Bienson C N

Oct 25, 2020

When lecturers discuss, I would be good if they have pointer. Sometime, it is difficult to follow when they discuss something on slides which has many picture.

By Herath M H H D

Jul 05, 2018

This course gives you all the basic understanding of the algae world and opens up your mind to the endless industry and research opportunities that algae hold.

By Hiran A H R

May 15, 2019

This was a very insightfull course that allows me to learn and have a better comprenhension about basic aspects of microalgae biotechnology that I did'nt knew

By Josel C

Oct 02, 2020

An interesting platform to start once journey on both micro- and macroalgae, their evolutionary and life history, uses, farming, and post-harvest processes.

By Meenakshi S

Jul 11, 2020

Algae introduction course id designed perfectly covering all aspects of algae cultivation, harvesting and bio-products. It was a great learning experience.

By Venkataraghavan R

Jun 24, 2020

The course is awesome. This course provided various insights and exploration in algal biotechnology. I wish to take more courses in Coursera in future.

By Javiera A

Jul 01, 2019

Excellent course, it helped me to review the knowledge about algae and to learn new things. The teachers are very good! I really recomend this course.