Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Augmented Reality and ARCore

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Augmented Reality and ARCore by Google AR & VR

4.5
stars
2,758 ratings
817 reviews

About the Course

This class will teach you the fundamentals of augmented reality (AR), and how to build an AR experience using ARCore. Through the four week course, you'll learn: - How to identify different types of AR experiences - Tools and platforms used in the AR landscape - What makes AR feel "real" - Popular use cases for AR - How to create an AR use flow - How AR experiences work - Tools like Google Poly and Unity to build AR experiences - Next steps to start building an AR experience using ARCore and other tools This course will break down complex AR concepts to make them easy to understand, while also sharing expert tips and knowledge from Daydream's ARCore team. The course is great for beginners who are just getting started with AR or ARCore....

Top reviews

MH
Nov 27, 2020

This is a great course especially for a newbie to know the overview of AR and ARCore. This also can help expand the knowledge on how to use AR in better ways which are not solely for entertainment.

MM
May 5, 2020

It is a very good course for understanding the basics and fundamentals of AR and ARCore. It gives the learner a good knowledge about all Hardware and software, related to AR and its development.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 812 Reviews for Introduction to Augmented Reality and ARCore

By WAN N M W M

Sep 18, 2020

Pretty good for beginners who want to know more about Augmented Reality. The course is a bit too short for my liking but considering that AR is still pretty new in its technological advancements, I can see why that would be the case. More research needs to be done to improve this profound technology in order to optimize its capabilities.

By Aniket K

Sep 27, 2020

It would've been better if it included some Sceneform workflow, however, it is no longer in development, and the course includes an example of Sceneform version 1.15, which is having problems with Android studio versions 3.6+ And SFA and SFB workflow is deprecated. So, the only practical section given in week 4 is rendered useless.

By Damián F O

Sep 16, 2020

Como su título indica, es un curso introductorio a los conceptos básico sobre los que se fundamenta la realidad aumentada y te presenta lo que puedes llegar a hacer con ARCore de Google. Aunque hace poco acaban de lanzar la app "ARCore Elements" con la que puedes experimentar en AR todo lo que te puede aportar ARCore

By Sylvan S

Feb 22, 2021

This couse mainly introduces those techinical terms of AR technology and ARCore, it does not cover hands-on teaching of how to make AR. Overall I think it is a good course, it both expands and deepens my understanding to AR.

However, I hope the teaching material can be presented more than just in video format.

By Terry J

Oct 19, 2019

Very insightful, the information that was provided gave details that was easy to understand, however, through continuous repetitions it will become more easier in terms of creating files, the interface of ARcore , placing 3D objects in files to create AR. I look forward to using the software in the future !

By Daria K

Oct 8, 2018

Nice overview for beginners. I wish I've taken this course before diving into more technical ones. If you already tried writing an AR app this course would be too basic. But it still links great resources: I haven't known about Poly before and I watched several I/O talks linked here.

By Rosalyn B

Aug 10, 2018

I thought this course would include practice, not only concepts. But still, I learned that AR is more than displaying a simple object; it's a deeper concept that includes the knowledge of the surroundings and how to optimize it in a level to make it almost real. Thank you!

By ADITYA S K

Sep 25, 2020

The basics were explained well in this course. It's really helpful for the novices (Rather, even for people who don't have the slightest clue about AR).

The only complaint being that the syllabus could have been greater. That would provide one with a stronger base.

By Mike T

Jul 6, 2018

Course was informational, but the videos and readings are way to short to actually apply any real AR skills learned into real life, I hope the course can be improved with longer videos and maybe code examples if they are short enough for a person to understand.

By Siyun F

Dec 31, 2020

easy to follow for those of us just started learning more about AR/VR. Also to note, Google had announced to deprecate Poly (*Dec 29th, 2020 announcement) by end of March 2021. I will suggest Coursera/Goolge to update the course content as soon as possible.

By Mutmainnah M

Apr 13, 2020

Thank you very much for teaching me the intro to AR and ARCore. Its great to know that google has AR tools like ARCore and also google poly is great library. I hope that the video lecture is longer. but overall its great. maybe some practice exams is needed

By Claudio T

Jul 18, 2018

As the title says, it's a brief and high level introduction to AR and ARCore. Good contents and videos. I would have loved to have more practical exercises using ARCore or real examples, but I feel satisfied with what I learned and what is promised.

By Sunil C

Jul 12, 2018

I found this course much more in-depth than the rather lightweight Daydream VR course. I had been vaguely aware of Unity before, but didn't know -though I should have guessed- that Google would be creating their own one-stop-shop for VR and AR.

By Haidar A

Apr 23, 2020

it was a good course for someone who'd like to learn about google's ARcore apart fro ARkit or AR foundation. However, it would have been great if there were tutorial videos along with the concepts taught (either using unity or android studio).

By phalguna m

Aug 2, 2019

Simple and informative. This will give you kick start to VR world and helps you to design THE "hello world in VR". Course is simple and easily be done with in the time lines. Will give you exposure to tools and utilities of VR applications.

By Kirill

Jan 5, 2019

There were some troubles with audio + I'm realy eager to go deeper into Android Studio & AR development, so maybe some of the details and information on it would be really helpful in the future. Is it going to have next parts and chapters?

By Sarah G S

Oct 23, 2018

I liked it, was a little too high-level. A few instructors referenced "We're going to show you X" and that was never shown. So perhaps there is another level to this course I need to get access too. Great way to learn the basic vocabulary.

By Mauro B

Jul 10, 2018

The course has a good pace and without prerequisites it gives the basis for understanding how an AR app should work with ARCore. I would have liked to go deeper into detail of several topics, but as an introductory course this is fine.

By benjamin b

Sep 3, 2018

good courses , teach the basic of AR system and limitations.

Just too much google product question like ARCore available on china? That sort of question didn't check the knowledge on AR system and just promote the google product.

By Dave B

Mar 17, 2021

Everything was going really well until the part about Sceneform...that didn't make any sense and the instructions on it were out of date.

Apart from that, learned a great deal about the terminology of Augmented Reality

By reza j

Apr 21, 2020

In my opinion, there are two points for improving this training. The first is that some concepts have been repeated a lot, and the second is the lack of initial introduction to the AR construction environment

By Irina K

Aug 5, 2020

Very basic explanation. Some lessons are rather obvious, like "you should hire a 3D artist if you cannot design a 3D object yourself".

Beginner level knowledge for those who have never heard of what AR is.

By Shalini G

Jun 28, 2020

It is a very good course for beginners to get the basic and standard understanding of AR and ARCore. The course gets much deeper than just basic because of its good explanation on other supporting tools

By Traian L

Sep 12, 2018

Excellent introduction to Augmented Reality but not to ARCore. I was expecting to see at least how to create a basic hello world app in ARCore but nothing technical is provided. The course is too short.

By Alma M C A

Mar 15, 2021

Very interesting module. Some questions were not covered on the modules and one facilitator (the one who covered surface detect and creating planes) wasn't understandable and interesting as the others.